We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but pricey”
Review of AthenStyle Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AthenStyle Hostel
Ranked #10 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, but pricey”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The location was great, I was able to walk everywhere and if I needed a metro, it was across the street. It was a little pricey but they had a rooftop bar with cheap drinks and a killer view. The breakfast was terrible and perhaps something they should improve but the view of the acropolis is breathtaking! The rooms were nothing special and my room for some reason was very hot even with the air conditioner on. The staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    140
    68
    41
    20
See reviews for
30
68
126
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The pool table is broken. The projector to show dvds is broken, the wifi connection is bad, and the staff is not overly friendly. The kitchen is filthy with mouldy bowls etc. in the cubbords (wash everything thoroughly before you use it). The wifi is not available in the rooms and seeing as we weren't staying in the main building we had to go quite a ways to use our computer, which was very inconvenient. Our building was unlocked all day with tonnes of graffiti so we were nervous other people in our dorm might forget to lock the room. Also it always stunk like wood chips and paint thinner from construction and the wood shop doownstairs. The breakfast should really not be called a breakfast because there was never anything left and they left it sitting in the sun in 40 degree weather. Our room was dirty. On the bright side, the location is fantastic and the view from the roof top bar is AMAZING. They really need to stop false advertising and lower the price a smidgen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kait c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whirlwindthrucities, at AthenStyle Hostel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us and sorry that you were not 100% satisfied. The dorm you booked is situated just next door to the main building of Athenstyle (less than 1 minute walk). It’s our budget offer for those who’d like to spend more euros for enjoying Athens and Greece, instead of spending them for the accommodation. The access to all facilities is the same for all the guests, either they lodge in the main or the other building. The next door building is locked during the night. I understand that it might be a bit inconvenient for you to walk to the main side in order to use wi-fi, computers, take breakfast (all free of charge) or use any other facilities, but information about that is visible on the website. None of us like false advertising and none of us do it. Breakfast is served between 8-10am. If you come in time you can’t see an empty table as everything is filled up systematically. As far as the weather is fine, breakfast is served on the roof so all the guests could enjoy the morning view of Athens. Kitchen, all rooms and common areas are cleaned daily. If you stay in a shared room or use common areas (like kitchen) please be aware that cleanliness doesn’t depend only on cleaners’ work limited with their working hours but also on other people who you are sharing the room with. I’m glad that you enjoyed the rooftop view and location. I really hope to have you back to Athens one day and would be more than happy to host you and show you how much we do care about all our guests comfort and satisfaction. Best wishes & happy travels! Gosia / Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

So two girls and I rented a room with Athens style, we checked in, lovely little reception area and the guy at the desk said" your room is just in a building a bit down the road"...no other warning. Turns out instead of putting us in their main building, they put us ( 3 girls) in an old run down building in which Athenstyle is "renting out" 2 floors. I've never been more disgusted and scared in my life!! Their was old garbage everywhere, no lights, graffiti everywhere, electrical wires hanging down from the ceiling, no working air conditioning, the elevator was too scary to try as there was old blood and hairs all over the walls and floor. Also, because Athenstyle is renting out floors of that building, we had to make our way to the 5th floor by walking through abandoned and desheveled floors or through floors where "locals" lived...not the safest place for 3 girls that's for sure!!!!! When we saw the building and our room we went back to the reception desk to ask to be changed to the main building because we were scared, they proceeded to say they couldn't do that and try to convince us that "it wasn't that bad as long as we didn't open our door to anybody else" and that " they can't actually clean the building or renovate it because they are simply renting floors and do not own the building itself do there was Mathieu the could do about the disgusting floors and walls" .... We ended up needing to pay 80euros for one night for the only room they had left in the main building!!! All in all, awfull awfull place...they should never have been awarded best hostel even if that was in 2009

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofithetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItalyTravelgirl, General Manager at AthenStyle Hostel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

I am very sorry and actually quite surprised to read your review! I assure we do our best and personally care about every single one of our guests, our size is still good to know each one of our travellers and make the hostel feel a cosy home away from home.

We do have rooms in both buildings, on Agias Theklas street no. 10 and no. 12. The two buildings are one besides the other, on the rooftop terrace of no.10 there is our rooftop bar, and on the rooftop terrace of the other there is our restaurant, both with great views of the city and communicating with each other through a little door. You were staying in no. 12, underneath our restaurant building, where we also serve breakfast in the morning.

You had booked 3 beds in a 4-bed dorm, however we thought it would be nice for three girls to be upgraded in a private room, so you did not have to share with anybody else. You also had a private bathroom only for you and a private terrace on the 5th floor that gave you views to the Acropolis, all part of our upgrade. A/C is perfectly working, as you had the chance to verify when you called our receptionist to help you put it on.

This is why I am quite surprised to hear that not only did you not appreciate our effort, in fact you did not feel comfortable in the building. It is true that we own a few of the floors of the building on no. 12, while the building on no. 10 is all ours, however we are sharing no. 12 with very nice neighbours, local families and young people living in those few apartments that are not the hostels. We have NEVER had any issues of safety with that, no guest has ever experienced any safety issue in neither of the two buildings. Such local neighbours are totally safe and actually love having travellers in the building!

We have approx 50 people per day staying in our second building (1.500 guests monthly) and not even a single one of these guests has been assaulted, robbed or threatened.

As for the looks of the common areas, it comes down to what you are used to: many buildings in the centre of Athens look run down in comparison to buildings of Northern Europe. The buildings common areas, stairs, lift etc. do get cleaned on a daily basis - there might be a forgotten beer can or some crisps bag from other fellow travellers from the previous night, they would certainly be cleaned as soon as our cleaners go in.

All in all, we are very proud of still being the best hostel in Athens, in great terms with the local reality, neighbourhood, local people and little shops, our little nice street and our two buildings, and I would encourage you to give us another chance to show you how good we are at it! I would be glad to meet you personally if you come back and invite you to dinner at our restaurant so we can have a chat about hostels, travels & Greece!

Happy travels!
Sofia
General manager @ AthenStyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

AthenStyle is very well located, at Monasteraki squere... There I could find everything! Bars, clubs, restaurants (cheap and expensive ones), markets and all kind of shops (souvenirs, clothes, etc). Besides, it's only some meters from the Metro Station and 15 min walking to the Parliament. Also, the Acropolis view in the roof bar is outstanding... I really think it's one of the best view in Athens! Even when I wasn't staying in the Hostel I used to hang out with my friends in the roof bar. The accomodations are just fine and they have safe lockers to put my luggage in. The main lobby is also very cozy. There made som good friends, people from all over the world who also stayied in this highly recommended hostel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Rooms Mikonos or Santorini. They have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno_dacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Athenstyle is a 5 min walk from the Monastiraki Metro station. There is a video on the Athenstyle website that I found was helpful in finding the right exit from the metro station. The metro runs right from the airport. There are many restaurants and bars and markets nearby, but I spent most of my time in the evenings on the rooftop bar and restaurant, where there is decent, inexpensive, food and beer, people from all over the world, and a fantastic view of the Acropolis. Like most Hostels, there was noise well into the early morning, but not so noisy that I couldn't get some sleep. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and maps.

Room Tip: Like a lot of the newer hotels/hostels, one needs to insert a room key into a card reader by the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brundl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hostel was in a great location, easy walking distance to all major attractions. Its right near a train station so it was no hassle getting there from the airport. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room for just one night and found it to be very clean and tidy. The staff were also very friendly and happy to provide maps and directions. The rooftop bar had a great view of the Acropolis and the barman was great for a laugh and a chat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. The staff were super helpful, friendly and happy to share a beer after their shift. The roof top bar offers amazing views of the Acropolis and surrounding Athens. It's in a great central location and only 2 minutes from the metro.  Its close to the flea market, Monastraki square, great restaurants, tourist sites and awesome shops. The rooms were super clean and had massive lockers. I found this hostel a great way to meet people and it was defintely one of the best hostels during my 3 month trip. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lfrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,234 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
1,807 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 325 in Athens
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
City Circus Athens
#1 of 63 in Athens
444 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 63 in Athens
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AthenStyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AthenStyle Hostel

Property: AthenStyle Hostel
Address: 10 Agias Theklas, Athens 105 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AthenStyle Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proud member of Europe’s Famous Hostels Association. Top ratings, premium location, famous Rooftop Bar (open all year round) and summer Restaurant with unbeatable views of Acropolis, unique vibe and Happy Hour. Variety of rooms located in two adjacent buildings: the main one with studio apartments and small dorms (4-6 beds) and newly renovated wing next door with bigger dorms (8-10 beds), quad rooms and few smaller dorms. Free breakfast, free Wi-Fi. Book your bed now before it is gone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your AthenStyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenstyle Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing