We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow...amazing view of lighted Parthenon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strofi

Strofi
Ranked #61 of 3,600 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $43
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
Description: Two blocks south of the Acropolis, this restaurant is the perfect place to refuel after a day hiking through the ruins, or after a show at the nearby Odeon Theater.Ask for a seat in the rooftop garden — views of the Acropolis are spectacular. Smart-casual. Reservations suggested.Working Hours: Tuesday -Sunday from 12:00pm to 1:00am Every Monday closed
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wow...amazing view of lighted Parthenon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We ate here based on TA rec. The couple at the next table was from Asia, and also were there because of the TA rec. Our hotel made reservations. We sat on a little balcony and had one of the most spectacular views in all the world. The food was very good, as was the service. Thanks TA for giving us this unforgettable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    564
    152
    48
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food Excellent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on first visit (opened after 1:00pm)must have been good because we made reservations for dinner! Staff are very friendly and service is excellent without being intrusive. If you can only go there once, highly recommend booking an evening meal- view is incredibly romantic and very nostalgic. For dinner we eat the kid goat in parchment- good but a little dry, lamb stuffed in wine leaves and cheese- yummy fantastic, strofi has a good selection of greek wines, sorry could not recall which bottle we had however it went very well with our meal and it was very reasonably priced. Cost for this factastic view excellent meal lovely wine plus generous tip was $70 euros!!! Highly recommend booking a reservation and viewing their on line site - may help you decide among the many delicious options. Photos provided from previous reviewers due strofis justice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Here4aGoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I should add great service too.

Strofi was recommended to us by the staff of the Intercontinental hotel and my god, did it live up.

Everything was excellent - I am a huge fan of the Yeamista.

The view of the Parthenon in the evening is the icing on the cake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rrohan189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our first restaurant in Greece and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We ate wonderful Greek food, had some nice Greek wines by the glass and a gorgeous view of the Parthenon. The price was very good and the portions are large. A good start to our Greek vacation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST Greek restaurant you will ever dine at!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have visited Athens twice and have eaten at Strofi both times. The wine, the food, the service, and the view are all impeccable! Plus it's very reasonably priced (which is shocking!). Each time I've been escorted upstairs to my table it takes my breath away. The beautiful views of the acropolis and Parthenon lit up at night are indescribable. Make sure you book a table in advance and request the outdoor terrace! (Although indoor tables also offer great views).

The waiter recommended to us the house wine which is made locally in Athens. It is worth it especially at only 10 euros (or less) a liter! Both red and white are great. In terms of the menu, my favorite dishes were the zucchini balls (a MUST order), grilled octopus, and fried feta. Other delicious menu items were the spinach pie, moussaka, and Greek salad (feta and Greek salad are essentials when dining in Greece). We also ordered the fried calamari my second time there and I would suggest you skip it. It's tasty but nothing very special. For dessert we had the baklava and milk pie. I still don't remember what is in the milk pie but you should get it! Both were delicious. And the waiters were kind enough to satisfy my request for a side of vanilla ice cream with the milk pie (honestly, they should add that to the menu...it made it even better!).

The owner, Nico, and the waiters at Strofi are delightful. They are so much fun to joke with and managed to teach us some Greek....efharisto! They took kindly to us Americans and really took care of us during our meal. If I could eat here everyday, I would.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strofi also viewed

 

Been to Strofi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing