We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique and interesting place”

Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Ladyville
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Caribbean Shrimp Farm is a small sustainably minded shrimp farm located in the heart of beautiful Belize. Surrounded by a privately protected wetland habitat, the farm is the home of the new “Captain Hook’s Shrimp Restaurant & Croc Bar” and ACES Educational Crocodile Eco- Sanctuary.The 266 acre farm offers travelers and locals alike a great diversity of experiences. Educational shrimp farm tours teach you how these tiny crustaceans grow into the delicious shrimp we love to eat.Everybody loves to watch birds and here the amateur and professional birdwatchers alike will be overwhelmed by the abundant variety that you may encounter.Take a walk through time on the Mayan Nature Walk that meanders through the jungle that was once a thriving trading center. Get a first hand look at the local flora and fauna while witnessing the evidence of an ancient culture that litters the walking trail.Enjoy ACES Educational Croc Eco-Sanctuary and be thrilled and amazed by the rescued American and Morelet’s crocodiles. These prehistoric giants are the crocs that are too big and dangerous to be relocated into the wild. Feel the rush of being this close to one of the World’s most deadly apex predators. ACES staff will be happy to educate you on the importance of the preservation of these threatened and protected animals. By participating in this educational tour you are directly contributing to ACES efforts to protect an endangered species.After this much excitement enjoy some of the best food and beverages Belize has to offer at “Captain Hook’s Shrimp Restaurant and Croc Lounge.” Cool off, relax, and experience the freshest shrimp you will ever eat. Caught with a hand thrown net right before your eyes and on the table in minutes. No chemicals, no preservatives, just the best tasting organically raised shrimp you will ever have. And, if you’re feeling adventurous, why not take a free lesson in net casting and catch them yourself.Directions: Head North 1.5 km from the International Airport road junction and turn right on Marge Road (look for the rocket on the corner). Then drive 1.8 km straight down to the gate. Open for tours between 8:00am and 5:00pm daily. Call the Captain at 600-9945 for reservation or more information.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

While I was in Ladyville last time around, Scotty and Michelle had a party at this place. The shrimp are great and cooked in a variety of ways. The atmosphere is rustic but the view is what you are here for anyway! There is a staircase up to the viewing area and the breeze is amazing. 360 degree views of the shrimp farm out to the ocean. It was a great thing to see and do. Go with friends and or a group to make it that much more fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Manager at Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

The view is great here one of my favorite things about the restuarant/bar. Thanks for coming and hope to see you next time your down here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

The tour was great and I appreciated the personal unique experience. I saw the passion in the staff, from the owner to our guide Evan...what a great place to visit and nice people to boot...very real and very natural setting away from the happenings in Belize City. This was a good experience and loved the casual learning Eco-friendly environment. Gators, Crocs, hospitality, what more could you ask for? Food I guess but I visited before the shrimp was served so need to go back next time I am in Belize. The site is near the airport so if you have time before your flight look for the bus, this is a great thing to do with a little extra time...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Manager at Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review, can't wait till we see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I have visited the Croc eco-sanctuary twice and both times thoroughly enjoyed the feel of the environment and the educational experience provided. Both Vince and Evan did an exceptional job of relating the information in a way that was easily comprehended by both my 5 and 7 year old children. Both trips we had an opportunity to see the crocs up close and the 2nd trip included a little birding compliments of Evan our guide and resident WildLife Biologist. The next go round we hope to be able to visit the restaurant and get the education on the shrimp farm aspect as we are about to do a science experiment growing shrimp ourselves. If you are looking to experience some eco-tourism in Belize you definitely can not pass up ACES Croc Sanctuary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Jamila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Manager at Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks Jamila, it was a pleasure having you and your family for the couple of hours in the evening. Can't wait for your next visit!!
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a Cool, Fun, and Adventurous restaurant this place is! We went there for "all you can eat shrimp dinner and let me tell ya, you have never had shrimp this fresh! We sat down and immediately the waitress brought us a huge plate of peel-n-eat shrimp with the best damn cocktail sauce I've ever had. While eating those, the owner, Charlie comes walking in with a big basket of still live shrimp, wacked the heads off and into the vat they went! It just dosen't get any fresher than that! We strolled over to a buffet style setup and had several different kinds of fresh cooked shrimp with a salad and fries. It was Terrific. The restaurant is smack dab in the middle of a real, working shrimp farm surrounded by the huge shrimp lakes and off to a corner, they raise gators there also. Stroll down for a look-see if you have the courage. One of them is over 12'! The view is magnificant and there is a high tower to go up and check out the awesome view. If you are lucky enough, you will run into Charlie the owner and just sit back and listen to his stories. They are off the charts and soooo fun to listen to. Ask him about the Russian Antonov plane...you'll be jaw-dropped.
I recomend this place hands down to any other restaurants in Ladyville, Belize. You'll definatly eat your fill of shrimp!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Manager at Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time Scotty and letting us know how your time was here. Hope to see you again soon!!

Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Ladyville, Belize District
 

Been to Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing