We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but very handy. Comfortable enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phanyro Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Phanyro Guest House
Ranked #4 of 14 Sen Monorom B&B and Inns
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
608 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Simple but very handy. Comfortable enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I ended up staing there on the advice of the owner of the Gecko bar nearby and never regretted it. All the bungalows offer the right amenities (hot shower not the least one) and they are cleaned everyday. The staff have very little English but enough to get by. Very good value for money although you may hear your neighbour's TV if he/she is a little hard of hearing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
28
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I really am the last one to complain about anything, for the first night, this place was ok. Rows of simple, small rooms with attached bathrooms. Fair price and pretty clean, we thought nothing could go wrong here. we could hear music from a distant place but that was all. We were out most the next day, returning in the afternoon. we found a party tent installed next door - stacks of speakers right against our wall. They cranked the speakers at about 4 and the party was on till almost midnight. We desperately tried to get some sleep as we were exhausted so when the music stopped - Bliss, we thought this was it - then, music starts again at 4 AM. We were supposed to stay in another couple of nights out but it was just all too much volium out of the worst kind of speakers ! I only wish you would inform people next time there's a party - As we came here to get some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fetien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sen Monorom hotels

Solothurn, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had spent 3 nights at this clean, simple and quiet guesthouse. Because we reserved one day in advance, we had a special discount and paid $ 12 per night for two beds and own bathroom. From what we had heard from other travellers, this must be the best choice in town. The owner speaks very good english and cooperates with pat guecko bar, just around the corner.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivanis-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed here during the Water Festival, and was charged double for my bungalow, although it still wasn’t much. The location is slightly outside the main town, which was a bit difficult as there is no way of getting food or drink at the hotel. Having said that, the bungalows are very pleasant, and the setting of the hotel is very peaceful. In addition, the staff made a huge effort to look after me and sort out transport and trips, which was pretty hard when travelling on your own during a busy festival period. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacMul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, Wilts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We arrived in Sen Monorom from the bank of the Mekong and immediately noticed the cooler temperature. The Phanyro Guesthouse was our destination and we were delighted to see a grand selection of newly built lodges. Inside ours was a large bedroom with comfortable beds and some basic furniture and a bathroom with toilet, wet floor shower and hand basin. All very clean. They have no restaurant in the guesthouse so we made our way to the high street and The Green House for drinks and a meal. These two places turned out to be a good combination for the three days we were there. We had one day and night with the elephant conservancy project that we thoroughly enjoyed. Another day we spent going to the large waterfall , coffee plantation and to a mountain top for a big panorama. We had a memorable evening with Tania at her place called Banana just down the road, tucked away behind a wild frontage. There was nothing wild about her cooking, it was great, and she kept us entertained with her stories over drinks. At the end of the stay our bill was very reasonable, enough to make us smile.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our host in Krachie kind of "forced" us to have a look at this place (I guess it was his cousin or so...), so our transport stopped right in front of it. So first we were a little sceptic. BUT: This is a really nice place, almost never had a cleaner one on our whole trip through South-East-Asia with such a good price.

The friendly owner speaks good english and was very helpful organising a motorbike and different kinds of trips. You can even do a hike to the province of Randulkiri - 3 days through the jungle with a guide. Definitely worth it!

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirschkuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

After a night in a dilapidated guesthouse, we were delighted to find Phanyro and even happier to get a room during the very busy River Festival holiday. The room was clean and spacious, with a TV, towels, blankets and complimentary drinking water. Even better, the bathroom had warm water, which cannot always be assumed in Cambodian guesthouses.

The bungalows were set in a nicely landscaped area, and the main road of Sen Monorom was a five minute walk away, useful for food and evening beers. The location was quiet with natural views across a valley from the back our our bungalow. The owner spoke good English and was very keen to emphasise that if we had any problems, we should let him know. However, we didn't have any problems during our stay and have since recommended this place to quite a few friends.

While we were staying (River Festival holiday), this place was very popular with Khmer families, which makes a nice change from backpacker central. Sometimes even backpackers like to get away from it all! May not be the best choice if you are on your own, but perfect for couples or groups of friends.

Take a torch if you are going to return at night, as the road from Sen Monorom's main street is a little dark - it's the countryside!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sen Monorom hotels
0.7 mi away
Happy Elephant Bungalows
Happy Elephant Bungalows
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mayura Hill Resort
Mayura Hill Resort
#1 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nature Lodge
Nature Lodge
#2 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Indigenous People Lodge
Indigenous People Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
#2 of 8 in Sen Monorom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phanyro Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phanyro Guest House

Property: Phanyro Guest House
Address: Kandal Village | Spean Meanchey commune, Sen Monorom 11202, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Mondulkiri Province > Sen Monorom
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sen Monorom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House with free wifi, TV, and hot water available. Nice staff, drinking water, fresh towels, blankets, toilet paper and tissue paper. Laundry service and washing machine available. Safe environment and relaxing garden. Motor bike and car rentals, also day tours, over night tours, Jungle Trekking, and elephant tours available. Tuk tuk and motorbike site seeing tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Phanyro Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing