We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with spacious rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tony
Ranked #44 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
madison, wi
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great location with spacious rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our trip to Greece. It is an easy 10 minute walk to the Acropolis. Tony gave us great suggestions for many things. The rooms were modern and spacious with large balconies and kitchenettes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourroadlesstraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    181
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
170
236
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel Tony is perfectly located within walking distance from the Acropolis and recently renovated.
We stayed in the annex building by the corner, room 201 ground floor, wery well renoveted but INCREDIBLY SMALL!
The whole room was less than 10 sqmt, not enough room for our backpacks, we had to walk literally on our stuff to go from the bed to the bathroom and vice versa, the bathroom was less than 2 sqmt with a ridiculous lavatory, not bigger than an dish and a small shower.
The bed was way smaller than a Queen bed, absolutely uncofortable for 2 people, average size, to sleep on a "almost" single bed.
We didnt chat that much with Tony, the owner, coz he was quite busy with the renovation and everytime we wanted to get into the Hotel from the main entrance we had to waith for some of the workers to open the door coz nobody was at the reception...
Im quite sure that all the positive references about this Hotel are deserved but our experience, due to the claustrophobic feelings from the extremely small room and the renewal in progress, was quite negative.

Room Tip: AVOID the room 201 on the ground floor, no balcony and ridiculous small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anderos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Upon arrival we were shocked to see scaffolding on the hotel front and obvious construction work also in the lobby. Relief came quick, though: We were brought to another, beautiful house around the corner. No construction, but spacious, nicely appointed and clean rooms with excellent beds and bathroom facilities. Large and beautiful balconies were included as were some kitchenettes that allowed us to prepare our own breakfasts and enjoy them on the balcony. There was no stove or oven (just a microwave), but the electric kettel, a large fridge and a good bakery nearby (corner of Misaraliotou and Zitrou Streets) was all we needed. The main entrance to Acropolis and Plaka are an easy 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Tony is unassuming from the outside but the inside is well renovated. The rooms we stayed in had flat screen televisions, really comfortable beds and awesome showers.

Tony was really helpful and offered us plenty of advice on things to do in Athens, if we ever needed anything, the staff were willing to help.

Location was awesome, really close to the acropolis and other attractions without being in a touristed area. Close to the metro and bus stations, this is a great spot to base yourself in Athens. The surrounding area has plenty of cafés and restaurants to enjoy.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LEOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated. Location is great, both an easy walk to metro and major sites. Neighborhood is safe for late night walks and is surrounded by good value and quality local restaurants, supermarkets, bakeries and the best dessert shop in Athens ( just ask Tony or his son Vasilis for directions). I am a first generation to the US greek, so I have spent alot of time travelling and in Greece while growing up. I have never met someone with a such a passion to ensure his guests have a great stay as does Tony, the hotel owner. Whether you need someone to help you with a travel agent who failed to deliver your tickets, hop in your rental car and show you the best gas station and quick route out of town, or get you a cab. Tony and his son Vasilis are there for you. With regard to cabs arranged by Tony, we were always charged a fair rate and Nikos who drove us both times speaks good English and is a trustworthy man. I know one reviewer has recently written about Tony 's cab referrals being overpriced, frankly I am shocked and believe the reviewer did not know the appropriate fare and thought they were being overcharged when in fact they were not. When my 15 year old daughter goes to Greece in a couple of years with her friends I will feel much better knowing they are staying at Hotel Tony and driven by Nikos the cab driver.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vshackleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We landed on our feet when we booked into Tony's Hotel - well situated in the old town under the shadow of the Acropolis. This hotel is unassuming from the outside in keeping with the local environment but look inside... we had a family room which was just re-decorated to such a high standard: flat screen TV with all channels / beds to die for at the ends of a busy days sight-seeing / swipe card room access / balcony / Air con and the best of all is the bathroom like none other with mood lighting, a huge shower. The whole place smacks of attention to detail and pride in the finish.
Tony could not be more helpful...like your own personal trip advisor: you are looked after by an owner who cares - genuine Greek hospitality, friendliness & eagerness to ensure a good stay.

Room Tip: Trust Tony guide you to meet what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Una2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel Tony is a very short walk to Acropolis and metro. Rooms are very clean, large and extremely comfortable. Nicely appointed rooms. Staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent value and we'll definitely return.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade which we decided on, but could have easily chosen the other room. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#47 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Property: Hotel Tony
Address: 26 Zacharitsa | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing