We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Broughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights the hotel was fantastic, staff were very friendly and the hotel is amazing. We got upgraded with early check in on arrival to the room their was champagne, fresh fruit and a cake. Everywhere was constantly cleaned, I can't say enough positive things and this hotel made our honeymoon! They made us feel really special!

Room Tip: Try the boat room's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Katie,

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage and the team and I could not be happier that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us. The little welcome gifts in your room hopefully allowed you to unwind, after what I can only assume, has been a long period of planning, partying & travel. We thank you for staying with us, wish you a long & happy life together and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    473
    126
    47
    24
See reviews for
288
749
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, with my husband and my 3 yr old. Staff at the hotel are super friendly. Service was excellent. I had help with my suitcases. i stayed in a normal standard room with twin beds. Room was a very good size. The bathroom was fantastic with a huge bath and a very good shower.
Beautiful private beach! Excellent outside pool!
The free breakfast each morning was great. Has loads of choices of food to suit everyone. I loved the soup noodle... I couldn't get enough of it!!
The free shuttle service is ok. It only drops you off at the very start of chawang street. (It's a long walk to the top end, that's where you will find the market area)
The spa in the hotel is abit pricey, best to go to a salon in chawang.
Overall I will defo come back and recommend it!

Room Tip: I heard the boat suits are very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenj3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Jen,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us with your family. The team and I are very happy to read you enjoyed your Premier Room, the staff friendliness, the beach, the pool and the noodle soup at breakfast. The reason we drop guests at the beginning of Chaweng is that they can choose the direction they want to go & explore all of it. When you come back and let me know at reception, I'll be happy to have the drivers drop you off a bit further down. As the spa concept around the 7 elements is unique & uses high quality products, it's indeed not as cheap as the regular massage shops, but I hope you enjoyed your treatments either way. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon & wish you a wonderful Christmas & New Year.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Myself and four friends stayed at this hotel for 10 nights.

We arrived from Bangkok early in the morning and our rooms were ready almost immediately. The Premier rooms are lovely, lots of room with a seperate seating area.

All the staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them.

During our stay there was a 3 day power cut over the whole of the island. The hotel staff and, in particular, the manager did everything they could to make us more comfortable. The lights to the entrance and bathroom were able to run off the generator but the rest of the lights, air conditioning and hairdryer did not work, however, the manager offered to either move us to the sister hotel on the island which we were informed had full power from their generator, or to move us to another room on the other side of the property which did have a working ceiling fan and a number of my group took up this offer. Although it was relatively uncomfortable during the night without air conditioning it was bearable. Clearly the fault was not with the hotel so there was nothing more that they could do in this regard.

We were fortunate enough to be at the hotel on the day of the King's 85th birthday. The hotel organised a special meal and we were invited to take part in the celebrations, being given a candle to light and to sing the King's birthday song along with other guests and staff. In fact one of the members of staff took time in the morning to rehearse with us.

The beach is beautifully clean and there are plenty of sun loungers available both at the beach and at the poolside.

The hotel is in a relatively quiet area but it is a short taxi ride away from Chaweng if you want a bit more nightlife. There is a 24 hour supermarket directly opposite the hotel and a number of restaurants within a couple of minutes walk.

The full moon celebrations in Chaweng are not to be missed. Lots of sellers outside selling beautiful flower arrangements with candle and incense which are lit and then placed on the lake - truly spectacular and a very moving experience. The food in the market is phenomenal and great value - as are the cocktails at just over £1.

All in all it is a hotel that I would definitely recommend, however, the Superior rooms could do with a bit of updating. The Premier rooms are worth paying the extra for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherriljessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sherril,

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team and I are very happy to read you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us in your Premier Rooms and around the resort. The staff here really is our greatest asset and I'm happy you felt that nothing was too much trouble, because that's what we aim to achieve consistently. Realizing how much of an inconvenience the island-wide power outage was, we are all grateful that you have been so understanding. Thank you for sharing the King's birthday celebration with us and I'm happy to read you discovered the lively and romantic sides of Chaweng. All in all many thanks for your recommendation and we hope to be able to welcome you back again some day soon.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

all i have to say is loverly never met such friendly staff smile smile smile wether it was seven in the morning or when we came wobbling back at 3 in the morning they were very helpful when we arrived as our bags were still in bangkok and they kept ringing the airport to see when they would get here it was all very ckean abd nice to be given the choice of if you wanted the room cleaning beach was loverly pool very clean and the 3 dogs well my gurkfriend biught them treats every day so they followed us everywere but dont worry very friendly i dont go back to the same place very often but this is a place i woukd return again and again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashez82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Ashez,

Thank you for your nice review. The team and I are delighted to read you felt the staff was friendly and helpful. We're equally happy to read that you enjoyed the beach and your willingness to return is a great compliment, so we look forward to welcoming you again one day.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in November 2012. Main thing - the boat suites which are fantastic. Large teak rice barges which have been converted to 2 storey suites. You enter up stairs outside then go into what would have been the wheelhouse where there is a large, airy and comfortable living/dining area. Downstairs you have a bathroom, dressing area, and separate bedroom. A simply wonderful living space with good aircon upstairs and down. On the downside, the shower is pretty weak and hot water hit and miss, and our suite's bathroom skylight leaked in heavy rain - of which there was much - but as it leaked directly into the bath it wasn't an issue.

The grounds are lovely and well tended with lots of water features, ponds etc. There are 2 pools, a smaller garden pool which we didn't use and the main boat pool just by the beach which was excellent. Lots of loungers both at pool and beach although the hotel was far from full - may be different in high season.

Food at the Captain's Restaurant at the beach was very good although you can eat a bit cheaper on the high street - but it isn't expensive by any stretch of the imagination. There is a happy hour from 16:30 to 18:00 at the beach bar and 19:30 - 21:00 at the lobby bar but somewhat ridiculously this is a bogof offer where both drinks must be the same - even if the second drink you want something the same price or lower you can't which is a bit petty frankly.

Beach lovely in a quiet bay with great views. Not spotless but the weather was poor so you have to expect some detritus to be washed up. Loads of bars and massage places on the beach. When the weather improved there were a fair few hawkers around but they weren't too intrusive.

If the weather hadn't been so poor when we were there we'd have had a much better time but even as it was I can definitely recommend the hotel and especially the boat suites.

Room Tip: Get a boat suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Wu,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. The team and I are happy to read you enjoyed your Boat Suite, the grounds, the beach and the food & beverage outlets. I've identified the suite you were staying in and will get engineering to fix the shower and bathroom ceiling. I'll talk to our food & beverage manager about the conditions for the happy hour in the bars and thank you for your recommendation. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Imperial
This review is a bit long, but got a bit to cover.
A great resort but just beware of the true nature of the “one level” boathouse.
Stayed at the Imperial Boathouse recently and enjoyed our stay very much – that is, after a shaky start. I do have a lot of good stuff to say, along with a few suggestions, but I just need to explain something at the outset here which may help people with future booking. We read all the wonderful reviews, and therein somewhere came across reference to the “one-level” boathouses. We really like the boathouses as we like lots of room, such as a bedroom and a living room, but were unsure of the steps in the two-level boats. Hubby had a hip replacement this year and is well, but we thought the one level would be even better. Oh dear, not so. Do not be misled by this description (the resort’s description), because it is simply not on one level. Very hard to explain, but I shall try – you go up several steps, reach a platform, then you go down about 7 steps (quite steep), and you come to a small open porch (open both sides with a small roof). As you reach the bottom of the stairs to your left you go up another 3 steps which leads to your bedroom and bathroom. To your right there is a completely separate room which is your living room on a different level. Now you can all see the pictures of the big balcony, but that is on a separate level altogether and does not run off the living area like we thought it would. Now the scenario is this – If you are in your bedroom at night (or during the day even) ,if you want to get a drink out of your fridge in the living room, you must open your bedroom door, take the key out of the slot (which will turn your air conditioner and lights off), go down three steps, and in our case out through pouring rain and hugely slippery steps, unlock the living room door, get your drink, then lock that door, then up the steps again, key back in slot, etc. etc. (One key supplied). We had to ask for heaps of bath mats to try and soak up some of the water, as it was just so waterlogged and slippery. This was completely unacceptable – it is not the least self-contained. My hubby snores, so I had envisioned having another room to sleep in, but it would be impossible here – imagine trying to take the key out the slot, down the stairs, unlock the other door, then put key back, to say nothing of the fact that I would not have a bathroom to use in the middle of the night, as I would be locked out. Oh dear, what a debacle we thought. You cannot leave both doors open because of mosquitos (of which there were plenty) but also because of security reasons. If you want to have a drink or read on your balcony, you have to get to your fridge in the living room, then go up the 7 or so steep steps, then you have to go up about another 8 or so steps to reach the balcony. So to summarise, the bedroom, living room, and balcony are ALL on different levels. Even without the rain, this locking and unlocking doors would have been a major problem.
Don’t get me wrong – they are beautifully decorated rooms, but are very much mis-described in being marketed as “one-level”. However, they do just have very small windows, and in the lounge very high, so you cannot see out of the room, and it’s a bit “cave” like. Ok, enough of that, I have described it as best I can but I know it must sound confusing.

Anyway, to sum up, very next day we went to reception, and found a lovely young man, who organized for us to move to the 2 level boat suite that afternoon, so after small delays, we moved over to our new accommodation which we were very happy with.

Some good stuff – the gardens were absolutely beautiful, and the setting of the boat suites, and boardwalks, with fish ponds etc were delightful. The boat pool area on the beachfront was simply fantastic, lovely lawn, plenty of loungers and umbrellas with enough room inbetween for some privacy. Loungers and umbrellas on that magnificent silky sand as well just past the pool. Pool was immaculate, and the pool attendants were always so nice and helpful and smiling. There are kayaks for use (which we used), and kite surfing equipment, and toys for the kids. There is also a magnificent garden pool which was not much used (it was low season), but fantastic setting and very fancy loungers, but it was hard to leave the views at the beach pool.

We did eat at the restaurant and had reasonable meals there. We thought the pricing was really good for a resort, and so lovely to see the “nett” prices advertised. Drinks we also thought were reasonable, so management may have done as promised and re-looked at their prices when people complained. Well done. Again, staff at the restaurant and serving the pool area were fantastic. A gorgeous senior gentleman was always so nice (and he is so regal), and of course one cannot forget that wonderful young man “Baw”, who always had a smile and a greeting and always offering to help out. What a delightful young man, a real asset. Breakfast was more than adequate but not top of the range really. There was a dedicated egg station (which hubby got hooked on the incredible omlettes they made) and then of course all the usual fruits, cold selection, bacon, sausages, French bread, crepes, tomatoes, breads, pastries and Asian selection and more. So for us, more than adequate really. Once again, here the staff were lovely – always smiling and offering numerous cups of tea and coffee. We were sometimes lucky enough to encounter Baw for breakfast, and then later on in the day, serving us drinks by the pool!!

Now to the room – (2 level) - Simply wonderful. Stacks of room, lots of storage, everything you could want really. Up the outside steps on to a balcony with 2 comfy loungers and an umbrella. In the double doors to a light filled room with very comfy sofa and chair, TV and cupboard, fridge, several smaller tables and a good dining suite for 2. Down a spiral staircase (which hubby did cope with fortunately), into a very, very large dressing room with an excellent sofa bed (and yes, I retreated to it when the snoring got too loud!), lots of shelves and storage. The bathroom ran off this room, and although adequate, was probably the only disappointing room for us. Bath over the shower, (hard to turn taps one too) small vanity and basin and toilet. Very small room, but it was “the head” of the boat so was understandable. Then to top off, a huge bedroom, again beautifully decorated and equipped, apart from the norm that everyone complains about – the lighting was terrible, in particular the lamps – we are seniors with glasses but I would challenge almost anyone to read by the light of those lamps! Resorts must start addressing this lack of brightness, and it is such a common thread through trip advisor.

Must make special mention of the air-conditioning – just amazing – quiet, super efficient, and one for the living area, one for the dressing room and also one in the bedroom. Oh dear, wouldn’t want that electricity bill! But it was sooo hot and humid, this was a huge appreciation.
Another special mention – the lovely ladies who serviced our room did a fantastic job. It just sometimes seemed that they would perhaps materialize from behind a bush when we went out, and it didn’t matter what time or where we went, we always arrived back to find our place spotless and re-equipped. I called them “the invisible angels”!

These boat suites have been amazingly restored and have so much character. They have been very tastefully decorated and must have been a mammoth task placing them all. What a sight that would have been.
We had room 421 which was close to the pool and beach – I’m actually not sure I would have liked to have been in the boat suites at the very back. They seemed a bit close and dark, whereas we did have a glimpse of sea. The boat suite in front of us would be the one to get – 420 I think.

The Imperial we thought was in a great location. I mean, Cheong Mon Beach is really the best (we stayed at Lamai as well which we also liked). There are shops out the front of the resort for your essentials, and many restaurants along the road, a lot of which we tried, as that is all part of our love of Asia. It was fairly quiet, being off season, but as senior persons we were not looking for night life. Chaweng was not far off if you need a night fix.

I’ve tried to be fair with my review, so unfortunately I will now mention a few of the not-so-good things that really could be remedied easily.
First- reception staff – our booking in process was fine (apart from other people being booked in got cold towels as well as a drink – we got a drink only – very small thing, but we were so hot and distressed it would have been welcome). Other than this, things went downhill very quickly with reception staff. I found most of the girls to be quite unfriendly, one in particular bordering on surly (nareeta or something??) I struck 2 young gentlemen who were fine, but on the whole, when we put in requests, we were treated very shabbily in my book. Quite frankly I didn’t think we were that demanding, we are very quiet senior people, but the only time we got a smile was when we paid our bill and left. On our forays in and out of the resort, we were met with unfriendly staring faces, not smiles, apart from the lovely little girl at the travel desk who always had a smile for us.

Some problems - my request for a simple (or what I thought was simple) wooden clothes airer for our balcony to dry some clothes and bathers. Over four (YES 4) whole days, I asked morning and then reception at night, and still we could not get one of these airers. On the 4th night, I asked for a manager, and she came out and we drew pictures of it, and finally I think it twigged. It arrived shortly after. A small thing, but this was unacceptable and frustrating. I almost went and helped myself from one of the empty rooms!!

We virtually had very little hot water for our whole 8 days. We tried a variation of things, turning it on, then off, then on again, letting it run (I hated wasting water but sometimes if you let it run for nearly 5 minutes you could get tepid). Not a major thing in the heat, but I do like warm water to wash my hair. Hubby declined to complain, saying it would be pointless. For the money we paid, we should have had the choice of hot water.

I was a little surprised that we got no acknowledgement for our 43rd wedding anniversary which we celebrated on the 25th of October at the resort. (We arrived on the 24th Oct). I had mentioned it in my e-mail, and perhaps this is unreasonable, but perhaps a bottle of wine or a bowl of fruit would have been a nice gesture. (We actually spent most of the afternoon having to wait for our shift to another boat suite). I guess they get sick of people saying it’s their anniversary, but we had our certificate to prove it even!!

Okay, just a couple more, and here again it is the lack of English skills that caused most of the problems. I had an upset stomach (say no more!) and I had to request more toilet paper. I tried valiantly, toilet roll, toilet paper – what more can one call it? We went out for a short time, (had to use another toilet), and came back to find a big wad of toiletries sitting on our table, soap, shower cap etc etc.- everything but toilet paper! I mean, you had to laugh, but it was frustrating. So I rang again, spoke to a couple of different people, and I did eventually end up with my toilet paper.

Next communication problem – and this is kind of funny too really – now. My hairdryer worked, then next day it didn’t. I rang up, said they’d send someone. No-one had arrived 24 hours later, so I rang again. This time someone came, told us fixed – then 10 minutes later another chap came, and said it was fixed. (And we heard it going from our balcony) We tried explaining it was already fixed, but it was all hopeless really. Okay, so next day I go to use my hairdryer again, and it’s not working. We just looked at each other, and thought, this can’t be happening. So hubby, ex-electrician, says he’ll have a look, and as his eyesight is bad, he says, turn on the light. PRESTO!! The hairdryer only works if you have the light on. Now, come on management, you can’t tell me this hasn’t happened before. It’s the communication thing again, but really there should be a small printed sign with “turn light on to use hairdryer” affixed near the wall.

As a last aside, and this is not the Resort’s fault I guess, but we did have a few groups of Japanese tourists through, and it was rather bedlam at breakfast – receiving a letter to guests saying we might like to chose outside the hours of 7.30 to 8.30 or something like that to cater for these Japanese was a little insulting. Also, pool rules state that pool closes at 6 p.m. Not for the Japanese it doesn’t – they were swimming with their kids at 9 pm one night when we got back from tea. How outrageously rude. I would loved to have had a swim at night too, but rules are rules and perhaps they should be enforced upon all.

Some of these things are small things but we paid a good price for the boat suite. Just our bad luck too, that after booking on a Friday, I did note on the next Monday there was a very cheap price for the boat suites, much less than we paid. Oh well, you win some, you lose some – we probably should have booked with Agoda and got the cheap price, but we do prefer to book through the hotel as we feel it sometimes offers more negotiation and service, but not so here.

Goodness, I have gone on and on. These small problems above can probably be addressed very easily really with a bit more training. It may not sound like it after the last comments, but we did love the place and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to others. I don't think it is for small children, however, there were some rather unruly kids there carrying on and running around the pool which made it unpleasant at times - no separate kids pool.

Room Tip: Choose the 2 level boat suite because the one-level boat suite is definitely not one-level. Try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ozzielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear ozzielady,

Thank you for taking the time to share so much of your experience. The team and I (especially Baw) are happy to hear there was so much you enjoyed and we'll take your suggestions at heart to work on improving those. We are delighted to have had you stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Imperial Boat House was the location for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday. There were over 30 of us there for the duration (see other review from Pierre A).We were met at the airport and transferred the short drive to the hotel. We were met and greeted with a cool drink of juice and a wet towel to freshen up. We weren't rushed to check in. The foyer is beautiful and the staff are friendly and very helpful.
Our room was clean and opened out on to one of the pools. The beach only a a minute away, having to walk through the lovely gardens and boat rooms. The hotel is clean and obviously being well looked after and renovated where necessary.
Despite being such a large group the staff looked after us so well. The beach area is spotless and there is plenty to do. The local shops have an array of goods, from groceries to tailor made clothes. The massages on the beach are amazing. What better way to start and finish your day . The local restaurants on the beach serve traditional Thai food, all of a high standard and friendly smile.
I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The boat rooms are amazing. However the premier rooms are large, clean and more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Kim,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for celebrating Pierre's 40th birthday with us at the Boat House. The team and I are really happy to read you were happy with your stay with us, from the arrival, to the rooms, the grounds and the beach. Our staff enjoyed assisting you and your group, especially as your group was so creative & nice (the restaurant & kitchen staff especially enjoyed the energy during the cooking classes). We're equally happy to read you enjoyed the local area and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
7.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Property: Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing