We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choise to stay, next to Acropolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tony
Ranked #50 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“An excellent choise to stay, next to Acropolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Highly recomended for those who want to avoid the big noisy luxurious expensive hotels in Athens. New renovated rooms, high/very modern decoration, very good service, 500m from underground station, 1km from Acropolis and new Acropolis museum. It is a small hotel will offer great pleasure to its customers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    181
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
171
236
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Tony's Hotel has an excellent location in Athens, being a ten minute walk from Plaka. The area felt safe at night and a few restaurants near by. Room was new, had good facilities but was in a basement so lacked natural light. Tony provided friendly and knowledgable service. We thought for the price (compared to other options in Athens) it was a good option, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

The room is newly renovated and very new and spacious. Location is great and we could walk to all the main attractions within 20 minutes. It is also very close to Metro so you don't need to catch a taxi to go to airport.
All the staffs are extremely helpful and friendly also the reception is open for 24 hours. Definitely good for value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenlgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Overrated; not a hidden gem!
2 singles not comfortable beds next to each for a ''double bed'', room was small, toilet was small and not at all like the pictures posted on website.
On a positive note, Tony was efficient in answering back to my emails, but haven`t seen him during my stay. His cousin was nice but not more. Location is good; near metro and walking about 15 min to acropolis.
I expected a small nice hotel with great service according to the positive reviews but was truly disappointed. I felt like I was staying at the wrong hotel! Beware, no credit card is accepted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneworld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Tony's Hotel promised a comfortable apartment in easy walking distance of the major sights of Athens, and it delivered. From Tony's you can reach the Acropolis in ten minutes and the city centre in fifteen. The rooms are superb value and would comfortably house a small family as a base of operations for a visit to Athens. The staff - principally Tony himself and his family - are welcoming and friendly, and always willing to help out with a recommendation.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed in a newly renovated basement room for three nights as part of my honeymoon. We arrived at 2 AM and left at 4:30 AM, and both times there was somebody in reception (more specifically, Tony's cousin who has the "graveyard shift" as he says). We stayed in a clearly recently renovated room that was fairly large by Greece standards. It was very European in flair with the design, the kitchen was more than enough, and the bathroom wasn't tiny (which is more than I can say for a lot of Europe) although no shower curtain so everything gets wet. Cable TV and decent sized bed, clean room and area, and fabulous looking entry way (we stayed around the corner, which has this great white marble stairwell leading up the entryway). Bed was a bit hard with not many covers, but at least we could control the temperature with the AC unit.

The location isn't perfect, but it's good enough and for the price, it cannot be beat. An easy 15 minute walk to the Plaka, Acropolis, and Parthenon. Tony and his cousin were both nice and helpful. Free wifi internet is provided and generally worked in the room as well (there's also a computer in reception). No breakfast is provided, but for the price, I wouldn't expect it.

In the end, I'd definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a great value (they only accept cash, by the way) for a decently sized clean newly renovated room in a good location. The rooms and hotel isn't 5-star over the top elegance, but it gets the job done, and was perfect for our situation. Also it was surprisingly quiet despite being fairly centrally located in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedog423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Europe for 2 weeks (Italy and Greece). We ended our trip by spending 2 nights in Athens at Hotel Tony. When we arrived we took a cab to the hotel. On the hotel website it says the cab should be like 30-35 euro. When the taxi dropped us off he tried to charge us 45 euro even though the meter said like 31. The man at the reception (Tony's son) came out to greet us and help us. He talked to the cabbie who was starting to get worked up (along with my husband). He ended up calling Tony on the phone who spoke to me, told me not to pay the cabbie anymore than 40 euro and then talked to the cabbie on the phone who left in a huff after we paid him the 40 euro (beware of the cabbies...we paid 45 euro for our ride back to the airport but were too tired to argue at that point).

Tony came to the hotel to greet us and show us to our room which was in a newer part of the hotel like half a block up the side street. It was newly renovate (like 3 months ago) and we were really pleasantly surprised. We paid 75 euro per night so we weren't expecting the lap of luxury. The room was very modern and the bathroom was really great. We were able to walk to the Acropolis in like 10 minutes and really everywhere else we wanted to go. We felt safe walking around at night and went into the metro one morning and were surprised at how nice it was (although we didn't take a train and we heard at night it can be dangerous though you'd expect that in any major city). Also note that pretty much everything in Athens only takes cash. We were unaware of this but the ATMs are easy to use and we didn't have too much trouble finding one. Even the hotel takes cash only.

Overall, we really like the room and the location and for 75 euro a night, it was the best value we had on our whole trip. The only complaint we had was the noise at night. I guess we had some partiers in our part of the hotel who came back to their rooms both nights we were there after like 2am. We were woken up both nights as they went through the halls even though we're not really light sleepers (you could hear them loud and clear laughing and joking.) I assume that Tony knows that you can hear the noise because there were signs posted at the reception and in the halls that said they can kick you out with 24 hours notice if you're too loud.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#37 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Property: Hotel Tony
Address: 26 Zacharitsa | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing