We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #22 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in October and were pleased with the service the area is pretty sketchy though and I hated walking there in the dark. The rooms were nice but there were lots of scuff marks on the walls. The breakfast was very good however.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent three nights in October in a room on 7th floor. Staff is helpful and polite. Rooms offer all those amenities I am looking for when visiting a city: good bed, spacious shower, small fridge. Decent breakfast from 07:00am on. As regards location - it was perfect for me. And to those people talking in fear of those creepy creatures at night. When exactly was the last time you visited a city? Situation on the market square is comparable to any major city in Europe.

Room Tip: As far as I am concerned, no need for a room with Akropolis view. Roof terrace offers terrific 360...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StefanVogel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, we arrived quite late in the afternoon and it was a Sunday so we didn't see much of the fruit market outside. (We left early the next day also).

Pros - great value, great location, near accessible to Monastiraki station, directions that were given were accurate as it was easy to find the hotel, near Plaka, the room was clean (some might find it small though), for those leaving very early, they have a simple breakfast set-up with pastries/bread, butter, etc. quite good already and some juices (we were able to eat something before 6am), photos provided here by other guests are accurate, there is valuable information available in the lobby for bus scheds, etc., reception was friendly and very helpful; we had a balcony with a great view of athens which was quite a surprise; the roofdeck has a view of the acropolis

Cons - when you shower, water can slip through the glass causing the main floor to get wet, the elevator is the smallest elevator we've ever seen in our entire life. it can probably fit 2-3 ppl with luggages, yes it's true that area surrounding this hotel can get pretty dodgy/unsafe... i guess that's probably bcos the street leading to the hotel has many graffiti, can get dark, and not busy at night so you'll feel you're the only one walking (which i think it can be the same situation in other areas so it's not really a problem, but i'm just saying it) but we really didn't mind this (we left before 6am the next morning and walked to the metro, and it was fine)

will i stay here again? definitely.
will i recommend this to others? yes. this is a small hotel with all the basics you need for its price. there are so many hotels in athens for different prices, but for something mid-range this is perfect!

Room Tip: request for a balcony since the rooms are non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovedollygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I loved this hotel! We stayed here for two nights and it was great. The front desk staff were very friendly and willing to answer any questions. We were lucky to get a room on a high floor facing the Parthenon and it was really a great view! The breakfast in the morning was also quite good with a lady always refilling everything as they got eaten. The room was cozy, very clean with a mini-fridge. I love how every floor is lit up in a different color! The area around this hotel was dirtier than I expected, especially at night it didn't feel completely safe, however this is how most of Athens is these days so not much the hotel can do about it.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Parthenon on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinamh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed here for three nights and was not disappointed. The hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from Monastiraki metro stop which comes directly from the airport on on the 'blue line'. A ticket from the airport it 8 euros and the journey is about 35-40 minutes. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much. The room was very compact but had everything we needed, power shower, comfortable bed, wardrobe, hair-dryer and tv however we were hardly in the room as we are out in the city. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of juice, hot drinks, scrambled eggs, beans, ham, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and croissants. Directly outside the hotel there is a fruit/veg market and whilst it did smell a little, you only had to walk past for a few seconds. I could not hear any noise from our room and it was also well air-conditioned so you did not need the window open.

I was not at all worried about the area and did not see any 'druggies' or felt unsafe. All around Athens there were beggers and homeless people who walked away when you said 'no'. The roads/buildings do look fairly rundown however you only have to take a short walk to monastiraki square where you'll find the ruins of Hadrian's Library.

The hotel is only a 3-4 minute walk from a bus stop for the City Sight Seeing Tourbus which is also very helpful.

The hotel has an amazing roof terrace where the views of the acropolis are amazing. Would definitely recommend this hotel for exploring Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LE0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank so much for highly recommendating us!
It is great to read that you enjoyed the very central location, our friendly staff, the rich breakfast and the great view from roof terrace.

We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

In the center of Athens you will find this excellent 3 stars hotel.
Exxcellent service and very nice rooms and a more-than-you-expected breakfeast for at 3 stars hotel.
Coffee in lounge in the afternoon
You can invite friends in Athens for breakfeast for only 5 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was one of the best experiences we have ever had in out travels through Europe and the Middle East. The location in the market allowed us to experience the everyday vibrant life in Athens as the locals experience it. The Gyro shop on the corner a few doors down was our regular place to eat the midday meal and it was wonderful and cheap. We met many fellow travelers who stayed in up scale hotels that were insulated from these experiences and were the less for it. Our seventh floor view of the Acropolis was to die for. The desk people were uniformly helpful, friendly, and courteous, and the wi-fi, while sometimes somewhat slow, was reliable and very handy to have at no extra cost. The breakfast was adequate and tasty. We really liked this hotel and if we ever return we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Acropolis View is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,594 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $59 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing