We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #59 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Athens only 50m from the subway, so it's very easy to see all the city. There is nothing special that you can see in the neighborhood but it's safe day and night. The staff is very friendly and professional. My room was quite small and without view but it was nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast was below average.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Christos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 902 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We used the Lotus for the Athens Marathon. Ticked all the boxes and a wee bit more. Staff very friendly and informative. Location very good for central Athens and 2 minutes walk from the underground station. We gathered that it is in the Bulgarian/Albanian area; it is where the buses leave from anyway. Not the best area of Athens but in no way felt at risk. Nowhere is far away and in our three days we ate in lovely local restaurants within minutes of the hotel.

Hotel very clean and although no pool/gym etc, wi-fi available throughout and breakfast buffet sufficient enough to fill you up before your day in Athens. Our only gripe was that we had to leave early on for the marathon and they couldn't do anything for breakfast before our early start. If they were selling themselves as a marathon hotel then even a box of muesli and bowl of milk would suffice for runners. However there are a couple of late night bakers around so we didn't go hungry and it was our requirements to leave before 7am. All in all, we would recommend the Lotus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YaniMoomkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A very valueable Hotel, very clean quite central near the underground. Except the location the rooms are very clean only little bit to small. The breakfast very good! The personal very nice. I recomend this place, you wont be dissapointed!

/Dimitris

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Koukaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you want a truly hospitable and authentic hotel in Athens, this is the place to stay! From the moment you walk in, the warmth and joy of the place embraces you-as if you were walking in your own home away from home. The location is very good, after all your in Europe, so you shouldn't mind walking a little! Also there's a tour bus pass that you can buy tickets for at the front desk which will stop at all the main attractions and the bus stop is right down the street, which helps a lot! The rooms are quite small but very clean and comfortable! My room had a awesome view of the street and roof tops of the area! The service is outstanding, when you need help they will go into detail to help you out! Also they are so friendly just to carry a conversation with! I could go on and on about how awesome this place is!! This is defiantly the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sgl2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel was the best value, clean, new rooms with terrific Cocomat beds, great shower, very good breakfast. We stayed 5 days and really loved the place. Sure, it's not directly in the middle of Athens but just 1 block from the Metro which takes you anywhere you'd want to go in minutes. The staff is terrific too, very accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff at the hotel was very nice and the hotel overall is very clean. However the rooms are small, the TV reception is not good and the free wifi was equivalent to not having it. Also the bathroom lighting could be stronger, and on our last day, there was no hot water. The hotel is a good 30 minutes walk from the center, in a quiet part of town, and good for catching rest. The heat was controlled by the front desk and it was so hot in the room in december that we had to sleep with a window open.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabeen_kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very good value for what you get, as the prices were very affordable and it was close to the metro. There are some exaggerations on TA about the neighbourhood - we felt safe and it was so close to the metro that it was no problem. However, to go to the city center is still not very close and it took us a good 30-45 minute walk to get to the main area with the attractions. Also, there is not much to eat/do around the hotel so if you have a night in or a last morning to kill before a flight, you have to go out with your luggage as there's not much around. Rooms were also a tad small, but not too bad.

Other then that, the property was very nice. Breakfast was very good, place was clean and tidy and staff were friendly - overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#21 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 281 in Athens
1,608 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#63 of 281 in Athens
925 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#34 of 281 in Athens
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $53 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing