We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous - a perfect ten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous - a perfect ten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I can't praise the Firefly highly enough - the rooms are absolutely beautiful. Luxurious, huge, an absolute pleasure to stay in. The balcony (with beautiful furniture) has views across the plantation and to the sea and beach beyond (a 5 minute walk). We loved every minute and didn't want to leave. The food is delicious, the pool is gorgeous and the staff are fantastic. A special thank you to Ernie, Donovan and Ken for making our stay so special. We had the entire place to ourselves for 5 out of the 6 nights and it was heaven! We loved the plantation pets too - Anna, Judy, Vivi and Ginger! Bequia itself is very special. Whilst we could easily have remained at the Firefly the whole time, we hired a car and got out and about most days. Lower Bay beach and Princess Margaret beach are amazing. We wished we had stayed in Bequia for longer (and not bothered with Barbados at the beginning of our trip). The two islands are incomparable with Bequia winning hands down in the beauty and friendliness stakes. A perfect time on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We chose this hotel for the location and were not disappointed. The view from the upper rooms is far reaching across to the coast. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, linen changed everyday and rooms cleaned and made up to a high standard.
We enjoyed all the hotel animals especially Judy, Anna and Vivi! And let's not forget the visiting pig!! Food and drinks were delish, although some people might find the menu a bit limited if there for any length of time-we stayed 14 nights. Not really a problem for us - it was one less thing to think about!
All the staff were lovely and very helpful, making sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is in walking distance of Port Elizabeth, the turtle sanctuary and even the main beaches....if you enjoy walking! But there are still the local taxis which are very good, flexible and reliable.
Bequia is a very beautiful island with happy friendly people...one that we would happily return to.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sea Cotton, an upper room. We would say it has the best view, with a very large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

10 days in Bequia was just perfect for this miserable winter and Firefly shone once again. The rooms remain spectacular and the setting is just wonderful. The pool is a bit rundown but remains a beautiful oasis and nothing beats the long walks along the coast with Judith & Anna (Firefly's sweet dogs).

We went with the meal plan and, aside from gaining weight, were delighted on the whole. Breakfast is great, box lunches for the beach are a true guilty pleasure, tea & homemade cake was occasionally resisted, and dinners were for the most part very good. The only disappointment was BBQ night which was a miss.

Both the house & bar staff are friendly and very helpful. A delight. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

It is a beautiful, 5 star, boutique hotel, hidden between green hills, with a wonder ful view of palm trees and the ocean. We loved our room, with a walk-in double shower, elegant bathroom, walk-in closet, luxurious bed linens, etc. The view from the terrace was spectacular. It was very pleasant to relax at the side of the swimming pool, enjoying the sun and the silence. Truly, it is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been to.

Disapointments? I do appreciate the fact that the kitchen uses products from the plantation. Does it have to be the same salad with a ready-made dressing (yes, I can tell the difference) or the same mixture of undercooked veggies (carrot and green peas) soaked in garlic that accompanied every lunch and every dinner? I do understand that we arrived a few days before the high season kicked in, but did tuna have to be a catch of the day for 3 days in the row? And does everything need to have either coconut milk or garlic added to it? Both ingredients are great, but an excess is an excess (think coconut milk based soups, rice stewed in coconut milk and coconut milk added to every curry they served). Having said that, I must add that there were dishes that we enjoyed. But the overall quality of food was way below a 5 star hotel that has a constant access to fresh fish, fruit, vegetables, etc.

We were also astonished by the fact that the pool has not been cleaned even once during our stay. Swimming between decaying leaves? Not so much fun. When we arrived at the pool one day, we found that the staff did not bother with cleaning the cups that we left there the day before. Also something unusual for a hotel of that class.

If you intend to play tennis at the tennis court that the website boasts about, think twice. It's in a very bad condition. I would even risk saying: unusable.

Local beach is small and covered with rubbish. Cows use it as their own promenade.

On the other hand, the staff pays attention to details like preparing your room for the night - pulling down the mosquito net (mosquitos are numerous and always hungry), leaving a couple of flickering candles, dimming the lights, etc. This is all very nice and thoughtful.

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay there, but it seems like the hotel management needs to work a bit on some details that spoil the general impression.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zephyrsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiamiter, Manager at Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that things were not up to the standard we set for ourselves. I have spoken to the staff concerned but I am sorry you experienced it. Your holiday with us should have been perfect, that is what we want!

The tennis court is not actually mentioned on our web site or advertised as we are aware that it is not as great as it should be! Guests are very welcome to use it if they want to and many people find it funky and fun for a knock around, but it is not up to Wimbledon standards thats for sure! However, there are some excellent tennis courts on Bequia that serious players can use for a small fee if they want.

Thank you for staying with us, and our apologies that it was not as perfect as it should have been.
All the best

The Firefly Plantation Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have never eaten goat before but have to say it was unexpectedly good! The food here is very authentic with most ingredients directly from the gardens.
The Creole lunch was delicious and not like anything we get back home, lots of spices and flavours, generous portions and a great variety of side dishes with it. Best to ask the waiter what things are as we were not familiar with breadfruit or Christophene but they turned out to be rather nice local vegetables! Papaya seed dressing on the salad? Actually it was marvellous! Guava ice cream excellent.
There are some more familiar dishes on the menu as well for the less adventurous but we decided while in Bequia to give some of the local things a try and we were glad we did!
Would recommend this place and go back to stay here next time we are in Bequia. Very tempting pool and luxurious rooms!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xfactorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I had multiples lunches at the plantation and were pretty happy until the below happened to us. The last time, we had lunch over There (mid May 2013) one of the waiter gave us a bill which was definitely wrong. The waiter used his own calculation to come up with a bill over-charging us 35 USD. 35 USD is not a big amount and we are in agreement with that. However the way this was done is what I didn't like as it was clearly for his own interest and could not explain it. When I ran a quick check of the bill including lunch and few cocktails plus the plantation tour, I immediately noticed the mistake as the price difference in term of percentage was significant. The waiter was called and he said the difference was coming from the exchange rate. Fair enough, it could have been. The exchange rate was then requested to him and surprisingly enough he used the commonly used exchange rate....... in the island. It then, became a bit grey with the explanations ... I did the calculation for him and showed him the difference. At this point the waiter was just looking at us smiling and said this is the instruction he is receiving from his management !!!!! This was surprising us. when we asked to see his supervisor we could not see him for some strange reasons! At the end, to keep the story short, the waiter forced us to pay the wrong amount and became aggressive with us! He just put 35 USD in his Pocket this is what it is and this, at the cost of the bad image of the place and its owners. As a summary, nice place, nice views, relaxing area but the fact that the waiter are not really honest destroyed our good feeling of the place. We are still planning to go to Bequia but for sure not at the fire fly plantation considering the fact we have been clearly mistreated and spoiled! This is the reason I rated it poor. I also believe the owner must be aware of such behaviour of some member of the team, which demonstrated poor ethics.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tetog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiamiter, Public Relations Manager at Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am so sorry you had a bad experience with one of our waiters. From what you describe the situation was totally unacceptable and I do apologise. I regret that we did not know about this sooner so that we could have put it right for you. Our regular bar tenders and waiters are excellent and we are very proud of the friendly and efficient service they provide. Our aim is to look after our customers and make sure you have a great time with us, it seems this did not happen on this visit and I am sorry.
I am now aware of who this waiter was and I can only say that he is no longer in our service, he only worked for a very short period but I so sorry that your visit was impacted and that situation happened.
Please do come back and give us another try on your next visit to Bequia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Firefly in February 2013 in one of their four truly fabulous rooms. We had the Nutmeg on the lower level and the view of the sea in the distance was fantastic. The room was spacious with a lovely seating area, our own private balcony furnished with both chairs and chaises longue, a double shower, separate wash room and a utility room equipped with refrigerator/minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, library shelf, slippers and bathrobes and suitcase and dressing room facilities. Fresh hibiscus flowers were artfully strewn on the bed and just about everywhere else. Colorful sarongs for each of us were suspended from hooks and decorated the room. This is luxury in a relaxed, friendly and laid back manner, very good service, impeccable housekeeping. Don't miss the plantation tour with Keith and do order a picnic lunch which will be delivered right to your blanket on the beach!! And according to my husband, Rodney makes the best rum punch on the island.

Room Tip: We were happy with our lower level room but an upper level room would give an even greater view. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpioMandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Bay
0.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Property: Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Address: Spring Estate, Spring Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with a casual, 'Chic-Caribbean' relaxed atmosphere. A short walk through the palm groves leads you to Spring Beach. Spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms, all with fabulous views, king sized beds, walk-in closets, wifi, air-conditioning, music systems, luxury linens and amenities. A fun and friendly bar welcomes visitors and locals alike. The restaurant serves excellent local cuisine based on fresh produce grown on the plantation. The staff are attentive and service excellent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia Spring Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing