We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location at low price”
Review of Nature Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location at low price”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing that compares to this place and price. Have dinner in a tree, at a table or the asiatic way.
Enjoy the nice simple style cabins. A little chaotic indeed, but go with the flow and you'll be all right.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    123
    51
    25
    14
See reviews for
36
139
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location can either be terrible or fantastic depending on what you are looking for. It is a nature getaway, child friendly, and western orientated. It is quite far away from the town center so a 5 minute moto ride is needed. the "bridge" is very narrow so for anything bigger than a moto, you'll need to make a detour. Also, there are cows and horses on the property.

The staff is very friendly and does its best to serve you right. We only had one breakfast
Misunderstood and it was chaos one night when it seemed like every customer came in at the same time for dinner. We patiently waited for the rush to clear and had nothing to complain about.
The food was good without being exceptional. The menu is a bit limited and very westernly orientated (expats families seem like their core business)
You can also ask all the questions you want around treks, activities, tours, bus tickets etc... Note that they work with Rith mony bus company (with whom we had a trouble-free trip back to PP)

The bungalows are very interesting. Mosquito nets are there to protect you. The bungalows are built with wood and are close to a traditional Khmer house in the sense that you are not isolated from your environment, so wind rushes through making it unnecessary for fans or A/C to be set in the room (and there are none anyway). The bathroom is either attached and directly accessible from your bungalow (recent ones) or they are just at the back (older ones) and roof-less in part. The shower has an OK flow and can deliver good hot water that we particularly enjoyed very much after a 2-day elephant trekking. They offer storage of your luggage free of charge if you do an overnight trek in between two stays

Room Tip: A7 is ensuite compared to A3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have just returned today from staying at Nature Lodge. I feel somewhat frustrated by my experience there and think that other fellow travellers should be aware of some of these experiences before spending their money unwisely.

At first the lodge feels very inviting with lots of character and atmosphere ... until you start to ask the various staff for various information. I live in Phnom Penh and this was my first visit to Mondulkiri.

I had made my reservation by email well before hand and had asked the owner (co-owner she told me later) by email in advance, if I should pre-book a tour or wait till I get there.Her reply was that there were various options available and to book a tour when I arrive. As I was travelling alone it appears that this is a real problem to this organisation at Nature Lodge. I tried very hard for two nights and days to book a trekking day tour, even (stupidly) offering to pay more if the guide needed to go with me on my own. The answers continued to be confusing like "no not possible.. then, ...yes.. then...no .. not possible only one person..or .. we know someone who can drop you off and you can take a walk on your own!!!!" How can a person/woman new to the area wanting to go on a day trek possibly find their way throught the forest and jungle safely? Bizarre answer to my request for a day trek. There was no attempt to suggest any other options elsewhere to help satisfy THEIR customer. In the end feeling very let down I searched out other organisations and found Green House who were extremely helpful from the outset. They were clear about solo options and tours and did their best to help find a solution to my request (within 3 hours). The also said that the customer can pay at the end of the tour and pay the amount in relation to how happy or satisfied they may be. This is unlike Nature Lodge who are very keen to take your money for everything either before you go or as soon as you have taken your last mouthful of every meal. One gets the feeling they think you are going to run away or that they are money hungry and that is all that matters to them over and above excellent customer service. I had a great day trek with Green House tours who are located in town and could say it was one of the best days I have ever had in 18 months living in Cambodia.

Prior to this I had bought a day moto tour with Nature Lodge who provide you with a very ordinary moto driver. This tour for one day cost $20, a total rip off compared to the day walking trek with Green House for the same price, who provided an intelligent knowledgeable guide as well as excellent food . Basically the moto driver from Nature Lodge, was as uneducated and uninspiring as many of the moto drivers you may pick up in Phnom Penh on the Riverside and seemed to be interested in his money and female company for a thrill. The elephant tour for one day through Nature Lodge was also ordinary and cost $35 for one person on an elephant.. this tour was guided by a young boy and his "mates" and felt like a school day out with the 5 or 6 young boys the "guide" had tagging along. The elephants however were great!

Over all the service at Nature Lodge is very average and frustrating. The food can take a long time to arrive sometimes, especially at breakfast time and can often be different from what you ordered. This is because the waitresses know little or no English and only catch half a word of what you order unless you point to a number on the menu.

The rooms are nice and clean but cold and drafty. You do need extra warm night wear or have to ask for some extra blankets if you want to be warm.

If you want to spend a lot of money for average service and commodoties then go to Nature Lodge. Always have money in your pocket because they want it on the spot for everything!

Mondulkiri is a great place but think about comparing services and quality before giving all your money to this organisation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissiemclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naturelodge, Manager at Nature Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear C.
It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us.
All customer experience is very important to us
However, as you we feel that you have made many accusations here. You obviously failed to read some of our guest info or misunderstood us. We would like the chance respond to respond to a few points in your review.

1) You seem to be frustrated as we could not arrange your second tour :

You are aware that you have checked in as a single traveler.
Certains tours require at least 2 or more person to organize. This is clearly stated on our web site and information sheets and our staff was very clear to inform you that.
We have all been friendly and helpful to you.
I have spoken with you myself and suggested that you try to find a group with other agencies.
It’s extremely unfair that you have stated otherwise in your review.

We have managed to find group for you to join for the first tour.
We have asked for your feedback after the tour and you said that you had a great day.
You didn’t not mention your guide’s performance like you do here. You are clearly adding this on in order to accent your points.

You have not mentioned that you joined a group of 5 on your second trek - therefore managed to get a low tour rate.

2) Regarding your moto tour complaint :
Your sightseeing tour was not arranged by Nature Lodge and we are not responsible. you have asked us to call a moto for the day and we have helped you as a free service. You could head

3) Your accusations about pricing and payment :
We have always let guests pay at the end of their stay. We currently changed our policy and we respectfully ask guests to pay once daily. You can do this at any time of day. We’re not sure why this seems to cause annoyance on your behalf.

You are claiming that you could pay for your tour according to your satisfaction :
This is UNTRUE. When booking a tour ( anywhere ) we have to make the following payments 1) Village contribution 2) mahout and elephant 3) guide’s fees 4) meals and water 5) transport by bike or car 6) Tourist police

We all want guest satisfaction, but payments have to be made regardless.

4) You have called us “expensive”.
This is really unfair, you should have written expensive for me or, out of my budget.
We have travelled wide within Cambodia - Nature Lodge is a natural and an eco friendly retreat on 6 hectares of gardens and woods . Yet it is half the price of other country eco lodges or bungalow accommodation. With cabins with a view for as low as $ 10, you can not call it expensive.

Food rates in Mondulkiri are a little higher then elsewhere due to the transportation costs.
Any old guidebook entry mentions this, you obviously haven’t read them. Please do not blame us of “snatching your money” - We are not responsible for this and we can not change the fact that it is a remote destination.

We usually have excellent tour feedback and our tours costs the same as elsewhere.
If an agency offers lower rate it most definitely lacks ( some of ) the following :
English speaking guide
Porters for overnight treks ( we arrange elephants with our groups )
insufficient supplies ( Our guides often share our food supplies with backpackers on “tour” left in the forest alone and hungry )
Transport by car

Never the less, all guests are free to come and go as they please, book anywhere according to their budgets and enjoy their time in Mondulkiri.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore Park Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights recently and overall enjoyed the experience. The rooms/chalets are cute and comfortable, especially the quaint ensuites. The staff were super friendly and eager to please. Other reviews have mentioned the lack of understanding of the staff and time of service, but for me this is just part of the experience of Cambodia, and didn't bother us really. The restaurant area is a great place to chill and meet other people. We actually booked a trek through Greenhouse, not Nature Lodge, so I can't comment on their tours. The only thing that marred our time here was paying the bill at the end. They like you to just run an account for the duration of your stay, however this was way over what we had actually spent and I had to spend ages with the Khmer owner going through each bill to get this right. I would advise if possible to settle your account at the end of each day if they allow it, and don't accept the line that " the computer can't be wrong".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at Nature Lodge for 2 nights, we got picked up at the busstation, their bridge collapsed last month so their car needs to make a detour of 6 km to get to the lodge. We arrived and had dinner in the restaurant, a buffet, you will found out later why. If you have lots of luggage you will need to make a detour aswell as crossing the bridge now can only done by scooter. Accommodation was great, till we got to the restaurant for breakfast, staff is unable to understand a simple order, bread with peanutbutter took 45 min, i had to send the ciabatta back as it was still cold, jam: no have, we were stressed as we booked a hiking tour at the lodge and we were running late. Be carefull wearing flipflops as you can hurt your feet on the tiles around the lodge. The excursion was delayed in the end simply as the rice wasnt finished in the kitchen for our lunch to take, typical. The excursion was great, a great guide, funny and very intelligent guy. Till we got to the village at the end of the day, they would pick us up from the lodge, the guide called 6 times but no car, we had to wait 2 HOURS before we got picked up. The driver was never informed. As we got back in the lodge, i spoke to the owner, he told me that 2 hours is nice to check out a village, there were 3 houses in the middle of nowwhere, he was quite rude to me. The reason why they did the buffet is simply because the staff cant handle the orders in the evening. Good tour and acccomodation but lack of management, maybe due to high turnover ? disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant and hire a scooter, dont go there during schoolholidays/bankholidays as lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvirianExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a nice place a few kms out of town. The rooms are well spaced chalets and the restaurant provides good food and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The kitchen management is chaotic and we found this very frustrating. The order of receiving food is at the choice of the kitchen manager rather than focussed on the customer. We raised this with the manager on the desk who seemed suprised that we might think it important that food arrived roughly together (give or take 5 minutes)! So hopefully it may get changed. Here's an example of the timescale for dessert after we ordered: 1 beer, 1 lime juice, 1 apple pie, 1 choclate cake: after 20 mins = 1 beer, 25 mins = cake, 40 mins = lime juice, 55 mins = pie. Every meal involved a wait and a random arrival of food and drinks.

Also check your bill which you are asked to pay on arrival. We booked for 3 nights at $15 per night but found the second and third nights charged at $18 per night. Rather than the total now being $51 the total was $54 (all a bit random on the addition!) We queried this and it was immediately changed and we paid $45.

Locationwise as Nature Lodge is out of town which is on one hand good for the setting but on the otherhand it means that you are less likely to eat at some of the restaurants in town which are good and where the service excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely the best place to stay in Cambodia.
Lovely staff with great service.
Fantastic surroundings and accommodation great beds clean rooms.
Wonderful animals roaming the grounds love the dogs and horses.
Wait and book your trips from the lodge they have a great relationship with local Elephant tours much better than the OTHER scamming elephant tours.
All in all just a great place to stay and get away in Cambodia stay a minimum of 3 days but really take a week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sen Monorom hotels
1.7 mi away
Mayura Hill Resort
Mayura Hill Resort
#1 of 14 in Sen Monorom
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Happy Elephant Bungalows
Happy Elephant Bungalows
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigenous People Lodge
Indigenous People Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
#2 of 8 in Sen Monorom
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Sen Monorom
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phanyro Guest House
Phanyro Guest House
#4 of 14 in Sen Monorom
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge

Property: Nature Lodge
Address: Comka Tai village, Sen Monorom 11202, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Mondulkiri Province > Sen Monorom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sen Monorom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Lodge is a budget bungalow resort, located on a hill slope overlooking Sen Monoron town, Mondulkiri province, in the northeastern part of Cambodia. We are an eco-friendly, social enterprise with a passion for the Cambodian nature and the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing