We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid all Hotels in this chain”
Review of Le Chene Vert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Chene Vert
Allonne, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid all Hotels in this chain”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel rates as one of the very worst I have ever stayed in. In previous reviews it was noted by guests that the bathroom in one of the triple rooms was unusable as the bath had no plug and the shower didn't have a socket to attach it to above the bath that would make it useable. Nothing has changed there. They either do not read their reviews or they do not care.

The room was decrepit, shabby and dreary with old, damaged paintwork and tired, drab decor. It would be put to shame by most prison cells and was probably in dire need of redecoration some 30 years ago. As one leaves the main hotel to reach the annex where the room is located, one passes over a threshold where many tiles are cracked smashed or absent. One is greeted on reaching the annex by an overwhelming stench of raw sewage.

The staff, and they are numerous, all wander around in black suits more appropriate in a 5 star hotel than in this hideous backwater slum. When these 'minor' defects were pointed out to the be-suited staff member who manned the reception, she simply stated that there was no point in talking to her as 'she was just employed there'. The staggering indifference of the staff was only matched by their impressive lack of proper training.

Don't eat in the restaurant. The first clue is given when you are asked to choose your desert at the same time as your entree and main course. They ask because the 'chef' needs to have adequate time to defrost your desert which is, of course, still ice-cold and tasteless when the unfortunate moment arrives when you encounter it later on in the meal.

The advantage of knowing that this establishment forms part of a chain lies in realisation that there are a number of other ‘hotels’ one can usefully avoid.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy49650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    30
    18
    18
See reviews for
35
56
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands (Europe)
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think it’s a shame that the traditional French hotels are disappearing in favor of the modern chain hotels. This hotel is good example of how a traditional hotel should be: pleasant, full of character and a lot of attention to the restaurant. It’s in a nice town and the old Route Nationale 9 passes right in front. Ample parking across the street, but even better is the private car park. There’s also a pub in the hotel, so a room in the front might possibly be noisy.

We stayed two nights in the annexe building at the back, where it was very quiet. Our room was smallish and not very new. The bed was OK, so was the bathroom (shower only). Breakfast was OK too. Room and breakfast were reasonably priced. The main event off course was having dinner here, in the very good restaurant with different menus and friendly and efficient staff. We enjoyed dinner with a nice local Saint-Pourçain red wine. If you need to stay in this area, take this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the triple rooms which where at the rear of the hotel and excellent value. The rooms were large beds good and quiet at night, down side was the rooms were a bit grubby although clean, the shower had nowhere to hook the shower onto so had to hold it up over to have a shower, bizarrely there was no plug in the bath if you wanted a bath instead. The rooms could do with a makeover. One of the positives, the food in the hotel is excellent with reasonably priced set meals and specials. The homemade burgers where amazing and great value. The hotel staff were all very polite, though none spoke any English so brush-up on your french!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banditman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I feel mildly guilty only giving this place a three, but then it was average in so many ways. Perhaps had the staff been just a little more welcoming, they might have scraped in a four. On the plus side: good location as a stopover in central France, secure parking, spotlessly clean. Downside: Once or twice I wondered ifthey were the customer and not me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeway_Doggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Pourcain Sur Sioule
Ibis Budget Saint Pourcain Sur S...
#1 of 3 in Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule
142 reviews
5.1 mi away
Auberge de l'Orisse
Auberge de l'Orisse
#1 of 1 in Varennes-sur-Allier
147 reviews
16.5 mi away
Auberge Du Moulin Marin
Auberge Du Moulin Marin
#1 of 2 in Lapalisse
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Campanile Moulins - Avermes
15.8 mi away
Hostellerie du Centrotel et Spa
17.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galland
Hotel Restaurant Galland
#2 of 2 in Lapalisse
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Vert

Property: Le Chene Vert
Address: 35 boulevard Ledru Rollin, 03500 Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chene Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Chene Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing