We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little oasis”
Review of Melini's

Melini's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful little oasis”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Situated in Jolly harbour this restaurant looks out over the marina at all the gorgeous boats. They are open all day for a cool drink, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner.
We enjoyed it so much we went twice. At night the setting is lovely, pretty lights in the trees and around the canopies and lovely music.
Food is great. I personally recommend the schnitzel and the steak, accompanied by a lovely red wine. My husband had to go back for the lovely homemade chocolate cake.
Really lovely attentive service here from a big smile from the barman to the owners attention to detail. We will definitely go back when we return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    150
    75
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hamburg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“wow!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

the food was so much better than what you would expect from the outside. i ate duck a l'orange , gamberi provencale and chocolate indulgance ( on different occasions). simply outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian meal”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, very tasty and lots of it! Lovely atmosphere in the evening with the fairy lights! It's a must visit! Best Italian outside of Italy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REJ1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always very good”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our third trip to Jolly Harbour in the past two years, so we have tried all the restaurants not only surrounding the Harbour but also others nearby. Each time we find ourselves eating numerous meals at Melini's as opposed to only one at any other eaterie. As other reviewers have noted, Adrian and Mark recognize and welcome us with genuine hospitality, and ALWAYS offer excellent and reasonably priced cuisine! This year another couple traveled with us so we tried quite a few items on the menu as well as the daily specials. From fresh local seafood to pizzas to salads to Italian dishes ALL were excellent and the view looking out at the marina and Harbour made each dining experience most enjoyable. Highly recommend!
Robert and Brenda White

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitecloud108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Genial Hosts”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited 3 times during our stay and would have gone more often if we weren't ill(chest infections). Always made to feel welcome by either Adrian or Mark and they always recognise us each year, something that doesn't happen in the UK even when frequenting establishments more often. Adrian even remembered which wine we preferred! The setting is ideal and food delicious and plentiful. There is plenty to choose from on the normal menu but you will never be disappointed with the blackboard specials. Prices probably cheaper than the UK and definitely the best value in the Harbour area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melini's also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Melini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing