We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a meal or a drink”
Review of GB Roof Garden

GB Roof Garden
Ranked #26 of 3,718 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $137
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Syntagma
Description: GB Roof Garden Restaurant & Bar The view from the GB Roof Garden Restaurant & Bar is breathtaking. In the most ideal location, the uninterrupted views of the Acropolis, Lycabettus hill and the Parliament are truly magnificent. The Restaurant - awarded by the Wine Spectator magazine three years in a row - serves New Mediterranean cuisine with emphasis on quality raw materials and excellent technique. For breakfast or lunch, the elegant and warm environment of the GB Roof Garden restaurant creates a tranquil atmosphere, while dinner is perfect when the city lights come on and the cosmopolitan aura becomes apparent.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a meal or a drink”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening here with cocktails and dinner. The creme brûlée martini was delicious! All of our food was well prepared and the service was representative of the best of Greek hospitality.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJfamilyof5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    199
    68
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really delicious food, with an even better view!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Delicious food, awesome staff.

The dishes we ordered were great.

Wished for a little more variety on the dinner menu

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ch0c0lateM0usse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The roof garden is open to everyone so you don't have to stay at the hotel to eat or have a drink here.
Many visit the roof garden for the spectacular view and stay on for dinner.
The bar is a good meeting place and many will sit and have a drink here and watching the bartenders as they mix their brews is great entertainment.
The staff are friendly and efficient and look after everyone with great attention.
Food here is also very good - seasonal and fresh. I wouldn't order the pizza - not wood-fired and a bit doughy but the toppings were great.
Their Greek menu is good and offers a good selection.
The venue is a very good location for a cocktail before heading off for dinner after subset or a late night drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HasantiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the world's best view for a meal”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have eaten in most of the worlds major cities and I almost always invest in a fine dinner with a great view. This one is in the top 2 or 3. Great food as well. Sommelier was a bit too snobby for my tastes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sssbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid; unless you'd like to a gamble at food poisoning”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went here to celebrate a birthday while in Athens, and the food was quite nice. We were pleasantly surprised, and the view was amazing. However, after the dinner I had very bad food poisoning. I remember ordering the tripoline or something similar to that, and it was a type of pasta dish with meat, mushrooms, and cheese sauce. The sauce was salty and a bit funny tasting but I had assumed that it was supposed to be that way. Im pretty sure that was the cause of the illness. Other than that, the was a nice dinner and the dessert was really good, especially the tiramisu. Just avoid that dish!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hummingbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GB Roof Garden also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to GB Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing