We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gyros. ”
Review of Hoocut, true pitta

Hoocut, true pitta
Order Online
Ranked #14 of 25 Quick Bites in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic gyros . A bit pricier then your average Greek souvlaki place. But excellent quality. If u like it spicy ask them for a little more hot sauce.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank roaminggourmetthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 166 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

The best Slovakis of Athenes.

The sandwich are really awesome and it is located in a street with less tourists.

There are no fries included as in Greece they eat it like that but omg they are fantastic !

It has been recommended by our Guide and I highly recommend !!!

Tip : the beef slouvaki is more spicy and better than the pork which has too luch Tzaziki

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Sébastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

I found this on the otherwise much-respected Monocle guide to Athens and it was listed as a healthier alternative to a suvlaki with wholemeal pittas and whatnot, so I thought I'd give it a try. I had to take out things like onions, capers, dressings etc. so what I had was basically pitta, meat, tomatoes and yogurt. And my conclusion is that if you need all that to make your suvlaki taste good, then you're doing something wrong.

The pork one was ok but definitely nothing to write home about. The beef one though, was for me the biggest disappointment. Firstly, misleadingly described as 'beef burger', I was expecting a pitta burger; what I got was beef cut in slices, the same way you have in a stir fry. Secondly, there was absolutely no taste in that meat, no flavour coming through and with all the toppings taken out that, the lack of it was even more intense. And so was my disappointment.

Yes, location is really good, pitta and the size are good and those fries are to die for - make sure you try them. But this is definitely not the best suvlaki in Athens. You don't want a "modern version" or a "new edition" - what you want is the real deal, the real traditional flavour of a good suvlaki. And for that, you'll have to look elsewhere.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmZed81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Come for the souvlaki, stay for the rest of the traditional Greek menu. Located in the midst of a hundred restaurants, pass them by to try the chicken, beef and lamb souvlaki.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank tadb2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Gyro, souvlaki, Greek salad prepared and served the American fast food way : self service , efficient and clean.
Some locals said that the taste has been too modified but I enjoyed it, with two thumbs up for the French fries.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Douvenois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoocut, true pitta also viewed

 

Been to Hoocut, true pitta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing