We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #22 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My first impression of Athens coming out of the Monastiraki Metro wasn't great. It was unbearably hot and now I had to find my hotel...dragging the suitcase over uneven cobbles, on a slight rise, I wasn't feeling too impressed with the area. Then it was a left turn and a stinking fruit and vegetable market - I truly was wondering what I'd done here, convinced it was my first bad choice after a months travelling. Clearly we were in the wrong place, but then behind huge glass doors covered in pictures of fruit and veg, oppose the market, there it was. What a surprise was instore as we hesitantly entered, clean, modern, spacious and cool, oh so cool! Oh room was equally as lovely as the reception area.
The staff were absolutely amazing and as helpful as any I've encountered anywhere int he world. They were clear about what to see and areas that were out of bounds after dark. Even better, when we were about to book excessively expensive taxi's for the following morning and evening to take us to and from the airport for a day trip to Santorini, they set us in the right direction for a free bus and metro journey. They were way out in their estimate of a 10 minute walk to the bus, it was more like 30, but we'd allowed plenty of time. They were very clear about safety and the only route to take.
The location is awesome, easy walking distance to the charming Plaka, Monastiraki, and many of the historic sights.
As for the fruit market, by early evening there was no evidence it had ever existed, which was nice!
The rooftop bar was a relaxing place to enjoy the evening with spectacular views of the Acropolis and City.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you for offering us a similarly nice surprise with your positive review after so many months!

I am delighted to read that you still remember the friendliness of our staff, as guests satisfaction is our primary concern and gives us tremendous motivation to continue offering the standards of service and facilities.

We hope that on a future trip to Athens you will stay with us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

Excellent value for money. Great location (loved the fresh fruits/veggie marker downstairs!). Waking distance to all sites. Clean new rooms. Helpful staff (Argiro at the front desk is a star!). Huge spread of buffet breakfast...freshly baked croissants, juice, cold cuts, bacon, eggs, baked beans, fresh greek yogurt etc etc! Awesome views from the roof terrace.
All in all a fantastic experience and i would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the higher floor with views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

From the behalf of all off us, I would like to thank you for your very positive review and your high score, which is a big motivation to continue offering the standard of service and facilities.

I are so pleased you enjoyed the colourful fruit market, the easy walking access to all sites, as well as our rich breakfast and the view.

We really hope to hoste you again on a future trip to Athens.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Hotel is great and amazing value, would recommend to all. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CG84Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your experience on T.A, and for recommending our hotel.
Whenever you return to Athens, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Athens Center Square Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Athens Central Square hotel at Athens in beginning Oct 2011, followed by a return stay in mid-Oct before departing Greece. We found the room to be comfortable with sufficient space. The room and bath conditions were clean and hygienic. The breakfast was sumptuous and had a wide range of variety even with some Greek breakfast items for us to sample.

The location is just adjacent to the central market and fruit stalls are in front of the hotel. The nights were quiet and we slept very well, except one night, the noise from people quarrelling at the market was loud and went on for about an hour. We generally did not wonder around the market area after dark. When returning late at night, we took taxi which stopped right in front of the hotel for us. Overall, we felt the area was safe just need to take precautions as one would do in places where one is not familiar with.

The front desk lady, Ms Olga, was superb and she made our stay memorable. She was very friendly and most helpful. After we checked out from our first stay, she conscientiously followed up on our request to book a tour to Delphi during our return stay. She showed discipline and was very organized & experienced at handling guest requests. On our second stay, to our pleasant surprise Ms Olga even reserved the same room for our first stay knowing we were very pleased with it. She was very thoughtful indeed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WXYZ_BPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff and the very central location of our Hotel. Our hotel received an award for cleanest hotel of the year, so we are glad you were satisfied too.

We thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your high score.

Kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Athens Center Square hotel for 5 days. We were given a room on the sixth floor over looking the Central Market. Athens Center Square is an excellent hotel, within five minutes (max) walking distance to Monastiraki Squre and about 10 minutes (max) to the Plaka District and the Acropolis. We also walked to Omonia and Syntagma within 15 minutes. I liked the location of this hotel because you were away from the truly touristy feel of the Plaka district, but still well within walking distance to all the local attractions.
Our room was lovely, very modern with all the conveniences we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the television had English language channels for times when we just wanted to chill out and give our feet a rest from all the walking we did!
The hotel breakfast was very good, with choices that were both familiar and some that were more traditionally Greek. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and bent over backwards to give great information and advice about getting around the city.
The Taxi driver we had from the Airport wasn't sure where the hotel was located, but fortunatley I had printed directions in Greek from Google Maps and he was able to easily discern the location.
The only negative opinion I could give to this hotel has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel itself, but more to do with the neighborhood. This hotel is on the cusp between Omonia and Monastriaki and is somewhat more "working" class - normally not a big deal, however, the park where the Central Market is located becomes a bit seedy in the evening. My husband and I encountered some homeless people - all very nice, and potentially a few drug dealers (we steered clear!). An Athenian we met while on vacation warned us to be careful at night when we went back to the hotel as the area was known for being a bit dangerous, but my husband and I never had a single issue while walking back at night.
I highly suggest this lovely modern hotel for both it's proximity to all the best spots, excellent breakfast, staff and very agreeable prices (48.00/night! WOW)!!

PS. Book directly with the hotel, you'll get a much better rate than any website I researched!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor to be away from some of the bustle from the market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hist0ricTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the very central location with easy access to all mayor sites and Plaka area, the confortable beds and our breakfast.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TA and for your high score.


Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

When I town, I try to stay at this hotel or another one I highly recommend (my decision is always based on the room fare in the end). The hotel is located next to probably Athens biggest market. Yet, the hotel is sometimes difficult to find since its front is almost a bit camouflaged. Also, you should avoid going out alone during the night since there are often some weird looking people hanging around the street. However, the hotel offers excellent service with computer terminals in the lobby, friendly staff and modern, clean and stylish rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing once again our hotal for your recent stay in Athens. As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay again with us.

We look forward to welcome you next time you will visit our city.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

For the price we paid (about 45€ a night) we were delighted with our room and the level of service we received. The front desk staff was excellent and our room was clean and cheerful. The included breakfast was ample and the view from the rooftop is excellent. The hotel is located in front of the fruit market so it can get noisy in the morning as the market gets under-way. Light sleepers should ask for a room on the opposite side or higher up. We were on the 5th floor and weren't too bothered. There are some negative comments about the area in other reviews. We didn't feel as if we were in any danger although as a solo woman I wouldn't wander around Athens at night in general. If normal precautions are taken (as you would in any large city) there should be no trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if you are bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACMPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the service you received from our staff. Guest comments are really important to us and help us to improve our services.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,594 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $59 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing