We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Service , Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 Star Service , Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Boat House for Ten nights in April. The service and staff at the hotel are first class every member of staff was polite and extremely helpful and could not do enough for us.
The rooms are spacious , comfy and very clean . The grounds of the hotel are beautiful . There are two pools, one boat shaped pool and a further smaller pool. The smaller pool is divine- total paradise.

The beach is lovely with a good amount of sunbeds, and warm clear waters.

It is worth eating in the hotel - we eat at the BBQ and the food was beautiful very tasty . The lunch menu is also vast so there is always something good to eat.

We also had a spa morning in the hotels spa - this was great and well worth a visit.

Location wise the hotel is set on a beach in Choeng Mon with a few other hotels its relaxing and laid back, it is only around a 10min journey from the busy chaneung and the hotel provides transfers at a small charge there and back.

Overall this is a beautiful hotel , perfect for a relaxing holiday. Do not hesitate to book it as everything you could want from a holiday in Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nataliej_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Natalie,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. The team and I were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially the barbecue at Captain's Choice and the spa. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again some day soon.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    489
    127
    47
    24
See reviews for
297
776
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a nice luxury resort on one of the more quiet parts of Koh Samui. The beach is beautiful and well maintained. The property is equally nice, with all sorts of cute touches that only the best resorts seem to have (turtle shaped stepping stones, carefully positioned lights to bring the place alive but still keep it feeling remote, etc...) Despite being rather large, the place still manages to maintain a secluded, isolated feel - you never feel like a sardine, as per some of the busier resorts. The boathouses are also well surrounded by tropical vegetatation, giving them a "secluded bungalow in paradise" feel. I would strongly recommend staying in one of the boats; the photos don't do them justice.

A few minor criticisms - the breakfast is very expensive (450 B) by Thai standards. A few of the larger guests seemed to enjoy the all you can eat part of it, though, and I'm not certain the resort made any money on those meals. Additionally, laundry was ridiculously overpriced (eg: 35 B for a pair of socks). While this is par for the course in Western hotels, you usually only pay ~50 B per kilo in the rest of Koh Samui.

Again, both of these are relatively minor complaints that certainly didn't affect our enjoyment of the hotel. One great parting memory - a tribute to the excellent service of the staff - was when the concierge offered to drive us to the airport, in the hotel shuttle, for free, rather than calling a cab. He left exactly when we wanted to, even though we were the only two departing at that time. A very nice personal touch.

On the whole, an excellent indulgence.

Room Tip: Get a boat! Trust me - they're fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedstevens42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Stevens,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We can not express enough how appreciative we are and I'm happy to see your recommendation for our (recently renovated) boat suites (I'll get better pictures for them to do them justice). I realize that the breakfast is not cheap, but given the cheese selection and other European items, we are trying to strike a balance between the cost and quantity our average guest consumes. As for the laundry: I realize that it's much cheaper at a local laundry shop, but as we want to minimize any risk of anything happening to your expensive clothes, we send our laundry to the most professional linencare company on the island. While this comes at a higher price, we feel we are doing this with the best interest of guest clothing in mind.
I'm delighted to see that our concierge went the extra mile to make you happy and that he made your departure experience a pleasant one.
It was lovely having you with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not to distant future.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is our second visit to
The boathouse! Our first stay was fantastic And this is a close
Second, I write this review whilst sitting by the pool using the hotels free wifi connection which has much improved since our previous visit over a year ago.
The reception staff this year currently need more training but how much time do you spend at reception?
Both pools and beach are well maintained, staff at breakfast are amazing always have tea on the go as soon as finish my last cup! Tv's in the pool terrace rooms have been updated to larger flat screens since our last visit!
On arrival we receive a 'in house' 15%off promotion card which isn't greatly received by staff at lunch times!
Had a booking for the spa, where 3of us atteneded for various services this I hate to say was POOR and not worth the money and lacked in every way possible!
The hotel has fantastic locations and great facilities for getting into
And out of cheweng! This year we hired a car twice infact for a bargin price from
The company within the hotel, driving here couldnt be easier a great way of seeing the island !
Samui is a beautiful place with
Stunning hotels, the boathouse may look a little dated but full of character myself and my family love it here and will return year after year!
With 4days left before I return back to wet england my only advice maybe don't come in April it's too bloody hot!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Alanna,

Thank you so much for sharing your review.
I'm happy you noticed the new WiFi, we are currently retraining our reception to improve on their English (among other things), the staff at breakfast is most appreciative and I'll talk to the lunch crew and the spa team about the 15% and spa standards.
Also good to see you enjoyed exploring the island by self-drive and the team and I really look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke

P.S. Sorry for the late response, I only got the notifier of your posting on Tripadvisor today (21 May)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel two weeks ago for 10 days. Usually I can find SOMETHING to moan about - but I can honestly say that this time I could not !! It really is perfect. The staff are just gorgeous - always smiling and so polite and they seem very happy which is always a good sign. The gardens of the hotel are stunning and are so well cared for. The main pool is huge and so never seemed busy. The mattress on our bed was a little too firm for me but a mention to reception produced a comfortable mattress pad and so that little problem was solved. Oh, Ive just thought of something that isn't perfect - the television in our room was a little old fashioned but who cares - we didn't switch it on more than a few times - who wants to watch television when everything outside is so lovely !! Oh yes, and the breakfast is fab !! The hotel restaurant is really good and the setting is great - right on the beach. Had the BBQ on the beach which was great. Would definitely stay there again, in fact I wish I could go back there right now !! Tracey McGregor

Room Tip: Have a look at the converted rice barges. We didn't know about them when we made our booking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Tracey,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments: the team and I are so grateful.
Feedback like yours really makes our day and gives us the motivation to keep it up.
We hope to have you back again soon and perhaps you can try out the barges then.
I'll be happy to give you a special rate if you just send me or reservations an e-mail.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The best measure of the quality of an establishment is the way they respond to problems or unusua requests. Reception staff heped us find a friend who was unexpectedly hospitalised. The housekeeping staff promptly despached a nornet nest that was just being built on our balcony. Beautiful, clean and spacious rooms with plenty of space to put all my 'stuff'.

Room Tip: Pillows needs some variation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Linley,

I'm happy to hear that we could help you find your friend and that you liked room.
It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

all i can say about the imperial boat house is that its amazing!!staff are so friendly,everywhere is so clean. The food at the restaurant is absolutly fab..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 375lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear 375lisa,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and the team & I were delighted to have you at our resort. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We've just returned from our 2nd stay at this great hotel and were delighted to find it just as wonderful as last time(4 years ago).
From the welcome coconut drinks and cool towels on arrival in reception, the fantastic surprise of fizz and canapes in our lovely rooms to welcome us back, to the lovely staff, beautiful gardens, amazing monkey pool and general peace and quiet, we all had another unforgettable holiday and are already planning our return.
The hotel spa was again excellent, I had a great value half day package- undoubtedly the best I've had anywhere and wish I'd had time to book another session.
We used Sea Robin dive centre (along the beach on the left as you leave the hotel) which provided great, professional service and the trips (by speedboat) were fantastic.
We also did a 'Living Thailand Tour' booked through our rep. which was a way of getting to see a bit of the island, waterfalls etc. We hired a car last time which we found far too stressful,trying to avoid the mopeds, so this was altogether a more relaxing way to get out and about.
Choeng Mon itself had grown considerably since our last trip which is nice, so there are now several shops, restaurants etc right on the doorstep. We did enjoy 2 or 3 trips into Chaweng but always returned to the Boathouse with relief!
So, here's to the next time which we hope will be much sooner than 4 years time. Huge Thanks to all the wonderful staff and a quick mention to our friends at Chatkaeo restaurant (our favourite place)along the beach to the left-great service, atmosphere and delicious food. Can't believe they remembered us from last time, probably because of all the Changs we get through!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. They give wonderful views, have lots of light and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear sandollars,

Thank you for returning! And for your kind words. It was a real pleasure having you back and the entire team and I are delighted you and your family enjoyed yourself so much. For you to be planning is next visit is a great compliment and I'll tell the spa to clear their schedule for you ;)
Choeng Mon has indeed seen a bit of development over the past 4 years and it's good to see that the shops and restaurants around the resort enhanced your holiday experience.
I'll pass your thanks to the entire team and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest wishes,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Property: Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing