We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ethnic restaurant”
Review of Altamira - CLOSED

Altamira
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Chinese, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb ethnic restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I love dining at altamira. Their menu is diverse,with options for food from different countries. I usually take the mexican options. I love the burrito and the margaritas. A bit expensive but atmosphere, service and food totally worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“multi cuisine, tasty”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

You go to Altamira and it is as if you go to 3 different restaurants!! You can have an asian plate, an Italian one and an arabic. I loved the multi-tasteful cuisine. The place is very nice decorated, very relaxing. People are helpful and smily. The prices are good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank _189400431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
224 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“My favourite in Athens”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I am never bored to dine at Altamira restaurant (Maroussi). It's always may favourite, all the plates are great and the portions are huge. The interrior and exterior areas are both fantastic. The only disadvantage was the musician in winter, whose songs were irrelevant to the place and the belly dance another day was not relevant too. I prefer it simple with slow ethnic music in the backround. I went again a few days ago and I found out that prices have been lowered, however still it remains expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Despina-Kleanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For something multiethnic”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The ambience at the Maroussi restaurant is superb and so is the food, whether one chooses Arabic, Mexican or whatever. Highly recommended, medium priced.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobertAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rich menu proposal. Friendly service.”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I wonder how they manage to offer on a daily basis such a long list of dishes. whatever we have tried was very tasteful. They used to be quite pricey though. Worth visiting them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Panayiotis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamira also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing