We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Melini's

Melini's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Melini's is one of those restaurants that just get's it right every single time! The food, service and ambience are just faultless and it's one of the few restaurants in Antigua that I enjoy visiting on a regular basis.

It's lovely to sit at the bar and try a few of their amazing cocktails before you eat and they have a lovely lounge just behind the bar aswell which is nice if you are having a meal out with friends or family, allowing you to relax before your meal. Perfect for seafood lovers, the gamberi shrimp and bombay linguini are delicious, and if anything I swear the shrimp taste better each time I visit!

They have a huge menu which is great as it gives you so much to choose from and even though they specialise in Italian food, they also offer a good selection if you fancy something else, the rack of lamb is to die for and their pizzas are also excellent. To finish I would definately recommend the crepe or the baked blueberry cheesecake, it really would be a shame to visit without.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 228chantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    150
    75
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG, Melinis”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Antigua, ok fabulous holiday destination, but in all honesty, we decided ages ago we do NOT go there for the food, dear oh dear no, caribbean cooking, oops !

BUT, what is this, MELINIS (Italian) at Jolly Harbour, oh my goodness, their CHOCOLATE INDULGENCE is an award creation by chef Jean Louis to die for, no seriously this really is death by chocolate.

So what else to try, well I'm a prawn/shrimp freak and their coconut shrimp (when crisped up) is just divine, and for Main you cannot go wrong with their Chicken Parmeggiani, or All American Pizza.

And to drink, well Rosado is the only one (apart from Champagne/Kir Royale), so it must be the Cape Blush.

I'm getting hunger pangs just writing this...

The best for last, Adrian and Mark, such fun, so professional, so cool calm and collected hosts.

Go on try it, you know you want to......

**STOP PRESS STOP PRESS **
OK, so all you refugees from SANDALS, had enough of the all-inclusive, go out the front main gate, take a left, few hundred metres walk, pass HALCYON main entrance on the left, and up the hill a few minutes further, until on the left these guys have the second "WORK" of culinary art, yes you've guessed, it's called OPUS, mmmm.. mmm...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A fantastic place to have a morning cuppa, a cool drink to see the sun go down or have a great inspirational meal.
A favourite from years ago and I must say the service, welcome and food is as i remebered it!!
We will return for sure in 2013!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I will not bore you with the woeful history of our stay at a resort just down the road from Melini's. Suffice it to say that discovering the high quality food and service on offer here probably saved our holiday/vacation from ruin. Prices are near UK standard for a good Italian style restaurant. It was so good we ate here four times in just over a week!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruggs1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Anpther great meal at Melini's”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Italian restaurant has a casual atmosphere and serves consistently good food at affordable prices. As a regular visitor to Antigua, I stay in the Jolly Harbour area and Melinni’s is on my list of restaurants to visit during my stay. In addition to a varied menu ( pasta, pizza’s, fish, steaks etc) they normally have 3 specials to choose from as well. The service is good, the people are friendly, there is a good selection of cocktails, wines and beers and the tables are reasonably spaced so that you can hold a conversation without competing against the table next to you.

Highly recommended by Alan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanapulsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melini's also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Melini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing