We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you are traveling alone or with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #23 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I saw the trendiest award off tripadvisor and well frankly this is the first time that tripadvisor ratings have ever steered me wrong. We had finished our week long tour of some of the Greek islands, had a beautiful and fantastic trip and were looking for a decently priced place to stay. This place at 70 euros and what looked to be nice amenities was a good deal. Until we got there. We took the subway from the port and walked to the hotel through one of the worst neighborhoods I saw in Athens. There is a park right outside the front door and people were in teh park (lots of them) at 3pm dealing drugs and shooting what I assume was heroin in broad daylight. The room was dirty, the chair and bed had stains. The rooftop bar was not open the whole weekend and I didnt want to leave the hotel after dark as the front is an alley by night full of vagrants. I am not a picky person and have never left a bad review on Tripadvisor but this was disappointing beyond reason and really the only dark spot on a 10 day trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmnsensepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for submitting a nice room picture.
Though we had clients with children, we do not have triple rooms nor family rooms.
As for the location, it is just 300m from Ancient Agora, Monastiraki metro station and very close to the Acropolis.There is no danger around though you may see vagrants and most of our clients being careful are having a very enjoyable time.
Referring to your comment on the roof bar I am sorry it had be closed that week end, but clients could still visit the terrace with the splendid view and get served from the lobby bar.
I hope that you will come back and all your expectations be satisfied.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having visited Athens during a Metro and taxi strike, the location of the Center Square was excellent - easy walking distance to Acropolis, Parliament, Plaka and other central attractions. Situated off a vegetable market and near the fish and meat markets make it a little difficult to find, but once inside the room (with a view of the Acropolis) was more than adequate at the budget rate charged. Good breakfast and helpfull staff. Good access to Metro (when working) and Hop on hop off.

Room Tip: Nice to have acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good clean central hotel, nice bed and bathroom. Good view of acropolis from rooftop bar. 24 hr reception with security guard. Hotel is on a fruit market street so pedestrian access only during daytime but this is not a problem, it's only about 200m to a main st. Fish market is across this main st and extremely interesting! Smelly, but interesting.
We got a bus from airport to Syntagma Square and could have walked had we known the area better but it was dark so we got a taxi. Walking distance to the things we wanted to see or the hop on hop off bus took us to the Acropolis. Could have walked but there's great sightseeing from top of bus.
In late May/early June we saw a lot of police on bikes with firearms. Also a lot of homeless people sleeping in railway station entrance and on top of carpark building next to hotel. We were wary in Athens at this time but did not feel threatened or unsafe.

Room Tip: From our room the Acropolis was slightly obscured but still a real buzz seeing it all lit up at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location was a big plus for the price, as hotels in Athens are rather expensive compared to those on the Greek islands. The hotel entrance was fronted by the central vegetable and fruit market, with the meat and fish market just across the road. The area was vibrant in the morning, but a little deserted at night when the stalls have closed for the day.

The hotel decor was that of simple chic. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Remember to get the Wifi username and password from them. Room size was decent and there are English channels on TV.

There was supposed to be a bar at the rooftop, but the area was dark and the bar not open when we went up at night. However, it was a great place to get an unblocked, lovely view of the Acropolis and the surrounding neighbourhood.

Breakfast was standard but filling. You can grab some fruits from the market fruit stalls in the morning as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teerameesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

hotel is almost at the heart of the city. 2 minutes to monastriki metro station and 10 minutes to acropolis, on foot by the way.

unfortunately rooms are not big enough for a 3 star hotel. but they have different room choices, we decided not to pay extra 20 euros per night to move a bigger room with acropolis view. it might have been worth actually.

the people who work there are great. reaaly helpful, friendly and talkative. for me it is the most important thing.

the breakfast is quite enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very bubbly and extremely helpful. Kudos to Olga and Agiro, the 2 front desk ladies. Breakfast comprised juice, tea, coffee, bread, cakes, yoghurt with fruit, sausages, eggs, ham, cereal, etc. There is no restaurant/room service in the hotel, but coffee/tea and biscuits are served throughout the day till 6pm.

Rooms have basic amenities such as shampoo and shower gel, however, be sure to bring your own shower cap and ear buds. There is no tissue box provided either.

Beds are extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good stay at Athens Center Square - the rooms were nice and the front desk staff were excellent - always very friendly and helpful. Olga in particular was extremely helpful. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. The roof terrace was very nice - unfortunately the bar was not open when we stayed as the weather was poor, but guests still had access to the terrace to admire the views which was a nice touch. We had a room right by the stairwell which got quite noisy with the early morning breakfast rush as guests' loud voices travelled down the stairwell.. but nothing too bad. I also thought the hotel was a little on the pricey side for what you got - but pricewise seemed to be fairly on par with other Athens hotels (maybe it was just the shock after paying Greek Islands prices for several weeks!). Major sights are all within walking or metro distance.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the stairwell tend to be quite noisy during the early morning breakfast rush
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,385 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#28 of 281 in Athens
1,918 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $69 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing