We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good food restaurant !”
Review of J.D.Young

J.D.Young
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
J.D.Young
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harleston
dors
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good food restaurant !”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in this area for a week, and used the restaurant here twice. On both occasions the food was very good. Nice menu choice and good portion size. Would definitely recommend restaurant if you are in that area.
Would also add how nice and friendly the staff were as well, which rarely gets mentioned!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wafarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
32
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed one night as part of a cycling holiday. Had no complaints about the room or furnishings. Good sized room, big flat screen TV and plenty of tea and coffee. The bed was very comfortable and everywhere seemed very clean.
The food seemed to be highly rated and the restaurant was very busy. However, we fancied an Indian meal so went the restaurant 200m down the road which was very good.
The main problem is that this is a typical coaching hotel and is built right in the middle of town where all the roads meet. At night, the local youths use the town as a racetrack with very noisy cars and motorbikes going round the town until very late. The windows are all single glazed so there was no soundproofing at all. Can't blame the hotel for the Police not clamping down on boy racers, but something could be done to insulate the windows, even if it is Listed. Take some earplugs if you are light sleepers. On checking in, I asked if the room was a quiet one and was told 'quietish'. They obviously know there is a problem.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a quiet room in advance. Not sure they have any, but ask anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MungoShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was my second one night stay at this hotel.

got the room for £60 including breakfast in a double at single occupancy rate. had a really nice room overlooking the small town square. Everything fine with the room (flat screen TV, good tea and coffee etc. nice big and bright bathroom) check in and out was efficient and very friendly. last time i ate out in a nearby Indian (which was also pretty good) but this time decided to try the food at the hotel. Had a drink in the bar first which was nice and busty for a Monday night. Went through to eat and again surprised at how full it was for a Monday.

Food was really good and pretty good value. Would eat here again if staying at the hotel.

Breakfast was OK but a little slow and my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs included a small piece of smoked and the rest was poached salmon pieces. OK but not really as advertised.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on our way through. Very good service and the food was superb! Especially recommend the fish & chips!! Also we found it quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr Fereday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

we came in on a sunday morning, desperate for a good breakfast (you know how it is). We had been to a few establishments near by that could/would not give us a table and on a whim decided to go into the JD Youngs. We are local and only really know of it as a drinkers place so it was a last resort.
Should have been our first choice!
We got a great welcome despite having two children (which can put places off), We decided to sit in the actual restaurant not the bar area so our kids didn't interrupt people. I have to say the only negative is the restaurant area, it's a bit oppressive in it's decor). We got great service and THE FOOD was brilliant. A breakfast can be greasy and tasteless, but all of the ingredients were tasty and well cooked. It was far superior to the local farm shop we have eaten breakfast at before (whose ingredients are far more expensive but cooked to a shocking standard).
Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Had a few nights here at Christmas. We'd dined here previously, so knew the food was good. There's a bar, with separate restaurant / comfy sofas at the other side. The food is varied and very good throughout the menu.

The good-sized room was very comfortable, with everything you need in there, including a large bed. If there was a downside, it was the dated, but clean bathroom, which was just about functional, but no more. Given the stays aren't exactly cheap, this really needs addressing.

As our room was at end of the building, there was minimal noise from the busy downstairs. And though we were on the 'main street', we weren't bothered by excess traffic either.

There is a separate entrance for guests, with a part-time reception - there's not enough trade for someone to be on hand 24/7. But, the very pleasant staff are easy enough to find if you need something.

The place in general is vibrant, with a good mix of customers, and despite it being in a 'village', there were no 'idiots' to spoil things.

We chose this place due to its location for where we wanted to be, and will likely return at some point, as there's no need looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 'one' has to be one of the quietest, easy access as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here a few times on business so then decided to go for a 1 night stay to see some friends who live close by, was amazed they even take dogs!! so we took ours along and it was a great stay.
Nice rooms, good food, nice drinking place and can take the 4 legged friend along!! what more can you ask.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lol068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harleston
6.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harleston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.D.Young? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.D.Young

Property: J.D.Young
Address: 2-4 Market Place, Harleston IP20 9AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Harleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J.D.Young 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the market town of Harleston, in the idyllic surroundings of the Norfolk and Suffolk borders, this 15th century coaching inn offers comfortable, modern en suite accommodation.Steeped in history, the hotel was restored in 1999 to a very high standard. All rooms are attractively decorated, well equipped and en suite, with an ambience of comfort and relaxation. Each attractive room is individually decorated and furnished, with its own unique charm and atmosphere. Breakfast is included in all of the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your J.D.Young reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J.D.Young Harleston, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing