We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of Mas Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mas Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had the suite room and the views from the enormous room were stunning. The food was lovely and so were the staff. Damian took us down to the reservoir where we had a swim. - it was warmer than the pool.
Although the place was lovely it just needs a little more TLC

Room Tip: the suite room is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Mas Villa. It is a wonderful place to finish out our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka.
The courtyard is peaceful and the rooms comfortable.
The setting is beautiful, with a view to the lake and paddy fields.
We only ate breakfasts there, but they were good. Eggs to order and fruit.
The staff was the highlight. Akila took personal care of us. He arranged a village and tea plantation walk starting right from the hotel grounds. He went along and explained things to us and answered all our questions. His interest in making sure our enjoyment of his country was positive was admirable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonestacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Damian welcomed us with charm and a wonderful sense of humour. The room (we stayed in the entire top floor) was magnificent. Sitting eating a delicious dinner prepared by the very friendly chef was a highlight. Breakfast also as the views are something out of this world. Our only sadness was that we arrived late and left early.

Room Tip: If your budget can stretch to it get the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sianjones100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Mas Villa is a beautiful colonial house located on the way to Nuwara Eliya, It is a must on your way to the tea Plantations to stay there.
The surroundings are gorgeous: ricefields, mountains view, reservoir etc...
The rooms are comfortable and good local cooking.
the staff & Management are really welcoming and know how to take care of their guests

Room Tip: Rice fields view are the best for the Deluxe or the suite with Mountain/ Reservoir view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was a rather long drive from Kandy and we wondered where we were going, however our driver knew the way and we eventually arrived at this charming villa overlooking a lake and terraced rice paddies. We were graciously welcomed with fresh juice and cool towels and upgraded to a spacious room. The staff could not have been more helpful giving us excellent advice about our next destination. Dinner on the terrace was a delicious Sri Lankan curry. We highly recommend this hotel and my only small quibble was I would have liked better lighting in the bathroom

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Kandy and the Tea plantations. Lovely accommodation especially the suite, stunning location and views. Breakfast and Dinner on the Veranda overlooking beautiful countryside. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieherdman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is more like a second home than a hotel. It was fun to wake up in the morning and have a cup of coffee by myself on the back porch overlooking the rice paddies. And staying up late watching my daughter play pool with the chef and a family from Sweden. This was an
special place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotmale
10.5 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
14.4 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,496 reviews
11.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,966 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
646 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Nawalapitiya
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Villa

Property: Mas Villa
Address: Maswella Pahala Waluauwwe, Kotmale 20560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kotmale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kotmale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas Villa, an exquisite villa nestled in the historic Kotmale Valley, enjoys one of the most sublime views in the hill country. Approximately four hours drive from Colombo, Mas Villa is centrally located between Kandy and Nuwara Eliya and is within 45 minutes to each city. Situated amidst terraced paddy fields and verdant mountain ranges filled with jungles and ancient temples, this five bedroom colonial residence exudes a personal charm within a setting of refined elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mas Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Villa Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing