We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baidyanath Jyotirlinga, Deogarh”

Baba Baidyanath Temple
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Deoghar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rajpura, India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Baidyanath Jyotirlinga, Deogarh”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Baidyanath Jyotirlinga temple, also known as Baba dham and Baidyanath dham is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas, the most sacred abodes of Shiva is located in Deoghar Jharkhand, India. It is a temple complex consisting of the main temple of Baba Baidyanath, where the Jyotirlinga is installed and the temple of Maa Parvati and Ganesha.It's your spiritual faith that brings you here for the darshan and blessings of Lord Shiva (Baba Baidyanath Dham)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Yogesh2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    43
    25
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
537 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,251 helpful votes
“Jyotirlinga”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Baidyanath Jyotirlinga temple, (Baidyanath dham) is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas. It is the most sacred abodes of Lord Shiva. This temple is located in Deoghar, in Jharkhand State, India. There is the main temple of Baba Baidyanath, where the Jyotirlinga is installed, and 21 other temples of most of the Hindu Gods.

It is said that Kind of Lanka- Ravana- worshipped Lord Shiva here and he offered his ten heads one after the another as a sacrifice. Pleased with this, Lord Shiva came to earth and cured the injured Ravana. Therefore, Lord Shiva here referred to as Vaidhya ("doctor") and the temple has been named as 'Vaidyanath'.

Deoghar is also a popular health resort. For centuries, devotees of Lord Shiva, in the month of Shravan. undertake pilgrimage on foot to offer Holy Ganga Water to Baba Baidyanath.

Best Season to come here is from October to February. Places of other nearby tourist interest
are Nandan Hills, Nav Durga Temple, Mahadeo Falls, Tapovan, Trikut Hills, Pagala Baba Temple, Ramkrishna Mission Ashram, and Arogyaa Bhavan.

One can reach there by Air- Patna airport is 281 km. Nearest railway stations is Jasidih Rail Junction (15 km). All budget hotels and guest houses are available for stay, and food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank RajnishPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asansol, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unforgettable trip to Babadham yatra by walk 108 kms.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was there during the month of June 2013 the lot of crowed was there due to SAWAN.We started from Sultangunj at 11pm and we worship to the GANGA .WE were walk by feet without sandal and we covered the distance in four days.This was very pleasent and peacefull tour ,every where was croweded .The management from the Jharkhand Government has done the great job.When we reached the tample we felt like we are in haven.This place is really made for lord SHIVA followers.I am going to visit next year again with my all best friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank RAJESH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“good crowd management”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visited the Baidynath Temple recently just the day after Rakhi Purinima. I had the impression that since the month of :shravan" was over, the temple would be less crowded. But it seems the crowd continues thru the month of "Bhadra" as well. There were lots and lots of people in the queue that day too and we were in the queue for about 3 hours but the queue was pretty organized. There were a lot of police presence to manage the crowd. The temple management did a very good job of keeping the inside for the temple cool using air coolers - even with so much crowd, the actual darshan and puja near the Shiv ling was hassle free. We also learned that the entry inside the temple during Shravan month is very limited. Because of such huge crowds, it seems that no one is allowed to touch the Shiv ling during that time. The day we went was the first day that such restriction was removed and we were able to touch the ling. It may not be important to everyone visiting the temple but was quite important to me. We came back to the temple in the evening and saw that there was almost no queue compared to what it was in the morning. So it might be a good idea to visit the temple early - it took us about 15-20 minutes to complete the darshan in the evening. Overall had a very good experience considering how crowded it was. I dont think pandas are necessary - I think they are more of a hassle. Although we had taken a panda (the hotel we stayed in had arranged it) this time, the next time I would just go by myself.
I would however advise family with small children to visit the temple without their children specially if they plan their visit during the peak times. It would be a torture for the little children to wait in the queue for so long and would be a hassle for the adults as well to manage them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank chak1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a spiritual journey(2013) !!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

i was there during the holy month of "sawan"... people people and people everywhere... but the authorities were doing a great job in controlling the rush... !!
Avoid coming here if you are looking for peace..(at-least inside the temple premises), but yea.. if you are a shiva-bhakta, you don't need to look for reviews on TripAdvisor.. !! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Anand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba Baidyanath Temple also viewed

Deoghar, Deoghar District
Deoghar, Deoghar District
 
Deoghar, Deoghar District
Deoghar, Deoghar District
 

Been to Baba Baidyanath Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing