We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Areos Hotel
Ranked #21 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at Areos for 2 nights. The hotel itself was great - very modern, large bathroom with waterfall shower, and good breakfast. I especially liked the fruit salad they put out with the Greek yogurt in the mornings. The hotel is also only a 5 min walk from the Victoria metro station as many reviewers have mentioned, making it easy to get to and from the main areas of Athens (Plaka, Acropolis etc.). My only reservation about the hotel is its immediate location. We arrived in the early evening and asked for a recommendation from the hotel for a place nearby to eat dinner. They recommended an area nearby with several restaurants. The food was great but the area where the hotel is felt a little bit sketchy. It's fine...but not an area I would spend much time in. After that first night, we pretty much took the metro into other areas of Athens and only came directly back to the hotel to sleep. If the hotel were in a different location, it would definitely be a 5 out of 5, but the iffy location outside of central Athens is no doubt what allows Areos to charge such reasonable rates, so overall, I would still recommend it, just be aware when walking around at night in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

I use trip advisor for EVERYTHING. I won't book anywhere without it, so I take these reviews very seriously when I read them. I read nothing but positive reviews about this hotel and I don't have anything but wonderful things to say. The hotel is easily accessible from Victoria station in Athens, which is also easy to get to from the airport by taking the blue line to Monistraki and changing to the green line two stops to Victoria. It was about a 5 minute walk. My husband and I walked everywhere- we didn't find a need for subway or cabs but all that is accessible if you choose. The hotel is very modern. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable (we've had some nightmares with european beds before). I loved that we left at 11am and came back at 3 and our room had already been cleaned- other hotels we went days without service! The front desk is so friendly. They gave us wonderful suggestions on places to eat- helped us arrange airport transportation via bus service because we have a very early departure before the metro even runs and I just can't say enough good things. A simple but sufficient breakfast is included, although I wish they offered more fruit and free wifi. Thank you for a lovely stay! I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura128000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I highly recommend Areos Hotel as the perfect place to stay in for people who are planning to visit the lovely city of Athens :)

A cosy hotel having a perfect location; provides exceptional service at a reasonable price. Less than 10 mins. walking to the "Victoria Station" which is just one stop to "Monasteraki" (Athens' city center). The bedroom(s) and bathroom(s) are spacious, the bed is comfortable, the interior design of the hotel is beautiful, housekeeping service is excellent.

Special mention to the Front Desk Personnel named Dmitra who goes out of her way to assist her customers not only with concierge-related services, but also anything that concerns her customers' stay in the hotel. She always wear a beautiful smile and always ready to accommodate any request(s) from her customers. She is very approachable. Her willingness to help would keep customers coming back in this hotel.

Overall my experience in this was absolutely fantastic. Everyone is just great. Keep up the good job!



Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank SkyAngel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is around 7mins walking with luggage from the Victoria station. It's not centrally located but you will get a good price as per the location.
The check-in was very quick and the lady helped us to have a bigger room for my brother in law to be able to fit the baby cot,very of them!
The room is super clean and very nice furniture, shower rain in the big bathroom and body lotion from Dove! Very surprise for that kind of hotel.
We had breakfast which was quite simple but good enough for the day.
Overall for the price and the quality of the room, I would say it is an excellent hotel and perfect to spend a few days in athens.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolodrezet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Although this hotel is not as centrally located as some other hotels, it is quite easy to find your way by walking or taking the metro. The hotel and its rooms are very clean and modern. This hotel is a very good pick for first timers in Athens! We had a blast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma_dupuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As always I do my research and there is a reason why this place has good reviews, BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!

This hotel has outstanding facilities and all the mod-cons, if you can, book suite 700, the rooms are cheap and the top room is huge with a huge private balcony that looks over all of Athens.

The staff are exceptionally helpful, friendly - and will guide you where you need to go, very happy with all the staff on the front desk, went above and beyond.

The breakfast is good, nice dining area, reasonable selection of hot and continental items.

The location is convenient, 5 minutes walk to train station and 10 minutes walk to main mall.

3 train stops to all the ancient ruins, we trained it there and walked back, which was just enough exercise for a traveller.

Really, this is all about VALUE FOR MONEY and LOCATION in terms of ease of getting around Athens.

The Cab was 40 Euro's from the airport and only 20 Euro's from the dock to the Greek Islands.

Recommend getting the hotel to organise private cabs, they are a must, professional and reliable and no more expensive in our eyes.

Minor tip for hotel itself, even though the bathroom is miles away from the bedroom, a door is recommend. A full length mirror would be a good addition. Thank you for a lovely stay xx

Would stay again if in Athens.

Forgot to take photos of the room but have two of the view from the top floor balcony of suite 700 for readers.

Room Tip: The top room, no 700 - the suite, not much more expensive and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollybrookandaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The room we had even have a kitchen area, but without the pots and pans.

Really beautiful modern and clean rooms, which were rather spacious too.

Not exactly located in the central part of town, but it's a walk away from the train station and there are restaurants and cafe not too far away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 281 in Athens
1,914 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Address: 19 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#22 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#24 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing