We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - amazing hotel - loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed in one of the boathouses and so glad we did. Amazing! Fabulous swimming pools, great location, friendly and helpful staff. Our boathouse was not available on the day we arrived so they put us up in the honeymoon suite (it was our anniversary so that was perfect), gave us vouchers for a free meal, a cake and bubbly were sent to us and vouchers for a massage. The buffet dinners on the beach were great - food excellent.
Breakfasts good - not fantastic but more than adequate. If you need a change from the thai food there is a wonderful indian restaurant Akbar just along the road.
The thai massages were amazing -didn't use hotel ones as expensive but just went along road.
Went on an island tour which took us to a place to do the elephant riding. This was a joke. There was an awful animal show which we refused to watch and the baby elephants and monkeys were being treated really badly and were chained up. We saw them being beaten. If you want to do the elephant riding which we did - do some research and try to avoid the theme park ones.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel was a disappointment. It was billed to us as a 5 star hotel by our travel agent but it was clearly not. The rooms were small and had the feel of a motel. Our room had mosquitoes and the bathroom was depressing. When we arrived, there was no hot water. In addition to all this, the power went out twice during the night. Once around 3 am for a couple of hours and then again around 6am for a short period. Traveler be forewarned, the pictures on the hotel website look nothing like the actual hotel. Our booking was for 3 nights but we ended up leaving after the first night and checked into the Renaissance from where i am writing this review. This hotel is beautiful and we just had an excellent meal at TawaNN!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey72_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed here with my wife as the first stop on our honeymoon in Thailand and we were blown away by it!

We stayed in one of the converted rice barges (after which the hotel takes its name) surrounded by a lush green tropcial paradise. They knew in advance it was our honeymoon and on our arrival found the huge bath had been filled with flower petals, and there was champagne and a cake waiting for us when we walked in. It was AMAZING!!!

The rice barge was fantastic - a large lounge area upstairs, and then downstairs a big bathroom, large changing area (could be used as a second bedroom if you've kids) and then a big bedroom. It was airconditioned and so whilst it was roasting and humid outside, we weren't troubled with that or mosquitos inside. :o)

There is a large swimming pool in the hotel grounds, with views out to the beach/sea. The breakfasts were lovely and although we only ate once in the hotel, the food and service were very good.

On the road where the hotel is, there are a number of small restaurants serving delicious authentic food. One was run by an ex-head chef from the hotel. The food was great. Can't remember it's name???!!! The others we ate at there were also great. Plus there's a 7-11 type shop if you need any bits or bobs.

it's a fairly short trip down to the busiest beach of the island - Chaweng Beach - which is now full of bars/restaurants/hotels (it's a massive stip a mile or two long). We didn't actually make it onto the beach there, but we did go to the beach by our hotel - Choengmon Beach. Positively beautiful! The Choengmon area where the hotel is is so much nicer than Chaweng - quieter, smaller and more attractive.

We definitely recommend the Imperial Boathouse and staying in one of the converted barges! A real experience. Wonderful.

The staff were incredibly friendly. The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there, so it felt like we had it mostly to ourselves. Such a great way to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Lovely hotel, clean and well maintained. The service was good overall, although some of the receptionists were less then helpful, this appears to be a language thing! Our first room was very good, and we were concerned that the room we were going to be moved into the next day ( which wasnt ready on our arrival) wouldnt be as good. Not only did we get a fantastic room in the main block over looking the gardens, but due to our inconvenience we were given fresh fruit baskets everyday as well as vouchers for a meal in the restaurant and trips into Chaweng beach. The pool was very busy and full of 'loving couples' , we tended not to use the hotel facilities but enjoyed the pleasures of the beach which is quiet away from the hotel, in fact the busiest part of the beach was at the hotel. The nearby bars and massage stands offered sun beds, there were rarely more than about 10 in any one place and the sea was lovely and close, when the tide was in. The beach was clean and it was a dream just to paddle in the warm waters. The massage stands did a great service and incredible prices and it was worth the haggle - that was part of the fun. Take snorkels, there is amazing marine life in the shallow waters, which would be missed if you didnt put your head under the water. food and drink in the beachside bars was good and of good value. The meals in the hotel were quite pricey, but they did prepare a vegan meal for me on our day of arrival and after the restaurant had closed as we didn't get in until late. The activities were quite fun - we tried the carving vegetables into interesting shapes! it was very hot, done at the bar but fun all the same. Cocktails in this resort are great fun to try. We ensured we got our five a day - well the fruit is to die for!
there were hawkers on the beach, they were fine and it was fun to haggle for items. Good value can be found here and if you said to come back another day, they remembered so shopping in town wasn't necessary. Sundresses were the best value.
We were going to try the diving, however it was so lovely on the beach, we gave it a miss!
We had only one night when a family with young children moved in beside us and kept us awake most of the night. The hotel staff were great, they reassured us that it was only for the one night and we wouldn't be disturbed the next night, and we weren't! The walkway to the beach was wood - you do need something on your feet, in the day the boards get really hot - we found out the hard way when we popped back to our room and had to jump between the shadows so we didn't burn our feet! overall a great place for a holiday, and lovely sun and warmth after the snow and cold of the UK winter.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfitz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed here for the 2nd half of my honeymoon. They made such a big effort to make it special for us, love heart pillows and rose petals on the bed, more petals in the bath, flowers, honeymoon cake, sparkling wine and fruit. They couldnt have done anymore to make it as special as it was. It is a really good hotel, every bit deserving of its 4*'s. The pools are stunning and beach fantastic. The food was sooo good, breakfast a real treat with a variety of western and Thai food, loved it! There is so much to do in Ko Samui and Ko Phangan, it was the best honeymoon ever and a trip of a lifetime. We stayed for an extra 2 nights in this hotel as there was alot of trouble in Bangkok we wanted to avoid, but one day I would love to go back and visit Bangkok too. I highly reccomend this hotel they are so polite and friendly and really go out of their way to make your stay great. Loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonbeamandstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I did not stay at the Boat House but we did go to the beach and and had a cocktail at the Hotel.

It is an impressive looking hotel and the staff were very friendly and the service was good. The drinks menu was extensive although a couple of the cocktails we ordered tasted differently to any we had ever tasted... and not in a good way! I suspect some of the more complicated cocktails were ordered rarely and as a result the staff did not know how to make them.

The best cocktails we had were at Just Jonnos.

Just Jonnos is just up the road, at most a five minute walk. The food and drink menu was extensive and everything we tried we were really impressed with.

We had breakfast / brunch at Just Jonnos most days and started the evening with a cocktail or two. The atmosphere is really chilled out and everybody at the bar ended up chatting together.

Just Jonnos is a really find and made our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegallyBlonde29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Just back from our 5th stay at the Imperial Boat House since 2004. The fact that we've stayed there 5 times probably says it all although I do recognise that there have been a number of mixed reviews on this hotel.

Let's start with the not so positives. The hotel is not 5 star but then again it doesn't charge 5 star prices. (We stayed for 14 nights but only paid for 7, if that's not a bargain what is ?) The rooms are not luxurious but are well equipped, spacious and clean.( We have never stayed in a barge as we've always found the rooms more than adequate.) Some areas of the hotel are a bit dated but it is clear that the management are trying to work on this aspect. Lastly if you are looking for a riotous night life then don't go to the Boat House cos there isn't any.

The not so positives are however far out-weighed by the positives .

The hotel grounds are stunning and include 2 pools, the beach attractive and the staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts are excellent and unlike many other reviewers we have eaten in the hotel regularly as we've always found the food to be of good quality. The Curry evening was especially good value at 390 baht per head. There are however some excellent restaurants close by to the hotel ( the one next door Cove Bay View Restaurant is particularly good but not the cheapest on the beach) .

The location of the hotel in Choeng Mon is another attraction for us as it is much quieter than Chaweng.

Once again we found that in terms of value for money the Imperial Boat House was excellent especially compared to hotels in Europe or North America and we will no doubt be paying our 6th visit sometime in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
7.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,663 reviews
6.9 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
7.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
433 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui

Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range: $66 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island.Complimentary round-trip transfer to Chaweng is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing