We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but improvements are needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Here from for 3 nights. Was impressed by the beauty of the resort. The hotel is nice overall but there are some serious parts they neglect. I stayed in a premier room, which has a terrace. Stairs and view outside the door if the resort of these rooms isn’t the best. Room was spacious but kind of out dated. Friend was in a boathouse. Lots of steps to get to the room and not good for families with one bed. The top part has a couch, flat screen tv and table. The bottom a bed and bathroom but no TV. Not worth the extra price my friend paid. Lots of Germans, Russians, couples, and old people in tiny swimsuits. Get a bike and explore other the island. Standard breakfast won’t wow but ok.

Pros:
Rooms are comfortable
Pools
Beach
Quiet hotel and village
Nice tours (Major Safari do this)
Akbar Restaurant amazing Indian Food

Cons:
Front desk nice but hard to understand basic checking and out.
Holes in sheet for bed, old TV, and ok bathroom and gym
Spa ok manicure/pedicure not good
Germans, Russians smoke a lot and on beach which kills the vibe
Beach Food ok and slow

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are ok and spacious. Honeymoon is the best. Poolside room just open out to the pool. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungTraveler1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent last week in The Imperial Boat House in Koh Samui, Thailand, after reading the reviews on there we had high expectations of the place, and to be fair, it delivered on every single account.

On arrival we met with Pla who assured us that if we wanted or needed anything then she would help us (she did with any questions we had).

We stayed in the Boat House Suites, it was amazing, I recommend that everyone stays in one of these, it was ideally located between the swimming pool and the hotel foyer (approx 45 seconds walk either direction).

All the staff in this establishment tried their best to look after us and others the best they could, they were friendly, accommodating and always had a smile on their face.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, eggs made to order as you stood there and a excellent selection of food on display.

We ate out mostly in different places at night but on the Thursday night we had the 'Thai Night' with our dinner on the beach, it was absolutely beautiful.

Happy Hour in the bar by the beach was on from 4:30pm - 6pm & again in the bar in the Hotel between 9pm - 11pm, to be fair with the staff, they bended the rule a little by a few minutes either side so as to look after you.

We had a daily massage on the beach costing 300 Baht for a hour, it was 400 Baht on the Hotel grounds not to much of a difference in price, only one or two euro.

The hotel also offered a bus to Chaweng on a nightly basis for 100 Baht & on a Friday they brought us to the Fishermans Village where there was a massive market there, it was a great experience.

All in all, this Imperial Boat House is perfect if you want the peaceful and romantic getaway.

We will definitely be returning here again.

Thanks again to all the staff for looking after us brilliantly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cionnaith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just come back after 10 glorious days at the hotel. The resort of Chong Mong has changed greatly over the last 18yrs but not the hotel. When we 1st started going in the 90's there was at least 20 bars and restaurants on that glorious beach and none on the main road. Now there,s about 3 or 4 on the beach,but many more on the busier main road.
This does not detract from the hotel. The staff are marvellous especially Baw & Ta at the pool bar & restaurant. The rooms are large and spacious,the pool & beach are superb.
This time there were 8 adults in our party and I know I speak for every one of them when I say what a great time we all had.
I only have 1 gripe,that is its unfortunate that a no. of stray dogs enter the pool area and beyond off the beach. They enter the pool, scavenge for left over food and even grab the towels off the sun beds. When I approached the Pool Manager about it he says his staff try to shoo them away but the holiday makers criticise the staff for their attitude towards the dogs.
There maybe newer & fancier hotels on the strip but for me the Boathouse is still up there with the best of them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Came back a week ago from staying at the imperial boat house. I cannot pick any fault with this hotel. It is clean, beautiful, in a great location and the food is lovely! i am simply shocked at the one or two bad reviews, these people must be in cuckoo land as this place is fab!! tha beach has lovely white sand and there are afew restaurants along the beach where we had lovely meals on the evenings! only 10 minutes from choeng this hotel is the best of both worlds! hoping to return soon!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Geenie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed there for 8 nights with two young girls (5 & 8), after spending a week earlier in Lamai. What's good. Location right on the beach is lovely. Cheong Mon beach is by far one of the best beaches on Samui. Clean, unlike Lamai and quiet, unlike Chaweng. Soft sand and water was clear and you did not have to go too far out to hit deeper water. Nicely nestled in its own small bay. Pool was huge and almost on the beach so great for active kids and parents to keep an eye on them whilst enjoying happy hour. Grounds are nicely maintained. Buffet breakfast was good, but not 5 star by any means. staff were polite and attentive. I loved the way each staff member has been given a short name with one syllable only. My kids particularly liked Pong, Nut and Wee. I liked Beer myself. What's not so good. I crave a good coffee in the morning and the jug with black coffee in it is awful and reminds me of the bottomless cup of coffee in the states. Get a coffee machine in and it would be great. We rented a boat house suite as we have two kids and at the price we paid, I did not expect my kids to be sleeping on a foam sofa bed on the floor together. This issue with kids and accommodation is a major frustration and the hotel that figures out a way to house a two kid family in comfort and not try to nickel and dime you to hell will be the winner. Also, there are no screens so inside you had to have the air con on all the time. Those boats get very very warm. Some of them require some safety maintenance also as the stairway to ours was coming away at the top. Its only a matter of time. Water pressure also was not good. The shower was a trickle at best. At 5 star rates this needs attention. Can you put a drying rack on each balcony also to facilitate drying swim gear. It looked like a chinese laundry at times. Kids club...not for kids. Try having stuff happening when parents want their kids to be off their hands not when it suits the hotel to open. We did not use it at all and it was based around infants, young toddlers. Having said all this, we had a great time, but would look around before we stayed here again. If they sorted out the above, we would definitely be back.

Room Tip: The boat houses are a great idea, but not worth the significant extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andypth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This resort was so amazing the room with a wow bathroom ,BUT the rooms could do with a bit more thorough cleaner my husband smoked on the balcony and it wasn't emptied regular,the bedding mmmmmm not my cup of tea but at least they was clean wiv an odd tear which clearly I would of thrown but the resort was fab with a beautiful beach and the swimming pool was lush .staff was very friendly but found that the Thai all was very friendly .my husband n I was warned don't do this n that etc and stay safe but it was great felt very safe within and around the island .we also did the trip were u go elephant trekking and sightseeing this is worth a visit

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor and my god not for the unfit people especially in the heat we asked for pool view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel and can't understand how it is a five star rating. Rooms are totally dated and in urgent need of refurbishment. The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. Breakfast was average and not a patch on the Hilton. Quite a way out of town although they do provide a courtesy bus but the timings of this are not great. Think it should be called Imperial Boat Wreck.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
7.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,663 reviews
6.9 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,576 reviews
7.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#10 of 51 in Lamai Beach
435 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui

Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range: $64 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island.Complimentary round-trip transfer to Chaweng is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing