We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - if not THE BEST - to eat & relax in Plaka!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estia - Cafe Restaurant

Estia - Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #197 of 3,595 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Plaka
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
“Great place - if not THE BEST - to eat & relax in Plaka!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Estia - Cafe Restaurant aside from offering great food is the perfect place to get good coffee, have a great meal (let's not forget an excellent desert!!!) and just sit back and relax on the comforatable sofas and have a really good time.
The atmosphere is great always cheerful and light-hearted with good service.
The food is good, seems healthy and I get more than enough so I never finish.
My personal favorite at Estia - Cafe Restaurant is the delicious burger (mmmmmm...) & the chocolate soufle w/ ice-cream.
A nice, relaxed atmosphere, excellent customer service, reasonable prices and delicious food are consistently featured at Estia - Cafe Restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    221
    83
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Avoid much better restaurants around.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Pushy gave it a try hubbys lamb ok avoid the cod at all cost like rubber did complain nothing done. Nice location is about all going for this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Lynne00
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Don't be put off by negative reviews, this little restaraunt is well worth 'finding' in the Plaka area of Athens.
Yes the staff try to ' encourage ' you to eat there (every restaurant,cafe,shop in the plaka does the same, and in the current economic climate in greece who can blame them)
But just sit at a table and let the food and atmosphere speak for itself . This is just their way of sharing the greek hospitality with you.
We were so impressed by the menu, quality of the food, extensive wine list, service and prices that we went every night for dinner, we also met a couple who had travelled the greek isles extensively and said that this was the best place that they had eaten.
We both had starters,salad, main meal dessert and a bottle of wine and a bottle of water for 60 euros . The ingredients were obviously very fresh and not a hint of a microwave anywhere,( I was a chef and would like to think i know the difference) The staff are very friendly and considering the number of guests at their restaurant, every evening without fail they remembered where we had said we were going and asked if we had had a nice time, the gave advice on good places to visit and how to get to places by both foot and public transport.
would definately go back .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clarem9270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hassled to go in then ignored”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I agree with the previous review , the service once they got you to sit down was poor . My food had been microwaved - badly - hot on one side cold in the middle. My daughter's meal was tasteless. Shame because the location is good, the sofas comfy and free wifi.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Total Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I do not have any kind words to say about this restaurant. I am also perplexed as to how it can be ranked so high on Trip Advisor...

All the staff care about is getting people into the restaurant. They hustle and hassle you in the street like no-end, act like your best friend - just to get you to sit down. Once they have you in the restaurant, they do not care in the slightest. The main waiter literally ignored us, through the cheque at our table without saying a word. One hour before, he was out best friend. But, once we sat down.... NEXT!

The food is very average and extremely expensive. The souvlaki I had was terrible. The pizza was something that looked like it came out of a microwave.

Give it a VERY BIG miss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estia - Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Estia - Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing