We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Bequai”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tamarind Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looks to good to be trues, no its not  it is true and  it is perfect.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Looks to good to be trues, no its not  it is true and  it is perfect.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Spring Bay, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheffield...
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paradise in Bequai”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The photos of Tamarind Villa are good but don't capture alll that is excellent about it. The villa is absolutely top of the range accommodation in a great location with wonderful views. the hosts are local so able to offer a lot of advice and information. A range of add on extras such as local chef and personal taxi driver...both such good value and wonderful people. Bequai is by far the best island in the caribbean. Happy to answer any questions. We have been twice and sad we are not going next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFF79
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas at Tamarind Villa”
Reviewed March 1, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous house with breathtaking views, that is great value for money.
My wife and I stayed here over Christmas 2012 and had a fantastic time.
The house is spotlessly clean and very nicely presented. The vast terrace and pool area are where you will spend most of your time and the views from there are ever changing and just magical.
Spring is a quiet area where you can escape from the stresses of home and marvel in your surroundings.
The gardens are beautifully looked after and full of stunning plants and flowers.
John and Dianne are the owners' parents and live just next door. They were very kind and went a long way out of their way to make us so very welcome.
Do not hesitate to book this fantastic house on this beautiful island.
We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Patchy wi-fi
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia M
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond perfect!”
Reviewed July 14, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I celebrated part of our honeymoon at the Tamarind villa, and it was even more wonderful than we expected. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Dianne & John, the owners of the villa. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful and unique to us, and are very good-hearted and sweet people.

The villa has EVERYTHING you need, from fresh fluffy towels to patio chairs or an iPod docking station, the views are breathtakingly beautiful, straight out of a magazine. The photos on Trip Advisor are a good indication of what the villa looks like, but once you arrive, they don't do the actual view justice - after all, how do you capture such beauty in a photo!

Bequia in itself is a wonderful and unique island, it has many delicious restaurants and bars, as well as some cute shops. The beaches are great as well. Its a fun island to explore and relax on. My husband and I ended up touring the other islands, and we also fell in love with Mayreau & the Tobago Cays, definitely worth a day trip.

Whoever is considering Tamarind, do not hesitate - you will fall in love and not regret your choice!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metchick0...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning views, luxurious surroundings, fantastic wedding venue”
Reviewed May 26, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Tamarind for our honeymoon although we arrived 2 days before the wedding. We had intended to get married on Princess Margaret beach but once we'd seen the view from the sun terrace, it didn't take too much thinking about to decide to change the venue!

Everything about Tamarind is of the highest standard from the furnishings in the bedroom to the facilities in the kitchen (we especially liked the American style fridge-freezer!). John and Dianne couldn't have been more helpful during our stay. We would endorse a previous reviewer's comments about using a local lady to cook a wonderful caribbean meal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2011
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
json123
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning villa, amazing holiday”
Reviewed May 23, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tamarind Villa over Christmas 2010 for a week of our honeymoon. We'd never visited Bequia and didn't know what to expect but the villa and island exceeded our expectations in every way. John and Dianne couldn't have more more hospitable, friendly, welcoming or helpful. You can tell how much they care about this place as the attention to detail is high! As it was Christmas they had even put a little tree in the villa and brought us delicious mince pies. Their own house is next door but they are very discreet and are around if you need them but give you lots of privacy. On our arrival a lovely home-cooked meal had been left in the fridge and the villa was absolutely immaculate. It's been beautifully done with a fantastically equipped kitchen and lovely linen and towels. The living space is wonderful, open-plan inside with a huge terrace, outdoor eating space and lovely swimming pool & sun loungers with the most incredible view. We absolutely loved every minute and would love to visit again - highly recommended either as a luxurious retreat for 2 or great sharing space for 2 couples. Only thing we would warn people of is the very steep lane up to the villa, but we had a 4x4 which Dianne hired for us and it was fine, and you soon get used to the steepness! Bequia is a fun island that definitely centres around boats and sailing, although we arrived by boat but then stayed on dry land for a week. There are lots of lovely beaches, drives around the island and great Caribbean restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield...
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bequai's best kept secret”
Reviewed March 18, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Not only is Bequai one of the Caribbean's best kept secrets Tamarind Villa high on the wooded slopes with dramatic views of the bay is a delight. The owners are welcoming and knowledgable about local restaurants and activities. The villa itself far exceeds expectations in its location, lay out and amenities. We spent 3 wonderful weeks here and began to feel 'local'. We used the services of a local taxi driver Noel to get around and hired a local lady to cook a couple of evening meals which meant we could enjoy our meal on the villa terrace overlooking the swimming pool lit up at night under a starry sky. Local people spoke highly about the villa and told us it was the best on the island. We couldn't disagree. It is a dilemma when recommending such stunning accommodation because we would want it to remain our secret however such luxury should be shared.
Dianne and John are happy to answer any questions and help with arrangements. You won' be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewed July 24, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: N/A
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing