We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Beauty!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Fort Natural Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Eastern Long Island, NY
14
Reviewed February 21, 2005

I've just returned from my first trip to Bequia (won't be the last!)
and stayed at the Old Fort Inn for the beginning of the vacation
(had also booked a week in a cottage and wanted to try another
location on the island).

First of all, the location is fantastic - it's away from the main village of Port Elizabeth, high up on a hill that affords a spectacular view of Bequia. That said, w/ Bequia being so small, getting around from Old Fort Inn is painless.

Ton and Lydia, the new managers, are fantastic -- very charming and accomodating. I also met Otmar, the owner, a warm and friendly fellow who many years ago had the vision to transform a derelict site into the special beauty it is today.

The Old Fort Inn is a very comfortable place to stay. The rooms are clean and well appointed, with great cross breezes. Take a look at their web site to get an idea of the interesting stone archtecture (oldfortbequia). The dining room is gorgeous -- it's a semi-enclosed stone patio/loggia w/ tablecloth service. Breakfast is wonderful but I do think the dinner & wine menu could stand some improvement -- most meals were fine but uninspired. If the kitchen could be ratcheted up a bit, you'd have an unbeatable destination.

All in all, you can't miss staying at the Old Fort Inn -- it's one of the best places on Bequia!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 100 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
NY, USA
18
Reviewed September 11, 2002

We have just returned from a well deserved holiday on the beautiful Island of Bequia. My wife and I stayed at The Old Fort hotel which we had found reseaching various Hotels on the internet. From the time we were greeted by our hosts Ian and Feona offering us a rum punch on the house until our last night spent having a relaxing BBQ with them, we knew that this had been an excellent choice. The Hotel was comfortable and had plenty of hammocks for us to relax on, the food was great - but it was truly the people that made this place. Ian and Feona and their staff made us feel welcome and relaxed from day one. We highly recommend this Hotel to all - we will certainly be returning!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Roland F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Line S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Jörg Danger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort Natural Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
179 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
159 reviews
1 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
9.6 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fort Natural Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fort Natural Hotel

Address: Historic Estate, Mount Pleasant, Bequia (Formerly Old Fort Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $128 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Fort Natural Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fort Natural Hotel is the only fully restored historic plantation in St. Vincent and the Grenadines dating back to the eighteenth-century when the French first started settling the West Indies. Set high atop Mt. Pleasant with an estate that stretches over 28 acres all the way down to the Caribbean Sea, it features acres of orchards and views to beat anything you would find out on the open ocean. Its lush grounds are covered in traveller's palms, breadfruit, tamarind, banana and mango trees, surrounding one of the most beautiful pools in the world, happily slip sliding its watery way over the edge. Recommended over years by numerous international media, it has been transformed into the kind of hotel you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Fort Natural Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing