We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible settings, delicious food, friendly staff. We will be back to Mas Villa!”
Review of Mas Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mas Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I came on a 10 day trip to Sri Lanka in May 2012. Having gone through a travel agent, we were proposed with an itinerary very much like every other tourist - Sigiriya, Nuwara Eliya, Kandy... We wanted to see Sigiriya but decided we didn't want to see a million temples, so we started looking for an alternative plan and booked Mas Villa with a bit of a gamble as we haven't heard too much about Kotmale. Well it's certain to say that the gamble paid off. It was an amazing hotel with very professional yet friendly staff. Ishan the manager and his staff Dhammika are both super friendly and it really feels as if they want to make your stay as perfect as possible. On arrival we were greeted with avocado juice - we only had avocado in salads before and who knew it had such sweet taste! After that it only got better - Umesh the chef is a genius! We had already stayed in Sri Lanka for 5 days by that point and have had plenty of curry and rice but Umesh's was by far the most delicious we've had. It certainly was proven by our empty plates! Since that night we just let Umesh decide what he wants to cook for us and we have not been disappointed at all. He also managed not to repeat any dish that he has cooked in these 3 nights (6 curries at night and 2 curries for breakfast - that's 24 different dishes!!). They also organised a cooking demonstration for us - it would have been better if it was a class that we could try cooking too but just having the demo right in front of the mountains was truly incredible. Now at least when we get back to London we can make our own Chicken curry, Dhal, Aubergine Mouju and Snakegourd salad!

Yes going there was a bit of a trek, and it was off the tourist map, but if you'd like something more unique, more serene and more homely then this is for you. We met some locals on the way up to see the natural springs and had a picnic near the river (organised by Ishan) walking through the local villages full of buffaloes!! They also gave us a tour in their garden showing us all the organic vegetables they were growing - Umesh picked up an aubergine and said that was what he would be cooking for us that night!

All in all, it was a truly wonderful few days we've had at Mas Villa. Thank you guys for giving us the most incredible memories. We miss it already and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fipcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed with the family for 3 nights. A heritage bungalow re-invented as a 7 room villa hotel, Mas Villa is located in a pristine little valley a short drive from Kandy bordering the beautiful Kotmale lake. The rooms are superbly appointed in English country style, the staff attentive and the food very good. The place is very family friendly, with bikes for riding around the country roads, games, great books. There is something very special about spending the evening on the deck, with the lake view and candlelit dinners. Chef Umesh is quite accomplished and offers up everything from European fine dining to Local treats. The yoghurt in your breakfast comes from the village nearby, and you only hear the sound of.......silence. Very much a repeat stay for us, Just what the doctor ordered.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suren99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Mas Villa, One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in but to call it a hotel is not to do it justice more like private residence with very attentive staff. From the moment you arrive until you depart the staff seem to really want to help you enjoy your stay with a smile, nothing is too much trouble.The food was so tempting ate way too much. It was a case of the chef asking what you would like before you left for your days touring or walk, you could choose from almost any cuisine but really reccommend that you tell him to surprise you with traditional Sri Lankan cuisine or what he has purchased that day, and you will not be disapointed rice and a selection of at least 7 bowls of vegetables curries and more will appear. The chef will even demonstrate how to cook the dishes as well. The rooms are all slightly different and the upstairs suite amazing you would not want to go out at all once settled, as all the hotel guests had just left before us early that morning I was allowed to see them. Stay here if you want to live the old life and pretend its your own house with guests in, you will love it but don't if you want high tech and don't want to mingle at dinner there is almost one long table, this adds to the charm but would hate for anyone to write a bad report because it's not what they want.. The views are amazing the tranquility the fresh air and the location set so that you can visit all the highlights in the region without the bother of moving hotels we stayed 3 nights we wished we had more time to do the Dam and there were some interesting local walks as well.You could even have a massage. I may not send this as I am not sure we want everyone booking as we shall be sure to return to Mas.

Room Tip: The top floor suite if you are having an anniversary, honeymoon. or want to treat yourself as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelleF305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Mas Villa is a great stop-over between Kandy and Nuwara Eliya tea country; granted, you could make the trip in one fell swoop, but Mas Villa is only slightly off the beaten track and was well worth the slight detour. Service was among the best and most personable we experienced on our 10-day vacation in Sri Lanka. We had booked their premier room, but it was not ready so we were upgraded to their one suite; it takes up the whole second floor of the main building and has great views overlooking the Kotmale reservoir. As their only dinner guests that night, the manager gave us a choice of a western-style 3-course dinner or a Sri Lankan meal. We opted for the latter and what a great choice it was; seven bowls of different dishes and a huge bowl of basmati rice. What a delicious feast! We highly recommend that guests go with this option; you will not be disappointed. This is a fantastic boutique hotel and comes with our highest recommendation; I would have given them a maximum score, except for one negative observation; we watched one of the workers burning trash, to include plastic water bottles, in a burn pit (a fairly common practice in the country, unfortunately). Hopefully they can start a recycling program in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The villa is a good transit point for exploring the tea estates and waterfalls in the surrounding area. Very small, family like establishment offers beautifully designed rooms, exceptional views from the dining area on the river and mountains and a lot of peace and quiet.

It has also a small pool area, however, we didnt manage to enjoy that since it was raining.

Very cute inner yard and homelike designed rest rooms makes the whole place feel like home and provide privacy to the small number of guests - we almost didnot feel the other guests around.

Enjoy the silence! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Mas Vila was my favourite hotel in Sri Lanka, made special by the thoughtful and attentive staff, wonderful food, magical cooking classes and relaxing garden and pool. If you want to enjoy the calm and peace of central Sri Lanka, and succumb to all its charms, do stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LokiONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was our stop 3 for 2 nights stay to visit the spice gardens, Kandy city tour, Temple of the Tooth and botanical gardens. We had 2 rooms next to each other. The Manager and staff were excellent and the service we got from them was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotmale
10.5 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,597 reviews
14.4 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
11.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Amaya Langdale
Amaya Langdale
#11 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
430 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mas Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Villa

Address: Maswella Pahala Waluauwwe, Kotmale 20560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kotmale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kotmale
Price Range: $130 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas Villa, an exquisite villa nestled in the historic Kotmale Valley, enjoys one of the most sublime views in the hill country. Approximately four hours drive from Colombo, Mas Villa is centrally located between Kandy and Nuwara Eliya and is within 45 minutes to each city. Situated amidst terraced paddy fields and verdant mountain ranges filled with jungles and ancient temples, this five bedroom colonial residence exudes a personal charm within a setting of refined elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mas Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Villa Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing