We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #55 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great small hotel, located 1 1/2 blocks to Metro stop and central tourist area. The staff was friendly and enjoyable to chat with. It came with breakfast buffet which was delightful. I would recommend this hotel over a higher price hotel because of the friendly nature of reception personnel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Mardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    374
    112
    32
    27
See reviews for
144
440
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a pleasant stay at the Athens Lotus hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel had a relaxed atmosphere about it. No criticisms either of the restaurant where a buffet style breakfast was served.
The room we stayed in wasn’t spacious but it was comfortable and adequate. One criticism would be that the bathroom, although modern and obviously recently renovated was on the small side. Additionally, most travellers I'm sure would appreciate coffee and tea making facilities in their rooms which this hotel unfortunately does not provide, although there was 24 hour room service available.
The area surrounding the hotel is not the most pleasant, but the metro is literally seconds away and we encountered no problems. Most travellers have adequate street sense to know how to act and avoid nasty situations in difficult neighbourhoods. It’s worth noting also that the hotel has adequate security presence outside the front entrance provided by a security guard.
Reception and management were friendly and approachable, any small problems were dealt with efficiently and with a smile.
Overall, considering the reasonable cost of staying at this hotel, we would have no hesitation in using it again should we return to Athens.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The rooms are very small, however very clean and close to shopping and there is a wonderful little restaurant right around the corner.
Staff was very helpful and I agree with the other reviews the breakfast is super good for such a small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

A good hotel that ticked all the boxes. We got a good deal through booking.com (50% off!) which sweetened it for us. Only a short metro ride (when they weren't on strike) from most historical monuments, the tube station is 100 metres away. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Generally it was very comfortable. The airport was just over an hour away on the metro.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NZ_yams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 3 children (11,10 & 8 years) stayed here for 5 nights in the heat of an Athens August and found the hotel very clean, comfortable and secure. Our family room was actually a suite, comprising 2 ensuite bedrooms (1 double and another double with an extra single bed) with a common entrance door off a short corridor. This gave us parents some privacy and yet the children were sleeping safely nearby. With the two bedroom doors open we were able to hear the children without difficulty. The rooms had comfy beds, good air-conditioning, and good en-suite showers.

The hotel breakfast was adequate. There was also a bakery nearby and in the evening there were a few tavernas in a nearby square which were full of locals.

One of the best aspects of this hotel was its location. Just 50 metres from the nearest metro station and only a few stops from Syntagma square, the Acropolis and other central attractions The airport journey is quite hassle free from this location. A real bonus was the free courtesy shuttle bus that leaves from near the hotel and takes you to a great water park called Copa Copana. The whole family enjoyed a very reasonably priced day there and had our holiday time allowed for it, we could have returned within 7 days for a another fun filled day free of charge.

Some people might feel a little challenged by aspects of the street life in the vicinity of the hotel. But you have to remember that you are in a big city where all the usual safety precautions should be observed. We were never around the streets beyond 23.30 and we never felt our safety, or our children's safety, threatened in any way. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to other families with young children as well.

Room Tip: I think that the family suite was rooms 306 & 307, but best to check the accuracy of this inform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Good location next to the metro, comfortable rooms and a hearty breakfast buffet. Good value overall in the middle of Athens.

Room Tip: On level 4 there is one room with a balcany...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Near Metro, small rooms but adequate. Breakfast not as extensive as another hotel we stayed in, but adequate. Upscale bathroom. Comfortable. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
471 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 326 in Athens
896 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Property: Athens Lotus Hotel
Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing