We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belize Zoo Jungle Lodge/Tropical Education Center
Nearby Hotels
Bamboleo Inn(Ladyville)(Great Value!)
$85
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachelor Inn(Belize City)
$57
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Orchid Resort(Burrell Boom)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$202
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
75
16
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
16
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight tourbelize zooscreened in porchone nightfood was greatdining roomjuan carlosdining hallnocturnal tourbig catsa great experiencechickencave tubingshort walkfiltered waterlove this placequeen bed
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 95 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Cave's branch coming from San Pedro. It is not that far from Belize city. The zoo is a great place with special animals, like two harpy eagles (I had never seen one before). The view from the pond house is wonderful, in the morning we saw a few crocs! The pond house was very warm, but this is the tropics so heat is to be expected. The night tour was great! The food was good too, as all reviews say. There was just one down side our room was infested with roaches and one big scorpion. Our girls were screaming their lungs out and couldn't sleep any more. The staff was helpful in trying to get rid of them but I guess there were just too many. Too bad because everything else was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvdV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We were the only one staying overnight, payed for the dorm and got a cabana! No bathroom in the cabana, a good and clean building (hot showers!) on 30 m. Dinner and breakfast were ok, good value but nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in between at our stay at San Ignacio and San Pedro. We had stayed in San Ignacio for 3 nights and on our last day there we knew we had wanted to explore the Mountain Pine Region so we knew we didn't want to be rushed in order to be able to make it to San Pedro that night but didn't want to go all the way back to San Ignacio either, so after searching online for different options we stumbled across the Belize Zoo Jungle Lodge. We thought it might be a bit cheesy to stay at the zoo, until we realized you could also do a night tour of the zoo. After we saw that, we immediately knew we had to stay here and we were so glad we did.

We got to the lodge around 4:30 pm and were able to relax a bit before dinner was served. We had booked the pond house overlooking the crocodile pond, but unfortunately the water was too low for the crocodiles but the cabana was still very nice and we were able to see some other wildlife from the porch. Dinner was nice. We were served beef, rice and beans, plantains, and desert. After dinner we were driven to the zoo for our nocturnal tour.

The tour was amazing. The zoo itself is suprisingly very large and we loved that the animals here are all here because of some circumstance that would likely prevent them from surviving in the wild whether it's because they have poor eyesight or were abandoned by their mother or an albino animal that wouldn't be able to blend into the enviornment. Our guide George was awesome. We got to feed some vegetables to a tapir (the national animal) and see lots of different and unique animals you don't get to see anywhere else. The animals we got to see were all very active, something you wouldn't get to see in the daytime. George told us a lot of each of the animals, how each one came to be at the zoo and facts about their species. My husband and I were the only ones of the tour that night so it was an amazing experience. We also went back to the zoo in the morning to see some of the other animals that were asleep and that was great as well.

The lodge is a great value for everything you get: a room, dinner and breakfast as well as the opportunity to do the nocturnal tour. So glad we stumbled across this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nickelp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I decided to spend the first night of our 15 day trip throughout Belize at the zoo! First of all, because I knew it was a "rescue" zoo, meaning the animals we were going to see could not live in the wild anymore and second of all because we were flying all night and driving only 30 miles the first day of our arrival sounded good.I had booked the pond house because I wanted to see the crocodiles but it was not going to be since it was the end of the dry season and the water was too low. It was still a wonderful experience since we were the only ones staying on the property where we saw our first gigantic Iguana and where we ate a typical Belizian dinner( stewed chicken, rice, beans and coleslaw), typical breakfast ( flour tortilla, beans, cheese, sausage and eggs), and of course where we saw beautiful wild animals walking in the zoo at night with a guide who was feeding chicken to ocelots, mountain lions, jaguars, and the highlight of our walk, feeding carrots to a very gentle and amazing tapir!We got to relax in a very comfortable cabana, watched the wild life from our balcony, had 2 tasty meals, did a nocturnal walk through the zoo , for a total cost of $120.00! It was money well spent and my husband and I were happy to give this very worthwhile organization ( saving injured animals) our money. The zoo itself is huge and very lush; even if you don't want to spend the night there, try to find the time to go and visit; it costs $7.50 (US) to get in , you will have fun and you will help keep the zoo going.

Room Tip: The fih pond has a fridge , microwave and coffee pot as well as fresh water in the fridge
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelyne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My sister insisted that we spend a night at the zoo while we were in Belize. I thought the idea was a bit schmaltzy at first, especially when she said we also HAD to do the night safari as well.

The Pond House overlooking the murky pond filled with crocs was surreal. The trees surrounding the cabana practically vibrated with bird sound. Staying there was the perfect immersion into the Belize jungle at night. (Thanks, Sis!).

From Belize City the public bus takes less than 40 minutes from the station (request zoo stop from the driver), and costs $3BZ for two. There is a big crush to get on the bus as it only leaves once an hour, so, be aggressive!

The Pond House is a grand retreat. It provides two Queen beds, mosquito nets, filtered water, coffee maker (and coffee and powdered creamer, and tea bags), fridge and private ensuite. There are hot, high pressure showers (soaps, towels and insect repellant provided). The lights occasionally dim due to the generators, and there are ceiling fans in the rooms (I was reaching for another blanket instead).

The Tropical Education Centre (a 3 minute walk from the Pond House) provides a wi-fi connection, observation deck and several displays highlighting local flora and fauna via specimens in formaldehyde, bird i.d. guides, skulls and skins. Downstairs dinner and breakfast are served at private tables (beer for purchase at $3BZ). Both meals are included in the price. The overall pricetag (one night accommodation, dinner and breakfast for two and night safari) was $225BZ.

Dinner is a satiating plate of fried chicken, rice & beans, sweet plantain and slaw. Breakfast (from 7-10 am) is a buffet of scrambled eggs, fry-jacks, waffles, watermelon and coffee or tea. Outstanding value.

We saw remarkable birds (wild chacalacas and green parrots), coatimundis, fed the tapirs and were charmed by the intimacy and exotic thrill of the night tour. Our group of 5 experienced the howler monkeys at full throttle and were able to witness all the big cats, Harpy eagle and Spectacled Owl on the prowl. (Bring headlamp or flashlight).

This is a genuine Belize experience that I, like my sister, now insist upon as well.

Room Tip: There are other options with shared bathrooms, but, having the sanctuary of the Pond House and the privacy of a screened porch overlooking the pond and private boardwalk was awesome.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtorti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews