We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day of our trip!”

Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropical Catamaran Sailing. We are a Private Day Charter Company based in Antigua. We offer day tours on board our 40ft Catamaran Sailing Yacht "Cat Tales". Captain James & your Host Sherrill will ensure your day is comfortable & enjoyable, including a BBQ lunch & Drinks. We sail the scenic coastline to many sandy beaches or reefs for snorkeling, swimming or relaxing Sunbath. We can guarantee a great day with us on Cat Tales.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best day of our trip!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were on a trip with my family for a week in Antigua and had been talking about going on a sailing trip one of those days. Being that there were 6 of us, plus my 2 year old nephew, we decided on the private charter as opposed to the larger catamarans with hundreds of others. It was the BEST decision we made. Not only were we blessed with truly perfect weather, but Jim and Sherrill were amazing hosts! They made out day out on the ocean FANTASTIC. They were great with our family, lunch was delicious, the rum punch was fabulous!!! If you are ever in Antigua you NEED to take a trip with Cat Tails II - I promise you - you'll regret it if you don't!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaTupuritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best day in Antigua”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went out with 4 other friends on Cattales II. Jim & Sherrill asked us if we wanted to do some sailing as there was a good wind and we said yes please. The sailing was very exciting and They handled the boat very easily. I was given a turn at the helm which was great. We moored up for a swim and had a delicious lunch then set off for some more sailing before heading back to Jolly Harbour. It was a great day out and Jim & Sherrill were excellent hosts. You get a great view of the island from the sea and get to see the beautiful coastline. No trip to Antigua would be complete without a day out on Cattales. Thoroughly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James-Sherrill, Owner at Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hello again Martin ........we say again, because you & family have booked us for your sailing cruise each time you visit Antigua ............Thank you & Thanks for a nice review......

We agree that days sailing was brilliant fun with a brisk wind for sailing before anchoring in a sheltered fab sandy beach for our renowned BBQ lunch.......you showed us how relaxing on Cat Tales II spacious decks should be done ....our Passion Fruit Rum Punch helps here.....Brilliant !

We'll say Bye for now, as we think you may be back again someday !!

Best Wishes..James & Sherrill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Two years ago we chartered with Jim and Sherrill and are delighted to report we had another brilliant day on the water. Jim and Sherrill have certainly set the benchmark! A comfortable and roomy catamaran that flew over the water as we made our way along the beautiful coastline towards a deserted bay where we anchored for a swim and for lunch. Great food and drink. Would not hesitate to book a third time when we next holiday in Antigua.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James-Sherrill, Owner at Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you John & friends for your review.....Another second time around cruise with Topical Catamaran Sailing in Antigua !

We must be doing something right to have a series of guests taking second trip with Cat Tales II.......our promise of continuing high standards with the sail boat & cuisine have paid dividends with returning guests !

Cheers to you John and friends enjoying the cat sailing in the Caribbean......lets make it a THIRD time cruise !

Regards James & Sherrill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sailing on the Cat”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent experience from the beginning to the end. Simple on line reservation, simple booking transaction over the phone and setting up of the pickup time and date. We were a party of 6 people.

We met at the meeting point in the harbor on the agreed time, and board the Catamaran that was docked few minutes away (walking distance) from the meeting point.

Cat was in the perfect condition (like it was purchased yesterday), owners were very nice and knowledgable of the area.

We started on the traditional route, however, since I have a sailing license, I was allowed to sail the Cat and we have designed our 6 hours journey on our own.

Loved the rum punch, and the lunch was great! Ended up buying the same rum the host used to make a punch and are now enjoying it at home.

We toured the coast around St. John, stopped anywhere we wanted, dived at the ship reck, and finished the trip at the Jolly Harbour. Took a lot of pictures.

We have been on a cruise ship and have visited 9 different islands, on each of these island we have activities that include sailing, diving, car rental, snorkeling, etc ... this and the diving at Grand Turk was by far the best services experience of the whole trip.

I personally recommend James and Cherrill and their Catamaran Sailing service. Real pros and people who love what they are doing.

James did email us the pictures he took during our trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vlada01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James-Sherrill, Owner at Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Vlada & families.........what can we say but ...........PERFECT DAY !

The review you posted is just exactly what Sherrill & James strive to produce...EXCELLANCE ! and thanks for your a truly constructive review guys just awesome !!

Your two families along with the young ones in the family showed us that the whole sailing experience is enjoyed by all ages........nice guys.......nice conversation ! ....the Caribbean sailing was great from St Johns to Jolly Harbour.......Tropical Catamaran Sailing say thank you Vlada & families for choosing us.

See you another day hopefully...James & Sherrill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT way to spend the day!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We took the Sailing Lunch cruise with Captain Jim & Hostess Sherrill, the lovely couple who own the boat, Cat Tales II. There were 8 of us (work associates/friends) in addition to the hosts. The boat was in FANTASTIC shape and was extremely clean. You can tell it is much loved! They took us on a nice ride out of the harbour then on to a cove for our lunch and snorkel time. We were able to hike to a hilltop occupied by the remains of Ft. Barrington (built approx 1783) while our lunch was being prepared. It was amazing! The view was breathtaking. Lunch was a yummy herb crusted grilled chicken and a greek salad along with our choice of red &/or white wine. As for the Rum punch made by our hosts...OH MY WORD!! Suffice it to say that this is one of the best excursions EVER! Love the small party size (10 guests max) and it is worth every penny. We will definitely be visiting Jim & Sherrill again when/if we make it back to Antigua...YOU SHOULD TOO!! To Jim & Sherrill: Y'all were AWESOME!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James-Sherrill, Owner at Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hey Wendy & Friends........Y'all were AWESOME to !!.......cracking review from you guys ...thank you ! ..........

A bunch of really nice guys.......really nice surroundings......really nice sailing...what more can you wish for ! .....Hurry up & get back down to Antigua you people......we so enjoyed your company...... Cat Tales II is waiting patiently for your return !

Say hi to all the gang......Cheers ...Skipper James & Hostess Sherrill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Tropical Catamaran Sailing Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing