We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day on the Sea - No need to look Futher”
Review of Joy Sailing Tours

Joy Sailing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy some easy going private sailing in groups of no more than four guests. Pamper yourself with a day of pure Caribbean bliss surrounded by turquoise waters, the sun and the trade winds breeze. Cool drinks, a light lunch, a dip in the sea leave nothing to wish for. Our tours take you to one of various bays and beaches up and down the calm waters of Antigua's West coast. We also offer Sail 'n Dive combining day sailing with scuba diving, all gear provided and guided by a fully PADI certified dive instructor. We are happy to adjust and make it your special tour, from half day to multi-day and anything in between. Just give us a call or write an email. Looking forward to sailing with you!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time on the sea with Alex and first mate Kristof. The boat was spic and span and well-maintained. The food they prepared was wonderful; they really made us feel welcome and at home. As other reviewers have said, we sailed up the west coast, using the motor only for near-shore maneuvering. The sunset was spectacular, as were the views. We have taken similar jaunts on Caribbean trips, and this was the best!!

1  Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, Owner at Joy Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

I am glad we could contribute to an enjoyable day on Antigua and thanks to mother nature for supporting us with a beautiful sunset ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dropped anchor"
in 2 reviews
"sail"
in 4 reviews
"sea"
in 3 reviews
"captain"
in 2 reviews
"dive"
in 2 reviews
"lunch"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2017

As a result of unbelievable luck (it would be too long to describe) we
met Ildiko and Alex. With a friendly couple we joined them for a day sailing along the coast. During this year's three weeks Caribbean vacation this day was one of the real highlights.
We did get everything we love: a very good and professional sailing experience on a nice sailing boat in sunshine and in Caribbean thunderstorm, lively chat with friends
from the other end of the world and excellent lunch on the board prepared by
the attractive combination of a captain, a bartender and a cook.
We warmly recommend Joy sailing, Alex and his team as one of the best
experiences on and around Antigua.

1  Thank andika325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

As most of our group are fans of various sorts of diving we agreed to take Joy down to Cades reef, apparently one of the best places in Antigua to enjoy the underwater world. After an hour or so of easy sailing we entered the reef area and finally dropped anchor. The crew took great effort to find the right spot and not to damage any aquatic life. Minutes later we started to gear up and got into the water. Two in scuba gear, one snorkeling up and down the reef. We all had a very nice time in the water. And the one member of our group who does not dive enjoyed herself on board of Joy which is of course quite a bit more comfortable than the usual dive boat. Sail and Dive is a great combination - and rare to find.

1  Thank Szilva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, Owner at Joy Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Well, we consider ourselves guests of nature and we try our best to behave well. Unfortunately the government of Antigua has not yet put out any buoys among the reef where tours like us and others could tie up instead of having to drop anchor. So we have to spend a little time and effort to find a nice sandy spot to avoid unnecessary damage to our beloved underwater world.
I am very happy to read that everybody has a good time both on the boat and in the water.

Thank you for sailing and diving with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2016 via mobile

Alex and his crew do a wonderful job at always being relaxed which helped me be relaxed because this was my first sailing trip ever!! I was definitely a little scared at first when we were on the water but the calmness of the ocean, the beautiful blue color of the water, and the festive Santa hats (we sailed Christmas Eve) Alex and Wilder wore, quickly helped me be at peace with the trip. It only got better from there. The food was fantastic, drinks were yummy, and it was overall a trip I wouldn't trade for anything because now I can say I have been sailing and enjoyed it very much! If you are looking for a private sailing day trip, book with Joy sailing!!!!

1  Thank Aubrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, Owner at Joy Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

I am extremely happy we could create an atmosphere that made you enjoy your first sailing experience - nothing more fulfilling than sharing our love for the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2016

A friend of mine and myself took a day trip with Joy and we very much enjoyed. Captain Alex and crew took us to Deep Bay where we anchored for lunch. Alex, who is chef of Mayday Restaurant in Jolly Harbour as well, prepared the fresh food his mate took us to the beach. There we went up to the little fort on top of a hill, which is not a big deal but you have a great view. Back down we took the dinghy to get close to the shipwreck that is on bottom of Deep Bay. The Andes sink about a hundred years ago. It very close to surface so snorkeling you see a lot. Amazing kind of Titanic feeling. After lunch with delicios Antiguan rum cake we had very relaxed sail back. Another great day in paradise.

1  Thank ZitaH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, Owner at Joy Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Thank you very much, I could not have described the attractions of Deep Bay any better.

Thank you for sailing with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Sailing Tours also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 

Been to Joy Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing