We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend in June, overall was a great experience.
Good: The beach front scenery, 2 large outdoor pools facing water, staff generally helpful in organising tours, variety of breakfast menu was extensive.
Not so good: Restaurant staff messed up the bill during lunch, and food was slow when we told them we need to board a flight after lunch. Also the room wasn't ready when we got there at 3pm, even though standard checkin is 2pm. Size of room was a bit cozy. But these are minor points overall.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear signature "Jack C",

Thank you very much for your positive review, and also your constructive criticism, -that has been well received. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and we would be delighted to welcoming you back in the near future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    325
    76
    19
    7
See reviews for
261
1,447
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are looking for that 'special place' for romance this is defiantly it. Although it is quite expensive for Thailand, it is well worth the money and the accommodation is exceptionally good. We stayed for 5 nights in a garden room and then moved to 3 nights in a pool villa. I think this is the best option as you can go sight seeing for a few days (so much to see ad do such as the National Park) and then enjoy a few nights in your own pool villa, which makes it much more affordable.

The food is absolutely delicious, but there are plenty of places in town to eat though if you are on a budget so we would recommend doing bed and breakfast here. There is a shuttle bus which can take you into town or taxis that are available. The beach by the hotel is nice but quite small but if you go into town then there is a larger beach. We went to see Thai boxing, Lady Boy show, National Bark, Big Buddha and Full Moon Party all of which we thoroughly enjoyed and recommend. The two pools are stunning and it is very chilled and relaxing.

Even though it rained for most of our time here it never dampen our spirits and I have never felt so relaxed and recharged from a holiday. I would highly recommend this place for a honeymoon or special occasion, one of the best places I have ever stayed in...it ticks all the boxes for a wonderful retreat away from it all.

Room Tip: Book for time in Garden room and Pool Villa so you can experience Thailand and relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear signature "Kat S",

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of SALA Samui on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also managed to see a bit of what the island has to offer !

Kind regards & welcome back !

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent a fantastic week at a Sala Samui and totally recommend this hotel. We opted for a Sala Pool villa which is expensive indeed, but we felt the stay was worth the money. The room was stunning with beautiful open-air bathroom and a lovely pool (it is slightly bigger than a plunge pool and it is 150 cm deep). The location is ideal since the hotel is between Bophut (Fishermen Village, very nice and plenty of dining options) and Chaweng (much more crowded and for mass tourism / partying), it takes approx 10 minutes by scooter for both destinations, very easy road even a night (a scooter costs only 3-4 euros per day). The hotel is on a quite beach, but you can still find dining options there too, water is blue and clear (one of my favorite beaches in Samui). There are two common swimming pools, one more suitable for children/families and the other one perfect for swimming (25 m) with fantastic design and surrounded by lotus flowers. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had with a buffet changing every day and a la carte menu (no extras charged for that). The service is fast and attentive. Water is free the whole day long and served also while sunbathing at the pool or beach. I took a 3 days package at the spa and although prices are close to European standards I am extremely satisfied with the quality of the treatments and the facilities. The complimentary yoga class is also highly recommended.
Overall I would totally go back to Sala Samui however I would probably not choose this hotel for a honeymoon since the villas are very close to each other and this does not give you total privacy. A few points for improvement I can think of: I believe the arrival / lobby gives the wrong impression compared to the rest of the hotel and could be improved, we talked to other guests and they were worried as well once arrived because the entrance is close to abandoned buildings / construction site, not so clean and with no gate (everyone can pass through the hotel on the way to the beach). Once we started walking through the resort we had a completely different feel and were totally relieved. There are some stains on the floor of the bedroom and on the outside gazebo that could be removed. It would be great if yoga cold be offered every day instead of twice a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear signature "SL444",

Thank you very much for your taking the time to post a positive review of your stay @ SALA Samui ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and also well noted your improvement suggestions.

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We would recommend this resort to anybody...we stayed in Chaweng beach 5 years ago at the currently ranked No.1 Samui resort and after taking a short drive there for some beach fun for a few hours, we realized that Sala Resort was the best choice we made this time and surely should take that No.1 spot...we would definitely come back to Sala Samui.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear signature "NV76",

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us ! I tend to agree with you that our location in Choeng Mon is better, as we are only 10 minutes away from the lively Chaweng, and another 10 minutes away from the charming Fishermans Village...yet on one of the finer beaches of the island, in a quiet location with a handful of shops and restaurants around the corner.

Thank you again, and we would be delighted to see you back at SALA,

Kind regards,

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Came to this hotel for our honeymoon and it also happened to be Thai new year while we were there too.
The facilities are fab and the rooms are lovely. They are serviced twice a day and so kept very clean and bug free! The staff are so friendly and will do anything for you.
They put on a great show for new year...drum parade, fire dancer, Thai boxing over the swimming pool! All this despite the heavy persistent rain!
The restaurant was lovely and the breakfasts are AMAZING! You can literally have anything you want, lots fresh to order, lots self service... They even have a juice bar that you can request a custom made fresh juice from!
Spa was wonderful- staff very nice and made us feel comfortable despite it being our first time at a spa!
The local town has plenty of small restaurants to choose from to get cheap authentic food, there are also a few other hotels with more up market restaurants if you like.
Would love to go back one day!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear signature "Lucyemay"

Thank you very much for your positive review ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Songkran festivities, -that are a very special part of the Thai culture, and when it actaully doesn't matter so much if it's "pouring down", as you are supposed to get wet anyway ! At SALA the entire staff participates in the festivity, and they guide and interact with the guests in the celebrations, -and it is a truly memorable day. We would be happy to see you back April 13, 2014.

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had 5 nights at Sala Samui - wow what a place.
Choeng Mon is small enough to get away from the crowds but big enough to offer a variety of bars, places to eat and things to see. If you need to see more, hire a car and prepare to be amazed by the sights of the island.
In terms of what we wanted in a holiday, Sala had it all. Small and private with stunning facilites, beautiful surrounds and attentive staff. Great food and facilities.
We'll be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear signature "Diane L",

Thank you. We are all happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forwards to see you again !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was incredible time when we spent two nights in SALA! I really regret that I haven't reserved more nights there. The staff were sweet and professional, everyone with sincere smiles every time! From housekeeping to property management staff! We stayed in SALA Pool Villa #11. We were regarded as VIP when checking in as I just mentioned "honeymoon" on Booking.com… tasty welcome drinking, flower bracelet, detail orientation, flora bed, welcome chocolate and tropical fruit… everthing were well-prepared!
We are sure coming back to SALA next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovingcamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear signature "Lovingcamilla" ,

Thank you very much for posting a positive review on Tripadvisor ! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forwards to welcoming you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Property: SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing