We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We heard it's ok . . .”
Review of Melini's

Melini's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We heard it's ok . . .”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I say that we "heard it's ok" because we couldn't actually get in. We stopped by around 7:30pm on a weeknight and were promptly asked if we had reservations. We did not. The host told us to stop back in at least an hour and he'd see if anything was available. He did not offer to take a name or suggest drinks.

Half the tables were empty and most that were occupied were already eating. There was nobody else strolling around. Telling us to walk away translates to lost business, not customer service.

We did not return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottombet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    150
    75
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Returned home from a 3 week's stay in Jolly Harbour.
Had the pleasure of having a couple of meals at Mellini's and confirm that food and service are second to none.
Beautiful setting in friendly atmosphere.
Good selection on the menu at "local prices".
Will re-visit next year!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaleGil52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good Pizza”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate there once... Had the American Pizza and wine.... Pizza was very good, service good too... Pricing was certainly high compared to US / Canada pricing, but probably in the norm for the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pdorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a month in Jolly Harbour and ate a couple of times in Mellinis as well as stopping off for coffee. The service and friendliness was excellent and Adrian was a lovely host. The evening meal we had was delicious, we had specials of a Duck and a Chicken dish and couldn't fault it. It wasn't the cheapest of meals, two courses and a bottle of wine came to about £70 but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We are going back next year and will definitely revisit the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank lidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went on the advice from some other travellers. We had pizza and wine and it was great. The service is professional. We weren't disappointed. The eating standards in Jolly Harbour are from average to poor so we were satisfied with Melinis and would go again. They have a good menu and the atmosphere is pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamperni48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melini's also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Melini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing