We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Fort Bequia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 2, 2012

To stay at the Old Fort at the top of Mount Pleasant, is to experience a different side of Bequia that is unique. Its a part of Bequia that most people don't experience, and to enter the Old Fort is like going back in time and being a part of a different life style. The views across the waters on this Windward side are beautiful and there is a peace that enriches the soul. King King and his family have lived here for years and they give one a different aspect of Bequia that is totally different from being down by the beach and near to Port Elizabeth. I loved the feeling of being part of their family and the history of their restoration of the Old Fort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

I was at the old fort in january with friends and i have to say it truely was life changing.
my holidays in my younger days were nightclub orientated but i feel like i have finally found my niche and grown up,the old fort in Bequia is my target destination next jan and probably now will become an annual institution.
The accomadation is stunningly located high in the hills of Bequia where owning a Landrover is pretty important.
The rooms are stunning and no brochure could possibly do it justice it ,is heaven is a place on earth.
My room was the bridal suite and the views were magnificent.
During our stay we made friends with a local taxi driver called Donavan who became a friend and he was our chauffer for the whole week which made things so much easier.
The kitchen area was brilliant for preparing meals,just like home from home.
I relaxed so much by the beautiful pool and what a fantastic start to the year after xmas festivities.
I would recommend Bequia and specifically the Old Fort to everyone who wants a truely caribean adventure however if you like things lively then maybe stick to Barbados.
Anyway enough from me and i will be back in jan 2013

Room Tip: The Bridal suite is an awesome room for a couple with amazing views however im in touch with the own...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Robert,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was a week to remember at the Old Fort. We were there for a wedding and it was by far the most memorable vacation I have ever had. We had the sunroom on the top floor, and the view was amazing. This place is charming and very private, there are no TVs for a restful vacation, there is WIFI available though if needed. I think I can speak for the rest of our family staying there that we all would highly recommend it. Quirin is a very sociable, knowledgeable host that checked in with us every couple days to see how we were and if we needed anything. The food was excellent, there is a pool that felt wonderful to go in every day to quench the 26 degree day and night warmth. It is a ways from the quaint little town, but it can be walked to, just a bit of an uphill trek to get back. Donavan was our weeklong taxi driver that took us wherever we wanted to go, we recommend him also. This was a vacation I will always remember as the most unique place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Debbie,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Located among the beautiful and unscathed Grenadine islands, the Old Fort sits atop Mount Pleasant on Bequia, the most charismatic of them all. I wanted a private, quiet, romantic, non standard, warm, totally relaxing, fun but very interesting place to visit on our very special 11-11-11 vacation. My research brought me to the Old Fort as fitting the entire expectation list.

If you want all inclusive, crowded beaches, in your face merchants, countless run of the mill excursions, shopping, loaded buffets, exotic hotel rooms or villas with jacuzzis all sitting on an ocean, for a few thousand dollars, then DO NOT GO TO BEQUIA or any Grenadine Island for that matter. You do not want the above things as per my wish list for the ideal getaway vacation.

Would you like to fly into Barbados airport, jump a 19 seat twin otter plane for a ride with a view you only see on television, beautifully treed islands with golden beaches surrounded by turquoise waters, a prearranged private open air taxi when you land, an enchanting historical drive on a narrow roadway lacking traffic, where the driver knows every one of only 5000 inhabitants on the island, where the temperature is a constant 30 degrees day and night with a magical palm breeze and set foot above a mountain top as you stare at a magnificently restored 19th century small historical charming and very private old fort nestled among the most romantic and absolutely gorgeous flora and fauna you have ever set eyes on? Then GO TO BEQUIA, or St. Vincent or Mustique, or Canouan, or Union or Palm Island but you can ONLY stay at The Old Fort on BEQUIA, the Big Little Island, as it is affectionately known.

My new fiance and I (got engaged at the enchanting and magical fort) stayed 11 days and have recorded it as the getaway vacation of a lifetime.The host Quirin (the residents only know him as Kingking) treated us like family; whatever our little need was, he immediately had a solution or was quick to retrieve something. Kingking is one of the charming sons of the founder, Otmar Schaedle, They found a place in Paradise and unveiled it for all of us to see and experience. You do not stay or visit the Old Fort. You "live it".

Yes the Fort is a little away from the major beaches, restaurants, bars and shopping such as it is. That's a good thing. The island is less than 30 square miles so you get around it in no time. You can easily go to the places you want during the day by easily accessible taxis (or walk) and retreat to the Old Fort for the absolutely beautiful setting of the evening (I loved the dining ambiance). the Old fort provides a very special opportunity to do the things you love to do in the Carribean but have all the peace, beauty and romance of a fairy tale. Bequia itself is charming and beautiful and has one of the world's top beaches, which we shared with never more than a dozen patrons in this off season (yes I am serious). It is not very developed as in much of the Caribbean but the friendly people and charm of the island made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Nobody I have spoken with since our return has ever heard of Bequia, let alone seen it. The visitors we met said sssshhhh, don't tell anyone. But hey, I love sharing and The Old Fort and Bequia is a place that every person should experience at least once in your lifetime.
Kingking, his brother Robin, even their dad Otmar whom we got to meet, along with Shara the everything lady, Josiah, the master chef and handyman, and Sheldon, the groundskeeper, along with Nera the cat who slept with us several nights, the friendly dogs and two donkeys all made our experience at The Old Fort, Bequia, and the breathtaking Tobago Cays a memory of all time. (DO NOT VISIT THE ISLANDS THERE AND NOT SEE TOBAGO CAYS; BIG MISTAKE!).

Of course this trip was an "11" out of 10!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Owner at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Glenn,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards, Quirin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

After visiting over 40 islands in the Caribbean, Bequia offers the "true Caribbean experience." This is not your average getaway with an ocean view. It is a crafted space, filled with character at every corner. I had the pleasure of staying for three weeks and enjoyed every bit of space I could explore. If you have a choice of islands and places, this is one you should not miss.

With the fairytale, fort-styled, stone buildings, filled with rooms that defy description, there never was a dull moment for the imagination. The Old Fort is a tranquil place too, away from the hustle and bustle of the harbor. The infinity pool, with hidden hot tub tucked into its private "cave", puts the perfect finishing touch to this unique place.

The Port Elizabeth harbor, on the opposite side of the island, is warmer, too warm in fact, and lacks the westerly breeze of Mt. Pleasant. Cool breezes and open spaces start each day and mid-day entertainment includes watching ships sail by on the open sea below the balcony overlook. The full moon only adds to the beauty and I highly recommend being there for that, or a new moon night for counting stars.

The walk to town is virtually all downhill and makes for a pleasant stroll. Taking a taxi back is by far the easiest, although catching a ride is not impossible for one or two travelers. For convenience, the Sugar Hill Store and restaurant is only about 10 minutes away from the Old Fort by foot; they have enough to meet your basic needs and snacks (just check on their hours of operation).

The history of the Old Fort is unique and you would benefit by asking Otmar and Quirin about it (father and son). Be sure to check out the display of artifacts found on the property, from its earliest inhabitants. There are many paths and places nearby to explore on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenhawes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Bequia is one of very few unspoiled islands in the Caribbean. The Old Fort sits atop a hill overlooking the beautiful Caribbean and you are able to see several of the other Grenadine islands from the fort. If you are traveling with kids, it might not be the "hot spot entertaining spot" you are looking for. There are no TV's, and getting to the beach is a LONG walk or a taxi ride away. If you are looking for peace and quiet, beautiful settings, and a wonderful, friendly, helpful staff, this is the place to be. The rooms are wonderful, the food is terrific, and the setting is definitely one of the best on the island. Otmar, who lives just a short distance from the Fort, is a wonderful man, with a great love and understanding of the island. He is a wealth of information and wonderful to talk to. His son Kerin now runs the Fort, and he is a very energetic young man who is now in the process of adding more rooms to the Fort. He is a wealth of information in regards to getting around the island and helping you to get to where you want to go. He had Steve, one of the local taxi drivers pick us up from the airport, and whenever we wanted to get anywhere, we could just call him and he would come and pick us up. Bequia can be as quiet and peaceful as you want, or you can party it up any night of week at one of the local bars/restaurants. My husband and I found it so refreshing to meet so many different people from so many different walks of life, and each one just as friendly as the next, from the locals, to the yachtsmen, to some elites. All come to Bequia for the peace and beauty of the island. We met some wonderful people here, and hope to return to see more of the island, and some of the other Grenadine islands also. If you go, take a trip on the Friendship Rose and see the Tobago Cays. They are simply Breathtaking!!!! The Old Fort is wonderfully different than your run of the mill hotel, which is exactly what we were looking for. We can't thank Kerin, Otmar, Shara, Steve, and Sonya enough for the great experience. I kind of hate to tell everyone about it, as I'm afraid it will ruin the island in the future. Bequia may seem a little simplistic to some, but that is EXACTLY what makes it so charming, and such a wonderful get away from the fast pace that most of us deal with everyday. Thanks to everyone for one of the most relaxing, fabulous vacations we have ever taken. Thumbs up to the Old Fort, and Bequia!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Our 8 night stay at the Old Fort was just perfect. The property is truly one of a kind with historic buildings, a beautiful pool, breathtaking views, and even a pair of friendly resident donkeys. We were able to fully relax and take in all that Bequia has to offer stressed out people in need of a vacation! Can't wait for the next trip!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmesserich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
21.4 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate

Address: Historic Estate, Mount Pleasant, Bequia (Formerly Old Fort Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $133 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate is the only fully restored historic plantation in St. Vincent and the Grenadines dating back to the eighteenth-century when the French first started settling the West Indies. Set high atop Mt. Pleasant with an estate that stretches over 28 acres all the way down to the Caribbean Sea, it features acres of orchards and views to beat anything you would find out on the open ocean. Its lush grounds are covered in traveller's palms, breadfruit, tamarind, banana and mango trees, surrounding one of the most beautiful pools in the world, happily slip sliding its watery way over the edge. Recommended over years by numerous international media, it has been transformed into the kind of hotel you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing