We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lux-feel, tanning on Quiet beach and fantastic spa at Sala Samui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lux-feel, tanning on Quiet beach and fantastic spa at Sala Samui”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed on the deluxe balcony, which is the 'cheapest room', can't believe it, great value for money. The outdoor bed on the balcony is great for reading and lazing. The beach is fantastic for tanning, it is great for a moonlight walk with your love one, even on a moonless night.
We did the Signature spa package on arrival and it make us feel great after. We did the Couple Choice spa pack too.
Of course, the breakfast is great and the shuttle to Chaweng Tops helps too for some shopping.
We love the place and we will come back to Sala Samui again, most definitely.
We like to say a great thank you to all the great service staff that really run the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photofont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear signature "Photofont",

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor ! Wea re happy to read that you appreciated the services of the hotel and the attention from our staff....and with regards to the beach of Choeng Mon, you are absolutely correct that its ideal for a moonlight walk, (with or without moon) - being a secluded and romantic beach far from the "hustle and bustle",

Kind regards & welcome back !

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    338
    79
    19
    7
See reviews for
280
1,494
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For once the professional photos of the resort really don't lie: Sala Samui is much more than a hotel, it's a tropical seaside paradise.

Everything is immaculately clean, from the two pools, to the restaurant , to the beautiful Thai beach. The food was some of the best we had throughout our travels, and although it is a little pricier than other offerings, it's worth the extra money. The two happy hours (two for one cocktails) help you make your money back!

We spent most of our time sunning ourselves on the beach. There is a man selling corn on the cob, which is a must, and Thai massage is on offer. There are sun beds around the pools as well, both of which are the perfect temperature and so unbelievably relaxing. There are private pool villas, and many people writing reviews on here recommend getting one. They do look incredible, but the luxury balcony apartment we stayed in was cheaper and just as private. The balcony apartments are on top of the resort's cheapest accommodation, in an area surrounded by green grass and palm trees.

I would wholly recommend staying at Sala Samui. If the accommodation and the food don't tempt you, come for the staff alone. They are without exception the most friendly, professional and helpful staff we have ever come across. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear signature "Ben W",

Thank you very much from the entire resort for your warm recommendation, and we are delighted to read that you appreciated the services of the resort, and we would all be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the minute you enter the outside reception area you are made to feel special .We were greeted with an iced tropical juice and a personal welcome from Dick the resort manager. As our flight was an early arrival we were offered breakfast before we were taken to our room, Sala Pool Villa. The room and everything about this Resort is truly 5 Star. Make sure you have the Thai Banquet at the restaurant. I could go on forever about this place, believe me you will not be disappointed in anyway.
PS Dick don’t forget to buy the Paddock Pass at the Formula 1 Grand Prix next year. Cheers

Room Tip: We had room 5 away from the pool/restaurant area which was very quite we thought we where the only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear signature "Stuart W",

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review of SALA Samui on Tripadvisor !
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the services of the hotel, and I will follow your recommendation !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort. The service was phenomenal, we tipped the staff regularly. The food was amazing, and the massages at the spa were out of this world. The only negatives were the heat/humidity and the mosquitoes - unrelated to the resort itself. Bring bug spray!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear signature "JenC_in_OC"

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui on Tripadvisor ! We are delighted to read that you appreciated the food & the services of the resort...and we are sorry that you experienced any mosquitoes. We do have an intensive pest control system in place, and we have intensified it over the monsoon period,-but it is difficult to completely eradicate that problem being in the tropics, -but we try to keep it at a minimum.
On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcoming you back in a near future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very good hotel. The staff is very friendly and the food is good. The hotel doesn't feel like a 5 star resort, but a very nice 4 star.

We opted for a Garden pool villa, and while the entirety of the unit was very nice, the actual indoor area is quite small and tight. The bathroom is outdoors, which was 100% fine and having a private pool was very cool, but I think next time we come to Samui we will opt for a beach view over having a private pool.

Spa was great and the spa package was well worth it... 5 hours a person, 2 people, car service to and from airport, bottle of welcome champagne, complimentary lunch all for under $200 was worth it.

Location is great. Beautiful, quite soft sand beach on the hotel that has public access (it's a large beach and the Sala Section is restricted exclusively to Sala Guests) so there are Non-hotel restaurants and bars on the beach as well. Essentially a $10 cab ride to anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear signature "mrjsuss",

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui ! As you correctly call it, it's aimed to be "Natural & Relaxing", another other descriptions might be understated luxury, which ever term you prefer, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the services & the friendliness of our staff, and we thank you for recommending us to fellow travellers, and we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from a month's return stay at Sala Samui. Many thanks to Dick, Daniel and all their staff for such a fantastic holiday - already looking forward to October 2014. If you want perfection then this is it. I really cannot fault it and if you are going to Koh Samui then do not miss out on the chance of staying at this resort. The staff keep the resort looking iimmaculate, the rooms are so clean, you are given everything you could possibly need and the faciities are great. Breakfasts are superb and do not miss out on the chance of room service in the evenings so you can really chill out. The spa is well worth the money - you can get massages cheaper on the beach and elsewhere but I really wouldn't recommend it. The staff at the spa are so well trained and know exactly what they are doing. We could not have asked for more and I would happily recommend this resort time and time again.
I have only been home two days and cannot wait to go back!!!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford a pool villla then do go ahead and book one - you have complete privacy with a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Lynne,

After 1 month at SALA, - it's empty without you ! On behalf of the entire team, -we are looking forwards to welcoming you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Like most of you'll, I spend a considerable amount of time researching a property before I book it online. In this case, it was almost a week; before I narrowed down to my top 3. Sala Samui won, and the rest forms the basis of my review.

What throws you back when you arrive at the hotel is it's simplicity and the fact that check-in is not in a fancy A/C lobby but in an outdoor casual setting. I'm hoping at this point, I didn't make a mistake and book something else... also that much mentioned cold towel and welcome drink are nowhere in sight! Gulp

Now for what makes Sala 7 Star! If what you are looking for in Koh Samui is pristine beaches, quiet, privacy, complete luxury and silence, finish reading this review and book Sala Samui now! If you're looking into crazy parties, night life, shopping, full moon events, etc, this probably isn't where you should be staying but I guess you knew that already.

In Koh Samui, we wanted a good hotel where our room was a stand alone villa with a private pool and close to the beach, Sala ticked all the boxes. Apart from doing this, staff here (I believe) are thoroughly trained to ensure they are as unobtrusive as possible - they are not seen loitering about, they're never knocking on your doors, they are always polite and cordial when you walk past them but apart from that it's like being in your private resort.

Now comes the basis for the 5 star ++ rating, after check-in and the towel and drink (they finally came) you get personally escorted to your room not just for a tour but to go through the pillows, creams, shower soaps on offer and select what works best for you! They got my attention now.

We got a call on Day 2 that maintenance was scheduled for the next day for 2 hours and as a result of the inconvenience we would be given two free massage vouchers for their spa. Not bad. Well, not really... (BTW - I never saw a maintenance man or heard a sound)

What we actually received was two 90 minute vouchers for their spa (not the crummy 30 or 60 mins keep our guest quiet massages), their most expensive ones! What's more, the voucher entitled you to almost all their top end massages and not just the basic ones. At this stage, I'm thinking ... hang on .... must be a catch somewhere!

Along with this (yes, there's more) we also received a meal voucher for two (buffet or a la carte). Now, at Dinner we inquired rather timidly if the Thai dish was included (yes it was), was the more expensive veal included (yes, it was), what about the Angus Beef (yes, it was). At this point, no matter how skeptical a person you are, these guys had my vote as being a hotel that would always have my loyalty!

Daily Breakfast at Sala Samui includes an extraordinary range of fresh fruits, veggies, some thai dishes (noodles, rice, curries), a live cooking station, deserts, meat cuts, salads and a Bar (Yes, you read that right) that serves you a host of over 10 fresh fruit juice mixers not juices but combos (healthy, invigorating, etc). If that's not OTT, they also have Bloody Mary's with Absolut that you can help yourself to ... for breakfast!!! and sparkling wine on Sundays! Oh, did I forget they also have an A la carte menu with a range of delicacies they also cook up in case you don't feel like going for the buffet! All of the above, are FREE and included in your stay.

They didn't give me a late check-out (I asked for 1 hour) and I wasn't too happy, but you know what, after doing all that they do; it didn't really matter. I read 1 review saying this hotel wasn't 5 star before I booked it and to those people I have this to say:

- I've stayed at the Ritz's, 4 Seasons, & hotels like the Martinez in Cannes at rates up to 1000 Euros a night and not 1 of them holds a candle to how valued Sala made us feel as guests.

To the team at Sala Samui - A Heartfelt THANK YOU, & I wish 5 star hotels the world over take a cue from you! To my fellow travellers, Enjoy Bliss in Koh Samui only at Sala Samui :-)

Room Tip: Rooms are not cheap by Koh Samui standards but spend that little extra for a 'Truly Private - po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank il0ve2travel005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear signature "il0ve2travel005",

Thank you very much for your glowing review of SALA Samui, and for the kind words. We are genuinely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team, we are looking forwards to welcome you bak !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
6.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 186 in Bophut
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort

Property: SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing