We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very few remaining Athenian Restaurant”

Athinaikon Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 3,424 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Syntagma
Description: Τhe new Athinaikon restaurant began to work alongside the little brother of Themistokleous in 2013. It expresses the Greek-Mediterranean cuisine at its best, has reasonable prices and is addressed to a public that looks for authentic flavors from folk and transient fashions. The Athinaikon is an idea that survives time and knows how to transform.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Greeks used to have lunch together in a Restaurant.
With changing habits and the economic crisis lunch is replaced by a sandwich.
Many traditional Restaurants closed and only taverns and tourist places remain.
In spite of that Athinaikon in Mitropoleos at near Syntagma square still goes strong and serves good quality Greek Cooked food plus fish and meat grills.
The inside is comfortable and friendly and food and service are excellent. The house wine is good and a full lunch or dinner should not exceed 30 euros,probably less if one does not chooses the top dishes. It is a place that a lot of Greeks dine.
DVK

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 573dimitrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 494 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

This is very good and inexpensive restaurant. Musaca and stuffed zucchini flowers are really amazing.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeDigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Took a chance based on a local recommendation because as travellers, we would normally select smaller local family based eateries.

From our selection, the waiters assisted with an excellent local wine and I couldn't fault the night. The fresh fruit at the conclusion was a nice touch to clean the palate.

Excellent quality Greek cuisine, food well priced and good service made our last night special.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidcG3752WL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

I usually try avoid places with huge menus as its never really a good sign, however this place served great local food with their own take on certain traditional Greek food. I had the athinaikon souvlaki which was great, however I would say the main thing to come for is the halloumi. Fantastic flavours and a nice setting being near the cathedral and some bars for a few beers after dinner. Would recommend

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge as a decent restaurant where we can find seafood in the menu.
Whoever says whatever, but we had a good time and food. Once we requested seats inside (was very hot outside) at lunch, day after we returned to have a light dinner there, and we were seated outdoor of the back of the restaurant. Back there was very cool and nice.
Seafood was excellent, price was very much affordable, I would say even cheap after we spent more for the same dishes on Mykonos Island.
There was not only one waiter assigned to our table, as we used to see in NYC, still, all of them were very polite and quick. Since we left Athens, the only nice place we had a good meal was at our Myconian Ambassador Hotel on Mykonos, outstanding food, expensive, but outstanding!!!
Almost forgot, the fruit plate at the end of the meal was given as a complementary.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Athinaikon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Athinaikon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.