We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREEK GEM!!!”
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Areos Hotel
Ranked #22 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Myself and boyfriend stayed here for 7 nights and what a fantastic place this is!
Let me start by saying that after getting a bus from the airport to Syntagma Square which is centrally located we decided to walk from their to our hotel (luckily my boyfriend is a great map reader) so we lugged out suitcases through the streets to our hotel which took roughly 15 mins. The neighbourhood is perfectly safe to walk around and i never once felt uneasy throughout our entire trip, day or night. We pretty much walked back to our hotel every night from wherever we were.

Right now to the hotel... Reception: Beautifully presented...modern and classy decor, warm and welcoming. The staff are extremely helpful and will go out of their way to help you locate anywhere on the maps you need to go. They will tell you the best routes on how to get there...anything you need to no baisically they will tell you.

We stayed in the Suite..number 700 on the top floor. If your goning to stay here i would reccomend paying the couple of extra euros a night and get this room. AMAZING.
It has a normal sized 'hotel bedroom' super comfey bed and pillows..the usual wardrobe..bedside tables etc. But you also have a living area with setee which folds out to a bed if you have someone that is crashing for the night.
There is a MASSIVE bathroom.. with state of the art jaccuzi which has steam room and radio and flashing lights and power jets... after you work out which buttons does what its heaven! (on two occasions turning somthing on ie light, at the same time as the jacuzzi tripped the switch...but the panel is located down the corider as your leaving the bathroom...just switch it back up and it will come back on)

The real icing on the cake though was the balcony...it pretty much went round half the building... you get a fantastic view of the city..and if you walk round to the far end of the balcony you can see the acroplois lit up at night in the distance.
We sat back each evening before heading out with a glass of scotch just taking in the view and the sounds of athens.

The breakfast was tasty and had plenty of variety...each morning there was hot backon...small sausages.. cold meats and cheese..fruit, greek yoghurt, bread, crossants.. and boiled egg.
The only critasism i would make would be to change the variety of egg each morning..even if they changed nothing else... one day scrambled another day poached etc. that was my only grumble but other than that it was very tasty.

Cleaning of the rooms was perfect... although would have been handy to have a bin in the room..as we colleced a few empty water bottles or wrappers which we had to put in a neat pile for the cleaner to dispose of.

in all...i would reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in athens without a doubt...an absolute brillant thoughtful and clean hotel which really look after their customers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muzzyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 621 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We enjoyed staying in this clean, well located hotel with easy access to the subway. The neighborhood is walkable, very urban, but seemed safe. Breakfast was great, beds were comfortable and the staff were helpful. We had a triple room with a balcony - it was reasonably quiet for the city. The bathroom was clean with a nice shower. The air conditioning worked well. Staff was helpful with navigating Athens and making suggestions for restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelb0y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Everything was perfect, go there if you stay in Athen, its close to a metro station and some good restaurants are in walking distance. Good Wi-Fi connection, breakfast was ok. Spacy rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is a nice 3 star hotel offering modern comforts but I think its not worthy of being rated at #11 in athens on trip advisor.

We stayed here 3 nights in a suite room. Here is the low-down of our experience

Positives:
* The room was quite spacious but a bit oddly laid out
* The room had an enclosed glass jacuzzi with many shower types but it takes 20-25 mins to fill the tub
* One of the staff members was quite helpful in providing directions, restaurant suggestions
* Hotel is very close to the bus stop that goes to Rafina port, Temple of Poseidon and other one-day excursions near Athens.

Overall we had following negatives
* The nearest metro Victoria was closed during our stay so we had to walk 20-25 mins to Omonia. I agree that management cannot do anything about metro closures but should have informed customers who were yet to arrive
* The area of hotel is a bit unsafe/shady. Nothing eventful happened but we were advised to take cabs instead of walking after sunset
* Although we took the best room in the hotel it did not have following basic amenities:
No safe to keep passports, No wifi signal as room was on top floor, a very small TV with very few channels, No tea/coffee maker (we were told tea/coffee makers are provided in certain regular rooms but no in suite!), a fridge but no mini-bar
* Breakfast was very average..a couple of bread options with eggs
* View from the rooms is average (view on reviews is overhyped)

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank desitraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Very nice, value for money. Especially the spacious rooms with large terraces are brilliant. Breakfast simple and with many guests in a small room, but OK. Neighbourhood is somewhat unpleasant after sunset, but taking a taxi does the trick.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jxalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. We took taxi 2 times back to the hotel. Both of the drivers told us the area of the hotel was not that safe, lot of thefts and drugs. Should not go out at night time. One driver even locked the taxi doors when entering the area.

For the hotel, it is a nice hotel with good service and facilities, wifi, breakfast and bar. Value for money is good.

During our stay, we encountered the strike and metro maintenance. The Victoria station is closed. The nearest station is Omonia which is about 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryanlohk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel itself is great, value for money and fantastic staff. My only complaint is location - 30 mins walk from the main tourist area through an area I was told to avoid by the locals. You can get taxis of course but I was ripped off by one and another got lost and had to get his sat nav out. I think there are same kind of hotels closer to the main tourist area and I only stayed here as someone else booked it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
498 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,935 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Address: 19 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#24 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $61 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing