We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at SALA Samui Resort for our honeymoon. On our arrival we were given delicious welcome drinks made from tea and I was given a fragrant jasmine flower garland to wear around my wrist as a welcome. We were escorted to our room where we were shown the hotel and its amenities. There is dried guava and fresh mandarins offered in the rooms as well as a "pillow menu" in which you can pick the type of pillow you desire and housekeeping will deliver it to the room. As it was raining, my husband and I decided to relax for the afternoon in the deluxe suite we booked. There was a toddler staying next to us that was quite fussy and loud and after a day of travel we were hoping for peace and quiet. My husband called to ask to be moved and the staff was quite helpful. They had a room available in an hour. We asked if there was another type of room available now and we would pay the extra cost. The manager generously moved and upgraded us to a SALA pool villa free of charge for the 2 nights we were staying. This was a very unexpected surprise and the pool villa was spectacular. We have stayed in a few pool villas before and this pool was the cleanest we had seen. Breakfast was included in our stay and the hotel offers to deliver it to the room free of charge. This was a nice touch and although the hotel grounds and beach are beautiful, we didn't have a reason to leave the villa for our whole stay. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Anything we ordered to the room was delivered promptly. If and when we do return I would be sure to book the pool villa as it gave us the privacy and luxury that we desired and would be worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 507et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear signature "507et",

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at SALA Samui, and we are pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations. On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back in a near future,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,194)
There are newer reviews for SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the sala Samui with a friend.

This resort is quite special. Ten welcome is typical Thai, very friendly. The room was smallish but the outdoor area was spacious and cooling. The outdoor bathroom was interesting.. The room cleaning staff were so pleasant and so efficient. The room was spotless.

The 2 pools and the beach area were perfect. So well cleaned and maintained by attentive staff. Special mention has to made for Uam. This man is amazing. Ha made the poolside so enjoyable and relaxing throughout. And happy hour added to the funtimes!

The food was gorgeous, especially breakfast. Occasionally the chicken felt like it had been recooked, especially within rice dishes. The restaurant locations was perfect.

I enjoyed a facial in the spa. Quite expensive for Thailand and definitely the spa is not fancy. Not sure if I would return there. Not worth it relative to other spa hotels that I have been to about the world.

The main criticism that I would have to make would be that there was a big difference with the attitude that I received when I was alone versus when my friend arrived. I was alone for the first two days. Throughout this time I was invisible. I never received an a la carte menu for breakfast, had to physically find someone for coffee etc. Being served was an ordeal. This changed once I had company. This would worry me if I had been here alone, and I travel quite a bit alone.

Overall though this is a lovely hotel, on a lovely stretch of beach. Beware the Mosquitos though! They are everyplace...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank fionadesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear signature "fionadesmond",

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We have taken good notice on your comments of being a single traveller, although it is a bit surprising, as we do give the same service to single guests as to couples. The only reason, might be that as we mainly have couples, and that when we approach the "single" guests in the restaurant, they normally ask us to wait with until their partner/spouse arrives, and hence there might have been a mistake in that they believed your partner was due, please accept our most sincere apologies, and thank you for pointing it out, and we will take appropriate measures. We are pleased to read that your overall stay was good, and we would also take the opportunity to welcome you back on a future stay,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed on the deluxe balcony, which is the 'cheapest room', can't believe it, great value for money. The outdoor bed on the balcony is great for reading and lazing. The beach is fantastic for tanning, it is great for a moonlight walk with your love one, even on a moonless night.
We did the Signature spa package on arrival and it make us feel great after. We did the Couple Choice spa pack too.
Of course, the breakfast is great and the shuttle to Chaweng Tops helps too for some shopping.
We love the place and we will come back to Sala Samui again, most definitely.
We like to say a great thank you to all the great service staff that really run the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Photofont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear signature "Photofont",

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor ! Wea re happy to read that you appreciated the services of the hotel and the attention from our staff....and with regards to the beach of Choeng Mon, you are absolutely correct that its ideal for a moonlight walk, (with or without moon) - being a secluded and romantic beach far from the "hustle and bustle",

Kind regards & welcome back !

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For once the professional photos of the resort really don't lie: Sala Samui is much more than a hotel, it's a tropical seaside paradise.

Everything is immaculately clean, from the two pools, to the restaurant , to the beautiful Thai beach. The food was some of the best we had throughout our travels, and although it is a little pricier than other offerings, it's worth the extra money. The two happy hours (two for one cocktails) help you make your money back!

We spent most of our time sunning ourselves on the beach. There is a man selling corn on the cob, which is a must, and Thai massage is on offer. There are sun beds around the pools as well, both of which are the perfect temperature and so unbelievably relaxing. There are private pool villas, and many people writing reviews on here recommend getting one. They do look incredible, but the luxury balcony apartment we stayed in was cheaper and just as private. The balcony apartments are on top of the resort's cheapest accommodation, in an area surrounded by green grass and palm trees.

I would wholly recommend staying at Sala Samui. If the accommodation and the food don't tempt you, come for the staff alone. They are without exception the most friendly, professional and helpful staff we have ever come across. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear signature "Ben W",

Thank you very much from the entire resort for your warm recommendation, and we are delighted to read that you appreciated the services of the resort, and we would all be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the minute you enter the outside reception area you are made to feel special .We were greeted with an iced tropical juice and a personal welcome from Dick the resort manager. As our flight was an early arrival we were offered breakfast before we were taken to our room, Sala Pool Villa. The room and everything about this Resort is truly 5 Star. Make sure you have the Thai Banquet at the restaurant. I could go on forever about this place, believe me you will not be disappointed in anyway.
PS Dick don’t forget to buy the Paddock Pass at the Formula 1 Grand Prix next year. Cheers

Room Tip: We had room 5 away from the pool/restaurant area which was very quite we thought we where the only o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear signature "Stuart W",

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review of SALA Samui on Tripadvisor !
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the services of the hotel, and I will follow your recommendation !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort. The service was phenomenal, we tipped the staff regularly. The food was amazing, and the massages at the spa were out of this world. The only negatives were the heat/humidity and the mosquitoes - unrelated to the resort itself. Bring bug spray!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank The_Chos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear signature "JenC_in_OC"

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui on Tripadvisor ! We are delighted to read that you appreciated the food & the services of the resort...and we are sorry that you experienced any mosquitoes. We do have an intensive pest control system in place, and we have intensified it over the monsoon period,-but it is difficult to completely eradicate that problem being in the tropics, -but we try to keep it at a minimum.
On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcoming you back in a near future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very good hotel. The staff is very friendly and the food is good. The hotel doesn't feel like a 5 star resort, but a very nice 4 star.

We opted for a Garden pool villa, and while the entirety of the unit was very nice, the actual indoor area is quite small and tight. The bathroom is outdoors, which was 100% fine and having a private pool was very cool, but I think next time we come to Samui we will opt for a beach view over having a private pool.

Spa was great and the spa package was well worth it... 5 hours a person, 2 people, car service to and from airport, bottle of welcome champagne, complimentary lunch all for under $200 was worth it.

Location is great. Beautiful, quite soft sand beach on the hotel that has public access (it's a large beach and the Sala Section is restricted exclusively to Sala Guests) so there are Non-hotel restaurants and bars on the beach as well. Essentially a $10 cab ride to anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear signature "mrjsuss",

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui ! As you correctly call it, it's aimed to be "Natural & Relaxing", another other descriptions might be understated luxury, which ever term you prefer, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the services & the friendliness of our staff, and we thank you for recommending us to fellow travellers, and we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,603 reviews
6.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 184 in Bophut
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort

Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range: $126 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing