We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach, excellent service”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a great time staying at this hotel! The rooms are well decorated and staff is very friendly. If you want a more quiet beach (compared to chaweng) this is the place. There will be a new high end resort next door soon which will move this beach to a high end luxury location in the near future I believe. Very pleasant stay, would definitely come again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_Resort, Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa and for choosing our property for your vacation here on Koh Samui. We know that you have a wide choice of accommodation options and certainly appreciate that you selected us!
It is indeed pleasing to read that you thought the overall experience was "perfect" and your remarks will gladly be shared with the entire team here.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again for your next holiday to the Gulf of Thailand.

Best Regards,
Koramit(Wipa)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    338
    79
    19
    7
See reviews for
280
1,494
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived at 9.00pm on the first Friday of our 14 day stay we were totally impressed. The service and speed of our check in was seamless and before you knew it we were ushered into our Pool Villa and the most impressive part was our luggage was there waiting for us " a first in our years of traveling ".

The staff are amazing very friendly and efficient, nothing is too much trouble. The little things that they do make your day run smoothly a very friendly atmosphere .

We would have no hesitation staying here again, it has made a very challenging last 12 months for us melt away and has taught us to relax once more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_Resort, Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa and for choosing our property for your vacation here on Koh Samui. We know that you have a wide choice of accommodation options and certainly appreciate that you selected us!
It is indeed pleasing to read that you thought the overall experience was "perfect" and your remarks will gladly be shared with the entire team here.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again for your next holiday to the Gulf of Thailand.

Best Regards,
Koramit(Wipa)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at the SALA for a week before Christmas 2010, in a normal upstairs room.

This is a fine hotel and has all you expect from a big resort of this size with the service level required. Everything is well-executed and finely run.

However we don't understand the room layout where floor plan is approximately split 30/20/30 between the room/washroom/balcony. As a result the room (with air conditioning of course) feels extremely cramped with the bed in the middle and all the other standard furniture around the periphery. On the flip side, the balcony is far too big to be used for a couple. It seems like these rooms were converted from an original all-inclusive villa design and although not something that should be held against the management, should be kept in mind by guests.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the basic rooms - any of the suites or villas are so much better. It would be worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcmcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinders, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Didnt need to leave Sala Samui, except for a massage or a walk! though we venture out to other restaurants but really didnt need to. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa and it was right at the front by the lap pool. The bed was deliciously comfy and the pool was perfect temperature. Breakfasts were brilliant with choice of buffet and al a carte - eg eggs benedict etc were at no charge if your hotel stay included breakfast. The atmosphere was very relaxed, laid back and quiet. Decor of resort was very tasteful and a lot of thought had gone into it's build. A tad on the expensive side though!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaFlinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa and for choosing our property for your vacation here on Koh Samui. We know that you have a wide choice of accommodation options and certainly appreciate that you selected us!
It is indeed pleasing to read that you thought the overall experience was "perfect" and your remarks will gladly be shared with the entire team here. Thanks for the comment too about our brilliant breakfasts!
It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again for your next holiday to the Gulf of Thailand.
CS Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We found Sala Samui Resort of an exceptional standard.We had 7 fabulous nights. From the moment we checked in with Kwan we were made feel very welcome and able to check in earlier than 4pm. Our room was amazing and like nothing i have seen before from the comfortable bed to the outdoor bathroom. We stayed in a lovely garden pool villa (50) which was opposite the reception. The only downfall on the room it is near the construction work going on near the resort which can be loud during the day. There were no other villas available.

The resort made us feel special and we were always made feel welcome by the friendly staff. There are only 70 villas in the resort so it feels quiet and relaxing. We strongly recommend cocktails by the pool with the friendly cocktail staff. The buffet breakfast was something we always looked forward too. The fresh juices were squeezed and there were many too choose from. The Restaurant is quite pricey for Thai standards but the quality is worth it. We recommend to try Mr cobis corn as it tastes delicious. The taxi service provided by Sala we used regularly to shop and dine in Chaweng was great and the one driver we used Orr was very helpful and friendly..The rooms are cleaned daily and the turn down service is a lovely touch as with the treats left. We strongly recommend Sala to couples who want a relaxing romantic holiday and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon77GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
You write that your stay with us here at SALA Samui Resort and Spa was "absolutely" brilliant and we in turn are "absolutely" delighted that you took the time to share such comments with the readers of Tripadvisor.com. Thank you!
It's good to read that you enjoyed your garden pool villa and were able to completely relax. I apologise that the work from the construction site opposite the entrance to our resort was a little loud at times. Your villa is actually one of two villas that are closest to this site.The owners of this nearby property however have actually been very responsive in keeping noise levels to a minimum. The heavy work on this site is due to finish in the next few weeks. At least workers are not toiling 24 hours,7 days a week which is often common practice here in Thailand.
Your wonderful remarks about our comfortable beds, refreshing cocktails at Happy Hour, the wide variety of breakfast buffet items and fresh juices, yummy turn down treats in the villa and friendly, attentive staff are all most appreciated.
I too, hope that you will come back and visit with us again soon.
CS Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4d 3n and it was amazing. The best part of Sala Samui is the perfect balance between traditional and modern design intertwine together with the ability to create the perfect outdoor resort ambience which many places has failed. Although the bathroom section was outdoor it was protected nicely with the necessary curtaines and shades and there were hardly any creepy crawlies around which you may need to look out for at most resorts. Landscaping and design of place was very well planned and attention to details which many resort lacks was apparent in Sala Samui.

Service was excellent - all staff was warm and ready to help with anything from the moment we were picked at the airport and this was maintained throughout our stay. Really loved the daily local snacks which will be given every evening during the turndown service.
We opted for the spa retreat package which was also extended with the same excellence of service level.
We also took the half day tour which was guided by a knowledgeable tour guide about Koh Samui's background and progressive development.
Location of the resort was great for us as we were at the quieter part of the beach but it is just a 15mins drive to chaweng or fishermans village at bo phut for more entertainment or shopping choices.



The only thing that was slight disadvantage to the place (though mot a dealbreaker) are the flies in the morning at the Sala restaurant..would suggest to put out lemongrass andles to swat off the flies as it can be an appetite killer.

All in all will definately return to Sala Samui and highly recommended for all types of travellers be it couples or families/friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peepsKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
When checking out from SALA Samui Resort and Spa I kindly request our guests to complete a questionnaire regarding their stay with us. Like most concerned hotels and resorts we are constantly striving to improve our service and want to monitor how we are performing. In this letter I mention that the real measure of our success however lies in your answer to the question; "would you return and would you recommend us to family and friends?"
It is therefore gratifying to read in your review that you would do both. We really cannot ask for better acknowledgement of how you enjoyed your stay with us than this. Thank you!
On behalf of the entire SALA team we look forward to once again welcoming you back to our resort.
CS Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooquitlam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Shared Presidential suite with our friends. both rooms identical with a kitchenette and lounging area in between. Outdoor bathrooms with shower and soak tub. Private pool with 2 daybeds over looking hotel pool and view of the ocean. Can be made private or open to view. Champagne and roses we waiting for us to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
magical 4 nights. Thanks to staff and friends for memorable anniversary again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property on TripAdvisor .com.
I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed staying in our Presidential Villa and that our SALA team were able to make the celebration of your 25th Wedding Anniversary so special.
CS Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
723 reviews
6.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 186 in Bophut
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort

Property: SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing