We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful in every way”

Akropolis Greek Taverna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Family owned and operated, Akropolis has the perfect combination of great a view, great food, and owners that truly care about their craft. The family, Vicky, Aris, Matteo and Demitrios, welcome with open arms. We went their two times for dinner and both times we enjoyed talking to the family while enjoying the absolutely fantastic food, excellently presented by Vicky the chef/mom. Asking what the specials were and Aris invites me in to the kitchen, where Vicky shows you the specials, dessert, and everything else she is making. BTW the kitchen is immaculate. The Greek meatballs were delicious; Spinach pie while atypical in that it was more like a wonton in phylo was maybe the best I have ever had; and the Red Velvet cake with orange liquor was different and perfect. No baklava, because we went off season and it is a little difficult to get all ingredients imported according to Demitrios. We stayed at an all inclusive resort within walking distance, but if we had discovered Akropolis sooner we would have gone there more than the two we went.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LI_FamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    129
    53
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Set before the waters of jolly harbour is this beautifully finished, romantically lit and welcoming Greek restaurant.
You are met by the owner who is clearly passionate about Greek culture and it's food. His gorgeous wife makes the magic in the kitchen and his son is your attentive and knowledgeable waiter.
I have eaten at many Greek restaurants in Britain and Greece and this restaurant can only be described as gourmet Greek as it surpasses them all. Everything is fresh, handmade and cooked to order and it shows in the succulent and beautifully presented dishes.
I cannot praise this establishment highly enough. You made a pregnant lady very very happy. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We came across this restaurant whilst at Jolly Harbour, and we returned many times to eat. The family, Vicky, Aris and Demitrios were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Vicky's cooking was fabulous - fresh, tasty, cooked to perfection and with a delightful light, modern touch to some authentic greek dishes. The kitchen was on view, and was spotless.The presentation and quality of service was excellent, and we felt very comfortable and well looked after.
The restaurant has been beautifully designed and furbished, and overlooks the marina; a wonderful spot at sunset. The music is mellow, and adds to the ambience.
We shall certainly look forward to going back when we visit Antigua again! Lin and Dina

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artappreciator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best got even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

A great family run restaurant with the most amazing food and the presentation is first class.
If you want a tasty, delicious, authentic, good quality meal, please dine here. It is my most favourite restaurant ever and would eat there every night if my husband's wallet would allow!!
The setting is beautiful at sunset with the silhouettes of the boats in the marina and the pelicans going home to roost, however the restaurant is open for lunch too. Vicky, the chef, is very accommodating if, like my husband, the diner has allergies or food intolerances. She will cook you anything if she has the ingredients. She even made my husband a key lime pie!! Truly amazing, the best restaurant in Jolly Harbour, if not in Antigua . Love it ,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattensen b Hannover, Germany
1 review
“Best place for steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had come here on Monday for their 2 for 1 pork chop night. Busy, but managed to make room for us. Pork chops where delicious and a good deal for 60 xcd. Came back friday to try their signature steak and was amazed at the size and flavor. Had stayed in Antigua for just a week but wished we came more often to this place.

Would highly recommend and will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Akropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing