We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I arrived at this hotel and was very pleased by what I saw we was shown to our room which was quiet a lot bigger than previous rooms I have had in other hotels. Unpacked half our clothes then went out to have. A look around there was two pools which where both very nice a private beach which was lovely and clean, we where only on a bed and breakfast base, but breakfast was lovely couldn't of ask for anymore choice of what we had something for everyone, outside the hotel are shops and restaurants, chemist,supermarket everything you need really is on your doorstep, well I would recommend this hotel as ihad a really lovely holiday and would certainly go back

Room Tip: I had a superior room and we had bath,shower,Hugh bed,small softer and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Connie,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. I'm glad you liked the spaciousness of your room, the pools, the breakfast & the local area. You writing you had a really lovely holiday is music to our ears and we are most grateful for your willingness to recommend our hotel. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back again soon & wish you the very best.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked a converted rice-barge for 6 nights in January. Couldn't be happier, buffet breakfasts were great, the beach is idyllic (and family friendly, couldn't say the same for Chaweng beach), pool was fantastic, amenities great (free kayaks, snorkels and flippers etc). Service desk staff were very helpful with booking trips, and made good recommendations. Negatives: not really anything, but the adjacent barge - which was out of service - had a motion activated light which kept triggering during the night, even though it wasn't occupied. This was really a minor annoyance, and rarely noticed. Oh, the jet-ski crew up the beach were a bit annoying with their crazy antics, but this is not the IBH's fault.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blissful break A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Blissful,

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team & I are delighted you enjoyed your stay in your Boat Suite, the breakfast, the beach (Choeng Mon beach is indeed far more relaxing than the lively Chaweng beach) and that the staff was helpful in helping you enjoy the island.
I'll get engineering to action the motion light switch and thank you for realizing that the jet-ski boys are outside our realm of control. All in all we hope you enjoyed your stay and had a good journey.
Hopefully we'll be able to greet you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here in July 2004 and we had one of the unique rice boats as our hotel room. It utterly fabulous. Watching the sun go down whilst sitting on our deck was something I will never forget. The food and cleanliness is outstanding and the people are soo lovely!! I hope I get the opportunity to return one day as it is a holiday I will never forget

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your 2004 experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon: the Boat Suites have been renovated in late 2011 so we hope you'll like the updated version as much as you did the original in 2004.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I am extremely picky when it comes to my health and well being. I read all the reviews and everything before I book a hotel. This hotel gets top marks from me. I can not complain about anything. Our room was 227. The service and friendly staff were great. It's clean and the price is cheap for what we get. The location was good and beach was better than expected. The Jet skies were so much fun. We went traveling around the island and our beach was less crowded and clean. Try the chicken skewers from the lil lady on the beach - so yummy. Thank you :)

Room Tip: our room was perfect 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Lam12,

For us to receive such a wonderful review from a thorough hotel researcher like yourself, is a great compliment and we could not be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us, while you explored Samui. Thank you very much and the team & I hope to be able to welcome you back again one day soon.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 10 times since 2001 and every time we love it - the staff are wonderful, the setting/location is very good and we will be going back again ! It is an ideal place to stay if you want a nice relaxing stay whilst not being too far away from busy Chaweng if you want to go there. Thank you to all the staff and management for another lovely holiday !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omnitrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear onmitrader,

Thank you so much for gracing us with yet another visit. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are blessed for having loyal guests like you. Your kind words are really appreciated and on behalf of all the staff & the management: it was our pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future for your 11th visit.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, we stayed in one of the Boat Houses and fully enjoyed the atmosphere of the room. The boat shaped pool is large and fun for kids with the elephant and canon shaped fountains surrounding it. Friendly staff, although staff at reception could use a bit of help with their English. The village of Choeng Mon is small and for us exactly the peace and quiet we wanted. Would love to go back to The Boat House some day :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013_Dutch_Family_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Dutch Family,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing how much you enjoyed your Boat Suite, the pool and the local area. We'll keep working on the reception's level of English through English training and we hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Met vriendelijke groeten,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Imperial Boat House, Cheong Mon beach, and would highly recommend the hotel.

Check-in at IBH was easy, though a little slow, this could just be me adjusting to Thai time. Lovely mango welcome drink and we were relieved our rooms were ready after our overnight flight. We stayed in Premier rooms, 231 and 233, which were very comfortable. Helpful additions in the room were an umbrella (which we didn’t use, but nice to have it there), a torch, safe, cotton dressing gowns. Beach towels are available from a hut by the main pool and the beach. The floors in the room are wooden, and some creak a little as you walk across them. Little noise from the neighbouring rooms, some from the room above us, where it sounded like there were some children, not enough to disturb us.

The free wifi was great, good speed and accessible in the room, foyer and by the pool and beach.

Breakfast was buffet style, large selections of hot and cold, with a chef at the ‘egg station’ cooking tasty omelettes and eggs to order.

We had dinner Christmas Eve at the Captains Choice Restaurant. I had enquired about this via email and reserved a table closest to the water. We were given a table right by the beach and had a wonderful meal, 5 course with matching wines. The food was western, and fabulous, much the same as we would get from the best restaurants in Sydney and the matching wines were spot on. Several different acts of entertainment including the staff from the hotel singing Christmas Carols, they were very good, and a visit from Santa Claus.

We loved the location of IBH, as others have mentioned Cheong Mon beach is a relaxed spot with everything you need available on the main street of the village, ATM’s, Family mart/7-11, laundry, tour booking, bars, restaurants, car/scooter hire and a good number of Taxi’s and Songthaw’s (sp?) going by. Just across the road we used the laundry service, 30thb for 1 kilo, ready the next evening and a good service. Bought drinks and snacks from the Family mart, small bottle of water 7thb or 60thb for a case of 12 bottles of 300mL water. Changed money a little further down the street at one of the tour shops, and used the ATM’s as required.

The beach itself is perfect for swimming, quite shallow for some way making it perfect for children or those not confident in the water. The section in front of IBH is fine, but you need to watch out for submerged rocks at the south (island) end of the beach. Waves were calm on 6 out of our 7 days, making for easy kayaking. No snorkelling while we were there, the water was cloudy, so no visibility at all.

Lots of restaurants to choose from for drinks or food on the beach, loved sitting with our feet in the sand. A few beach vendors wander along during the day selling everything from beach toys and balls, jewellery, sarongs and bikini’s to ice-creams, fresh fruit and freshly barbequed sweetcorn (Yum!) Vendors with fireworks for sale at night, I think we saw fireworks every night we were there. Also plenty of massage places with platforms built on the beach, so soothing listening to the waves. We kept going back to Karati massage for the coconut oil one, I’ll be remembering that for some time I think.

All of the staff at IBH were lovely, and so friendly and welcoming. We felt at home and at ease within the first 24 hours. One small gap in communication was when I asked for the kettle in our room to be looked at, it wasn’t working. Eventually took the kettle down to the front desk and explained it wasn’t working. That afternoon we had a new, working, kettle in our room. This was the only, and very small, hiccup during our stay.

Guests seem to be from Australia, New Zealand, UK, Germany and Scandinavia.

I would recommend the IBH to anyone looking for a relaxed time in a large resort in Samui.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear J,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. The team and I are delighted you're confident to recommend our hotel and that you enjoyed your room, the WiFi, the breakfast, the Christmas dinner, the local area and the beach so much. It has been our pleasure to have you with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not to distant future.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
7.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
723 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
6.9 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
428 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui

Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range: $65 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island.Complimentary round-trip transfer to Chaweng is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing