We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly neglected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nature Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slightly neglected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at Natures Lodge. A very nice setting and a great concept. Like most things in Cambodia it must of been great when it first opened but now is starting to look a bit shaby due to lack of maintainance. The pick up in town offered on their website is non existent. The staff just say that it is not available or out of order. We heard this excuse made to a number of patrons.
The rooms though rustic were comfortable enough. Like I mentioned already they lack a bit of maintainance. They are a bit pricey for what you get. Having lived in Phnom Penh for 3.5 years we did not mind the wind blowing through the floor boards and welcomed being "cold" in Cambodia for the first time. I agree with the other posts in that the food at the restaurant is a bit pricey and "fair" when it comes to taste.
Looking at the prices for tours etc. we just winged it ourselves and had a great time. I must say that we were on our own motor bike so this was made easier.
We paid $5 for the two of us for an elephant ride at Monorom Falls. This was for around 20 mins which sure beats the $38 a person that was being charged. To be quite honest 20 mins was more than enough as they are quite uncomfortable.
Like the one reviewer says I really am trying to like the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveNats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    123
    50
    24
    14
See reviews for
36
137
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were slightly reluctant to stay here after a bad experience at an out-of-town hotel in Chau Doc but we were glad we chose here. Nature Lodge is 2km outside of Senmonorom but, as Senmonorom is pretty small with few places to eat/drink, that was fine with us. The moto taxi ride there is quite exciting with a narrow wooden bridge to cross and plenty of tight corners to skid around.

The staff were incredibly polite and attentive on greeting us and indeed, throughout our stay. They were more than happy to arrange motos for us despite not actually going on the hotel's tours and a bus back to Phnom Penh. Several of the staff spoke excellent English.

We stayed in a basic double room which was a log cabin on stilts, it had a powerful and, quite unbelievably, hot shower which was a delight after a long day at Elephant Valley Project. We also had a picnic table outside and it was great falling asleep to the sound of the countryside rather than horns.

As the hotel is out of town, we ate here on both nights we stayed and the food was good if ever so slightly overpriced. My girlfriend had the curry on the first night and thoroughly enjoyed it, it probably could've fed a family of 4!

There is also a pleasant nature trail walk around the perimeter of the resort which one of the huge, friendly dogs happily led us around. There were arrows to follow when he bounded too far ahead but it was a nice relaxing way to spend half an hour or so.

All in all, the Nature Lodge is perfect if you want a night or two away from the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh or Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungSmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Nature Lodge, which is located about 10 minutes out of Sen Monorom by moto. The place is beautiful, the view is great and the sky is absolutely amazing at night. It is quiet... but maybe too quiet : it's quite complicated to get out of there at night if you want to go in town (and even more difficult to come back!). As the other reviewers said, the food is expensive and you often find yourself stuck to eat there because there is no other easy option. My personnal favorite for the food was Greenhouse, in town. Their food was absolutely delicious and really unexpensive.

At Nature Logde I also asked for information about the tours that were offered and I found that the staff wasn't really helpful. As I was travelling by myself, many options were not possible because no one else wanted to join. Also, Nature Lodge doesn't organize anything with the Elephant Valley Project, which was a great deception... I ended up just taking a motorbike tour with them and I went to Greenhouse to organize my visit to the Elephant Valley Project (which was amazing!). I also visited a Bunong village through the organism Middle of Somewhere, which I highly recommend.

About the bungalows in Nature Lodge, it was really rustic but okay. There were gaps in the floorboards and it was really windy while I was there, so it was a bit cold at night. There was a mosquitoe net but it had many holes. There was a shower with hot water, but it was draining directly onto the ground outside which is not really ecolodgical in my opinion. Also, the bungalow I was in was separated in two rooms and my neighbour was really noisy. I could hear everything as if we were in the same room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estefania1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a fantastic trip to Modulkiri. Nature lodge is really a nice place. The hut was cosy and clean. The restaurant nice with very freindly staff, good food and awesome Modulkiri coffee! It was also nice with both horses and cattle walking around in the area. It would be nic to have the opportunity to have a trip on horse back.
We vent also for a trip in the jungle staying two nights outdoor and that was a very good experience too. We had a guide, an elephant and a mahoot with us on the trip and they vere both very nice persons. The guide, Sumnang, was very nice and told us alot about Cambodia. He and the mahoot made also very nice food. Have you ever had pancake with nutelle for breakfast in the jungle?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rifflone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a twin bungalow, paying $10pp each night, and really enjoyed our stay.

Accommodation is rustic, in similar style to the new-style Cambodian houses: detached wooden houses, raised on stilts. Good mosquito nets, and ensuite western toilet and shower, which drains onto the ground outside. Accommodation is not sealed (i.e. it is a wooden hut with a roof, and there are gaps in the floorboards), but is waterproof! Was a fun experience.

Food in the restaurant was great - really good breakfasts and dinner.

Location is $1 moto (5-10 mins) from centre of Sen Monorom, about a 30 minute walk. Does restrict you in the evenings if you don't want to spend the money or expend the energy, but we were happy with the pool table and restaurant.

This is not a budget alternative to a hostel - you are paying slightly more for the location, and it is not in town, but for $10 a night, it is great value for what it is - an opportunity to feel like you are staying in rural Cambodia.

Lost a star because we didn't get our $10 key deposit back (we didn't ask...)

ps - Greenhouse Restaurant organised us a great moto tour around the area, and we loved the Elephant Valley Project

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonalTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Nature Lodge for 4 nights awaiting for our visit to the Elephant Valley Project. We arrived quite late after a grueling 10 hour bus ride from Phnom Penh and they didn't even offer us a glass of water. The cabins are quite rustic, which at first glance is charming and different, but then when there isn't even a breeze to cool off, and no fan for circulation, they get really hot. When taking a shower the whole bathroom gets flooded and you need to wait for the water to seep out before you can get back in. For a place that is called an "eco lodge" not having any drainage to collect grey water and instead letting it seep into the ground below, in my opinion is not good for the environment. The staff doesn't seem interested in helping you with tours, except for their overpriced elephant tour (go to the Elephant Sanctuary Project instead!). Since you are quite a bit from town you find yourself eating there all the time, and with the prices being quite high and the quality mediocre at best, I believe you would get better value for money in a place in town.
Only good thing is that you get to see clear skies and are somewhat away from the noise of the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gluckrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nature Lodge is in a beautiful location and the accommodation and restaurant all look great, but there we're a few minor things that made me feel slightly cheated.
Because of its remote location your stuck with restaurant if you want basic meals like breakfast or dinner (especially after a day of elephant riding and trekking). The food is mediocre and pretty over priced for this part of Cambodia and as the base room price for 2 is $15, it's very easy to overspend, especially if your a budget traveller like ourselves. The rooms look wonderful but are basic, hot water shower, but no fan... The rooms don't appear to be sealed and the spaces between the floorboards mean there is a constant draft at night and your constantly loosing small things like iPods, jewellery through them. The draft is particularly pronounced when windy, which is often, and akin to sleeping in a tent.
The elephant friendly trek at £38, two person minimum, is not cheap and involved a 45 min ride on an elephant to a river, where we spent 4 hours doing basically nothing and then another 45 min ride back to the bus. The scenery and animals were amazing but the lack of activity once we reached the river was disappointing... If you do this trek... Bring a book!
We had to pay a $10 key deposit which the staff forgot (as did we) to return to us upon leaving.
My overall experience is edging on the side of positive, I really wanted to love this place, but the mixture of basic facilities/food and inflated costs made it difficult.

Room Tip: See if there are sealed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelertt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sen Monorom hotels
1.7 mi away
Mayura Hill Resort
Mayura Hill Resort
#1 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigenous People Lodge
Indigenous People Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Happy Elephant Bungalows
Happy Elephant Bungalows
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
#2 of 8 in Sen Monorom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phanyro Guest House
Phanyro Guest House
#4 of 14 in Sen Monorom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge

Property: Nature Lodge
Address: Comka Tai village, Sen Monorom 11202, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Mondulkiri Province > Sen Monorom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sen Monorom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Lodge is a budget bungalow resort, located on a hill slope overlooking Sen Monoron town, Mondulkiri province, in the northeastern part of Cambodia. We are an eco-friendly, social enterprise with a passion for the Cambodian nature and the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing