We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooners' Samui Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Honeymooners' Samui Heaven”
Reviewed May 24, 2006

What a fantastic hotel/resort. We stayed at the Sala Samui for the first week of our honeymoon between 25 April and 2 May 06. It really was a splendid week and couldn't be faulted. The quality of the rooms is outstanding- we stayed in a Sala Pool Villa (number 12) and despite having our own pool, sun loungers and day bed we found ourselves spending the majority of our days around the hotels two main pools; both were little more than a 20 yard step from our villa. There is a wonderful infinity lap pool and a great family pool.

The bar/restaurant is great and although cheaper food can be found at the many bars along the beach the quality and ambience of the hotel restaurant (especially at night) cannot be beaten. At most the prices are equivalent to European food costs. The service and selection of food was great and served a fine mix of western and Thai dishes. On a couple of occasions it made great respite from the spicy Thai dishes to eat a steak and salad!

As mentioned above, the hotel is located on Choeng Mon beach. It is a wonderful sandy bay with shallow and safe waters in which to jet-ski/canoe. The only thing to be aware of is that the seabed in front of the hotel is filled with rock and coral, and it prevents safe and comfortable wading in the warm water. If you walk down a beach one hundred yards the rocks disappear and you will see lots of people enjoying the sea as it is far more easy to walk in the water there.

The beach bars and restaurants are all much of a muchness and serve perfectly adequate and cheap lunches (the best we found was "Honeys" at the end of the beach). At nightime though the bars come into their own and it is great to relax on a sun lounger around a warm campfire with the sea lapping at your feet- paradise. The atmosphere is great and there is a pleasant mix of Thais and Europeans.

Back to the hotel- our room was well specified and proved to be perfect. Due to our newly "married status" they spread rose petals over the bed and presented us with a free bottle of sparkling wine and a bunch of roses on arrival. The bedroom was air conditioned with double bed, safe and TV/DVD and opened up via French doors onto our private patio area. Another set of doors slid open to reveal our outdoor bathroom with great rainshower and bath. The private patio area was very secluded and boasted a great day-bed (ideal shade after a hard day's sunbathing!) and small yet very deep pool. The room was cleaned and prepared thoroughly by the most polite staff I have ever met, and the turn down service was nice also.

The Spa was dreamlike, smart and well equipped. We enjoyed a couples' massage and found the prices to be relatively reasonable- it really is a special place and you are treated like royalty. Of course you can find a cheap (100 baht) massages on the beach, but the experience is far less special.

The library is a nice touch and has a selection of books (mostly English) and the free internet access was helpful. My only criticism is the hotel's (and yes, OK, I know it's free) DVD rental service. Most of the DVDs we borrowed overnight were either damaged, found missing from the case or and (not uncommonly in Thailand) fake. If you enjoy fake DVDs (Wallace and Grommit!) then dig-out, but the quality was terrible and the repeated coughing of the cameraman whilst filming in the cinema was incredibly off-putting! I would hope that a hotel of this class could address this minor weakness in its customer offerings.

Other than the above, we found this hotel to be perfect and it is just far enough away from the chaos and dirt of Chaweng. My advice would be that if you don't like noise, dirt and tacky tee-shirt stalls stay away from Chaweng and check in at the wonderful Sala Samui. You won't be disappointed.

Happy from Hampshire!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Liss-Canary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    330
    76
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
1,458
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2006

My girlfriend and me stayed 11 nights at Sala this April and I can only agree with the other positive comments about this hotel. This is Thailand at it's best. Everything from the staff, the pool, rooms, facilities, room service and the restaurant holds a very high intl. standard and the setting is even better than the pics at the website......yes true!!
Even though there are more expensive resorts to stay at I can hardly see it can be done much better than Sala.

Highly recommended and I'd definately go back there.

PS! Try the coconut/lemongrass soup with mixed seafood at Sala restaurant........you'll never forget it :)

Narve from Norway

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We recently stayed three days at the Sala Samui. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left we could not fault either the resort or the amazing staff. We stayed in the Garden Pool Villa - incredibly luxurious. Furnishings and attention to detail are first class. The outdoor bath and shower and your own private pool made the villa ideal for a romantic holiday. The entire resort is well laid out- pools are amazing and beach is spotless with staff meticulously tidying each morning. The restaurant is very good and it was lovely to sit in the morning overlooking the beach and pool at breakfast. The shallow reef and rocks in the water were the only downside to swimming at the beach. The massage on the beach just next to the resort is a bargain and you should definitely take advantage of this. Can't say enough about this place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from 6 nights at the Sala Samui. This hotel really is a paradise of tranquility and calm.

Do not be put off by Its unassuming location behind a row of shops. Once you check in its pure luxury....

We stayed in a normal room with balcony ( the other 53 rooms had their own private pools ). Our room was wonderful overlooking some gardens. The balcony area was huge with a fantastic day bed to lounge in and wonderful open air bathroom. I have to say this was one of the coolest and most luxurious hotel rooms we have stayed in. Personally, I don't feel that it is worth paying the extra for your own private pool - but that is only my opinion. If you really value your privacy, then it would suit you, but the shared facilities are so good and the standard rooms so luxurious, that I don't think its worth paying the extra.

As the majority of rooms have their own pool and due to the seclusion of those villas, you really do feel like there are hardly any other guests there. It is unbelievably quiet and peaceful. Absolutely perfect for those who want to get away from it all. For me this was the biggest plus point of the hotel.

The shared pool area is excellent - they have 2 pools, one for kids to play in, one for adults to swim up and down in. This works quite well. Again due to the fact that so many guests have their own pool, this area is quiet and peaceful and there is no rush to 'bagsey' sun loungers.

The bar and restaurant area is also very good - although quite expensive by thai standards (not by UK standards). As a result, we found ourselves wandering down the beach to other beach front restaurants for lunch. When we did dine there, the food was great ( about £50 for a meal for 2 with drinks ), although my husband thought that the thai food had been toned down to suit western palates. I thought the western options were excellent.

We didn't use the spa facilities as the prices were similar to those that you would pay in the UK. Also, for a 1 minute walk down the beach, you could get a fab thai massage on the beach for an hour for about £5.

Only downside of the hotel is that there are no other restaurants within walking distance ( except the beach front ones nearby, but they are not particularly good ). This means that if you want to eat out in the evening, you need to hop in a cab to either Chaweng or Bophut - both about £3-£5 each way.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

What a fantastic resort. We have just returned from a 12 night stay at Sala Samui and had a great stay.
Stayed in a pool villa which I have to say was worth every penny. It was so nice to be able to use the pool , it was completely private and we felt we could have been ib the middle of no where. The day bed was also great to use in the day as in the shade but again private.
We received the honeymoon package which included sparkling wine, red roses, fruit and chocolates.The bed was covered in rose petals in hearts and the bath filled with rose petals.
We got married whist there(through a private company) and the staff were great and made a real fuss of us.
We also received a gift to celebrate thai new year and chocolate eggs were left outside our room to celebrate easter( a really lovely touch).
We made good use of the spa which is expensive but the surroundings and staff ensured all treatments were of an excellent standard. They also provide elemis treatments which again were excellent however slightly more expensive than uk.
Check in and check out were well managed. Access to cds,dvds and internet included..
The hotel food was amazing as were their smoothies and we enjoyed our wedding meal .
The pools are some of the best I have used and overlook the beach which has the most comfortable sun loungers(always some available) and again excellent service.
The staff were professional but friendly and nothing was too much trouble, yet not intrusive.(The beautician even came in on her day off to do my nails for the wedding)

The location is great with some nice restaurants on the beach. We particularly enjoyed Honeys. It is also only a short drive to both Chawang(very busy but fun with some excellent restaurants inc Chez Andy), and Bohput Fishermans Bay, quieter but again with some great places to eat.

We do not have any critisms of the resort and would love to return. None of the photos or reviews really do it justice, so go and try!
I would highly recommend it. A little piece of paradise .

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank lisaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

I had to finally put pen to paper to review the SALA. We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed in the resort. The breakfast was lovely, the room delightful and the beach is gorgeous.

We were a little bit disappointed because they had promised us champagne, fruit and chocolates on arrival for our anniversary which wasn't there. However, once questioned it arrived within the hour.

We absolutely loved this section of Koh Samui, so quiet and serene. Also you can step out and have very cheap massages and meals on the beach if you wish. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank asuann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Property: SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing