We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of patience, not the best place if you are in hurry.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nature Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots of patience, not the best place if you are in hurry.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at Nature Lodge for 2 nights, we got picked up at the busstation, their bridge collapsed last month so their car needs to make a detour of 6 km to get to the lodge. We arrived and had dinner in the restaurant, a buffet, you will found out later why. If you have lots of luggage you will need to make a detour aswell as crossing the bridge now can only done by scooter. Accommodation was great, till we got to the restaurant for breakfast, staff is unable to understand a simple order, bread with peanutbutter took 45 min, i had to send the ciabatta back as it was still cold, jam: no have, we were stressed as we booked a hiking tour at the lodge and we were running late. Be carefull wearing flipflops as you can hurt your feet on the tiles around the lodge. The excursion was delayed in the end simply as the rice wasnt finished in the kitchen for our lunch to take, typical. The excursion was great, a great guide, funny and very intelligent guy. Till we got to the village at the end of the day, they would pick us up from the lodge, the guide called 6 times but no car, we had to wait 2 HOURS before we got picked up. The driver was never informed. As we got back in the lodge, i spoke to the owner, he told me that 2 hours is nice to check out a village, there were 3 houses in the middle of nowwhere, he was quite rude to me. The reason why they did the buffet is simply because the staff cant handle the orders in the evening. Good tour and acccomodation but lack of management, maybe due to high turnover ? disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant and hire a scooter, dont go there during schoolholidays/bankholidays as lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvirianExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    122
    50
    23
    14
See reviews for
36
135
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a nice place a few kms out of town. The rooms are well spaced chalets and the restaurant provides good food and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The kitchen management is chaotic and we found this very frustrating. The order of receiving food is at the choice of the kitchen manager rather than focussed on the customer. We raised this with the manager on the desk who seemed suprised that we might think it important that food arrived roughly together (give or take 5 minutes)! So hopefully it may get changed. Here's an example of the timescale for dessert after we ordered: 1 beer, 1 lime juice, 1 apple pie, 1 choclate cake: after 20 mins = 1 beer, 25 mins = cake, 40 mins = lime juice, 55 mins = pie. Every meal involved a wait and a random arrival of food and drinks.

Also check your bill which you are asked to pay on arrival. We booked for 3 nights at $15 per night but found the second and third nights charged at $18 per night. Rather than the total now being $51 the total was $54 (all a bit random on the addition!) We queried this and it was immediately changed and we paid $45.

Locationwise as Nature Lodge is out of town which is on one hand good for the setting but on the otherhand it means that you are less likely to eat at some of the restaurants in town which are good and where the service excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely the best place to stay in Cambodia.
Lovely staff with great service.
Fantastic surroundings and accommodation great beds clean rooms.
Wonderful animals roaming the grounds love the dogs and horses.
Wait and book your trips from the lodge they have a great relationship with local Elephant tours much better than the OTHER scamming elephant tours.
All in all just a great place to stay and get away in Cambodia stay a minimum of 3 days but really take a week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location is out of town, so if your thinking of taking your bags on the 3km walk best to get a moto from town. We did the walk but were really out of breath by the time we got to the Lodge.

The staff are very friendly, maybe a little too enthusiastic sometimes but they are all really really nice. The food is great but some dishes are rather small and fairly expensive. Thats made up for the great service and fresh ingredients tho.

The bungalows are clean and very simple, i stayed in the 10$USD per night option so i couldn't comment on the others. The only thing i could say is the ants, we had a massive infestation in our room but i soon got one of the staff to give me some Raid and after that they were gone :)
Was a bit dark at night but still no problem, the dogs are really wonderful i played with them for a longtime and they loved it! Great place to stay pitty we were going to the EVP project the next day as i would have stayed longer.

Also they got WIFI!

Room Tip: Get a room that's not halfway up a tree to reduce the amount of bugs inside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zookie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Nature Lodge is situated in a beautiful part of Cambodia, and the accommodation is wonderful. Our cabin was spacious and clean, with a great view of the valley. There is a lovely bar/ restaurant that serves decent food at reasonable prices and the Khmer lady who I presume to be the manageress was extremely helpful and friendly and organised our elephant trek for us. The guides based there are also very friendly and helpful and were always happy to spare some time chatting and giving advice/ directions.

However....we were charged $18 a night rather than the $13 we were quoted when we booked. We were given very little in the way of explanation but we gather that this was because of the public holiday. Not much difference in price, but it would have been nice if we were either quoted the correct price originally or if the quoted price was honoured. Also, the bus we booked back to Phnom Penh was more than advertised in the Nature Lodge brochure - no explanation offered.

The service in the restaurant was absolutely dreadful. Out of the 5 or 6 waitresses working, only one seemed to be doing all the work while others gazed vacantly into space and did their best to ignore customers. I ordered a vegetarian curry which came out with chicken. I sent it back, it came back with chicken (the staff had obviously done a bad job of trying to pick out the chicken rather than bothering to make a new one). Third time lucky and it was very nice but really shouldn't have to go through such a fiasco to order a simple meal. We saw other customers waiting well over an hour for their orders too. The restaurant closes at 9 and you are told to order your last drinks at about 8.30 - not great when there are no other options close by. We were also told on our last night that they had run out of draft beer - not great forward planning. However, when the man we assume to be the owner arrived, he was miraculously served a jug of draft beer while his customers looked on in envy. He then proceeded to fall asleep on the table without drinking it.

I live in Phnom Penh so I know what to expect from customer service in Cambodia but this was particularly bad. Such a shame because it really is such a beautiful place that could, with a bit of effort, be absolutely perfect.

I would still recommend the Nature Lodge - just remember to pack a sense of humour and a lot of patience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Setting of the Nature Lodge is indeed wonderful, as indicated by some earlier reviews. We traveled as a family with our two children and they loved all of it from the first minute! They could run around and explore, a nice change to Phnom Penh, where we live.

The family bungalow (up to 6 pax and which we had booked for 1 night) was very clean and neat, including the bath room. Initially there was no hot water (gas boiler did not work), but that was fixed almost instantly by a delegation of 3 male staff after we had informed the reception. So far all fine, however...

We stayed for dinner and breakfast. The quality of the dinner was OK, but the service was really poor. After waiting for almost 40 minutes the first dish arrived; then another 15 minutes waiting time for the next dish. The ordered can of Angkor beer arrived after 30 minutes. When we went ourselves to the bar to ask for it after 20 minutes waiting, they did not want to give it to us directly, instead we had to wait ...

Breakfast was a complete fiasco. Although there was plenty of staff in the restaurant, maybe the kitchen was understaffed because of the holiday of Chum Ben, but still, this could have been anticipated by management (which were not there) and taken care off.

We had ordered for the children simple bread with Nutella. It took the staff 45min to deliver a stone-hard "ciabatta" with choco paste. Me and my husband had to wait another 20 min for our omelette. The side-ordered bacon came 10 min later, and we never saw our tea and coffees!
The restaurant was full and we could notice that we were not the only customers who had to deal with the poor service that morning!

Since we had to leave as our guide was waiting (not ordered by the Lodge; prices are steep if you compare with excellent tour offers in town), I complained at the bar that we still did not have our tea/coffee after waiting more than 1 hour, the girl just shrugged her shoulders and said that she would deduct it from our bill...

Very disappointing.

Another point which we found disturbing/intruding for such a beautiful setting was the loud music that came from the bar in the evening. Luckily we stayed at the outer edge of the domain, but it was still disturbing.

Would we stay again? Yes, but service should improve - something for management to look at!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A really great place to get away from everything and enjoy cambodia's, beautifull laydback country side. The nature lodge is a bit out of town (15 min walk) but in the midle of nature with cows and horses everywhere. its has woden bungalows that are really clean and neat, with own balcony. It has a really nice restaurant/bar/chill out area with lots of big pillows, low tables good music, all in wood with plants everywhere!The food is good tho a litle bit more expensive than the prices in town. The staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sen Monorom hotels
1.7 mi away
Mayura Hill Resort
Mayura Hill Resort
#1 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
#2 of 8 in Sen Monorom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigenous People Lodge
Indigenous People Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Happy Elephant Bungalows
Happy Elephant Bungalows
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chuncheat House Eco-Lodge
Chuncheat House Eco-Lodge
#4 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge

Property: Nature Lodge
Address: Comka Tai village, Sen Monorom 11202, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Mondulkiri Province > Sen Monorom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sen Monorom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Lodge is a budget bungalow resort, located on a hill slope overlooking Sen Monoron town, Mondulkiri province, in the northeastern part of Cambodia. We are an eco-friendly, social enterprise with a passion for the Cambodian nature and the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing