We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real taste of Greece”
Review of Aspro Alogo

Aspro Alogo
Ranked #52 of 3,718 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Plaka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real taste of Greece”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well we went here this evening and we loved it!!!

The owner is the kindest host we've ever met. He even catered for my husband, who has coeliac disease.

We started off with Greek salad x 2, lovely and fresh and only 4.50 euros each. Then we had the day's special, (of which there were a few) we chose chicken, which was done in the oven. The daily specials are not on the menu, he will advise you of these when you enter, it was only 6.50 euros and came with potatoes and a small salad. Red wine was only 2 euros for a little caraf. :-)

Water was complimentary as was dessert and Greek coffee, neither of which we asked for, he just wanted to give us them.

We did not feel ripped off like we had in another restaurant the previous night, just very satisfied and happy that we'd had a lovely Greek meal served by a very friendly host.

We will visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustmyopinionX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    153
    32
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Marko, the owner/manager is the friendliest and kindest person we met in Greece.

So many complimentary items, free desserts, free coffee etc

The food wasn't bad either. Atleast, my meal (the cod) was great.

My husband on the other hand was duped into ordering the suggested meal and it turned out to be completely weird and something we would NEVER order. White bait and sardines is not something we'd wanna pay 7 Euros for or even want to eat for dinner but anyway, the kindness of the host more than made up for the surprise dish.

Marko also introduced us to Greek yoghurt with honey and now back home in South Africa we continue to eat the Greek yoghurt with honey for dessert, breakfast or as a snack. Thanks Marko :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Very much satisfied.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We didn't expected much at the first, but when we finished our dinner, we were very much satisfied. We did enjoyed with home-style dishes and also with the very nice and kind people of the restaurant. Maybe it is not the place to go if you have only one day to stay in Athens, but if you are looking for something a little bit different, this place can be your choice. And it looks to me that there are some frequent visitors from the neighbors. My impression is that a group of 1-4 persons will be the best size, but up to 6 will be ok.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stpkota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
552 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly, very reasonable GO THERE!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

In Athens at the Plaka, do yourself a favor and DO NOT MISS Aspro Alogo! Delicious food and warm, friendly atmosphere, Marco will make sure you're well cared for as he buzzes around greeting, cooking up AMAZING authentic Greek cuisine, making conversation and treating you to many extras and delicacies of the day. Unbelievably low prices we always left generous tips because he gave us so much of everything - we loved the food so much we ate there every day! If really lucky his beautiful wife and 2 adorable sons might also be there. You'll feel like you truly have friends in Athens, and we can't wait to go back. We'll definitely go to the 'White Horse' to see Marco and his family when we do! 

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and tasty food”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across this place and were advised by the two tables of people sitting there that it was worthwhile stopping here. I initially thought that the simple menu might be disappointing (only listed starters/salad/seafood) but was then told of the 4 specials of the day (all not listed). We ate the eggplant dip, saganaki, lamb and chicken - overall the food was just as tasty as any of the over priced tourist joints but for a fraction of the price!

The hospitality is what is worth raving about though - everything, and more, will be done by Marco to make your meal enjoyable. As the one man show (cook, waiter and general nice guy), we were very well looked after (and fed). Do yourself a favor and make sure you drop into this cosy little taverna.

Helpful?
Thank pc_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspro Alogo also viewed

 

Been to Aspro Alogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing