We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic's the word”
Review of Diporto

Diporto
Ranked #248 of 3,925 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: Omonia
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Omonia
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Authentic's the word”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was the real thing. Lunch was utterly delicious, very cheaply priced, comprising real everyday worker’s food, beautifully relaxed atmosphere and a wonderful old-world charm. I'm amazed at one reviewer's whine that "tourists pay more”. My entire meal, including two medium-sized fish, big bowl of chick-peas and broth, another big bowl of vegetables, unlimited freshly baked bread, and a half-litre of delicious Retsina wine, cost a total of 14 euros. Perhaps the tourist in question, who was charged 20 euros for what he describes as a smaller meal, gives himself away by whining that there was “zero English” spoken in the restaurant and that the owner was “crabby”. How surprising! This restaurant is in a place called Greece, not England or Canada, so, as Professor Higgins once asked: “Why can’t the English learn to…?”. I wonder if imperious attitudes attract higher charges in local restaurants. That would be no bad thing. For my own part, having entered the place, apologising for my lack of Greek but making do with some sign language, and showing some humility as a foreigner, I was treated throughout my visit with great charm and friendliness. Because I was alone I was put at a table already occupied by an elderly man in worker’s overalls, who immediately offered me some of his bread. We enjoyed each other’s company over lunch without a word of English being spoken, and we shared quite a few laughs together at the boisterous, teasing, chatty demeanour of the staff. This place doesn’t need to advertise itself. All the locals know exactly where it is. The tourist will have to ask the locals or keep eyes open for two half-cellar doors without signs, then walk down four or five steps into a piece of authentic working-class Athens. This is a truly delightful experience. But leave your empire outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian220451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“a real step back (or down) in time”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

this is an ancient taverna, located in the basement of an old building on the corner of theatrou and sokaratous. the light floods in from both doors. you cannot beat the atmosphere if this is your kind of place. stone floors, the owner cooking in the corner, old barrels of wine and rickety chairs and check tablecloths. the simple food was great, grilled sardines, bean stew, good salad, house wine, you just walk up and pick from the selection of pans the waiter shows you. maybe they charge a little more for tourists, i don't know and i don't care. you just don't see places like this anymore. it's full of greeks anyway, they don't really need our business but i'm glad they'll take it. the old owner is the cook, hopefully he keeps it up as places like this are so rare now. highly recommended, only open for lunch and closed sundays i think. very near the central market vegetable stalls. it was around 20 E for two of us, three dishes including half a liter of house wine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the very few of its kind remaining in Athens”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Cheap, simple, honest and delicious traditional greek food. Back to time atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but tourists pay more...”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

No menus so you have no idea what things REALLY costs. 20 Euro for Greek salad (no cheese), bowl of chickpea soup and dish of anchovies. Really good food, authentic for sure. You just have to make peace with the reality that you will pay more and decide if you're OK with that in lieu of a unique true Greek dining experience. Young waiter was nice, other patrons friendly and chatty. It was older owner in white butchers coat who was crabby and charged us lots :(

Restaurant is hard to find. It's on the corner and you have to go down 4-5 steps underground to enter. Zero English. Bring a pen and you can draw on paper tablecloth what I want (ie: I drew a little fish. I kid not. Waiter chuckled but hey. It worked!). Also don't go if you are obsessed with cleanliness....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 360flip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Probably the only remaining restaurant of its kind in Athens”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Like entering a time machine and joining your Greek great-great grandfather for lunch. Simple but delicious Greek food served by old-timers unadulterated by the twentieth century. Everything here is authentic and unassuming, including the chickpea soup and the customers. A group of Greek Tom-Waits look-alike old-timers sitting on the next table were toasting retsina win and singing songs one would only hear from scratched 78 rpm records.

But seriously, the food is very good, the atmosphere unique and the prices cannot be beaten with a stick!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diporto also viewed

 

Been to Diporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing