We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not greek!”

Akropolis Greek Taverna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“not greek!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

2 star one location one for our company.poor service,limited menu no kleftico or stiffado,Meze starter for 6 charged for8 would feed 4!when questioned could not care less.mash peas and carrots not what would be expected with main courses. Two of us asked if they did meatballs for a main as it was only on starters, waiter said yes he could do that. Meatball main was meatball starter! When asked couldn't see the problem but asked if we wanted more. There were 3 meatballs, I declined anymore as they were dry and tasteless probably made with pork,not flavoured spicy lamb as in Greece. No apologies offered at the end of the meal. We paid and left and will not be returning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheenaghr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    130
    53
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quality at a price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lovely setting for the "New Akropolis" after moving to the old Peter's Steak House premises at Jolly Harbour.
Setting is beautiful; Waterfront.
Professional and welcoming staff.
Service very good.
Food was good, but a bit pricey.
Visited twice during my stay and will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaleGil52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmobile
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Had great hopes in new setting but.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are there a couple of weeks ago and despite the great waiting staff, we were put off by the owner sitting entertaining friends in the corner. He doesn't deserve this lovely setting. The place was quiet. No wonder. The food was OK but nothing to make us go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Greek Restaurant experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place was brilliant!! Felt like I was in Greece!! Fine dining at its best with 5 star service. Great atmosphere right on the boardwalk in Jolly Harbour Marina, with their classical greek music playing in the background as you look out over the water. What a paradise!! I will return!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank salmonbelly_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treated like VIPs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had dinner twice at the Akropolis just last week with my husband and daughter.! The owner Vicky, her husband, and her son Dimitris were very welcoming. Waiters Freddy and Stony could not have been more solicitous of us. The food is excellent. We had delicious home made hummus, grape leaves, greek salad, mahi, pork chops, baklava....and more! All the food was great, very reasonably priced for fresh home cooked Greek food. Love the atmosphere and would highly recommend. We are foodies from Boston, not afraid to spend money on a good meal and this will not disappoint. As for the negative reviews: Don't pay attention. Who would expect to pay the same for wine in a restaurant that you do in a liquor store? Have you every heard of overhead? Ridiculous! As for the speed of the service - we had no issue. But relax you're on Island time now! As for the 3 stars I gave Families with children this is because I prefer to dine without small children now that mine are grown - sorry :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CapnMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Akropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing